We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succesfull 1st experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Succesfull 1st experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights visiting the area, we had a family room, which was a normal bedroom with 2 extra beds, leaving hardly any space to move around. Since we only use the hotel to sleep in, this wasn't a problem.
Staff were very friendly, breakfast was excellent, rooms were spotlessly clean, big double bed with choice of pillow. Had a quiet night (we did leave the windows shut for the traffic).
Harvester restaurant just beside was a handy (more like a tasty) bonus.
Our first experience with Premier Inn was a big succes.
The only little downside was the free WiFi, only half an hour, time flies when you're surfing on the internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    90
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
139
132
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Premier Inn at Pontypool for three nights, and had the best experience of our trip! Garreth and Corinne, two staff members, were extremely helpful - really the best! Their kindness and advice for sightseeing tips and where to find the best "typical" Welsh food was invaluable. The room was fine - clean and spacious. It was, however, these two staff members who made our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 860happytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First time in Premier Inn so didn't know what to expect.Very clean friendly helpful staff and the bed was fantastic. Recommend this hotel if you are going to South Wales. Nearly forgot to mention the shower,it was fab very powerful and hot

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely hotel, my first Premier Inn, lovely friendly reception. Nice clean and comfortable room.
Handy for Harvester and MacDonalds if you need them.
Bed was very hard though, I like a hard bed but my husband had an awful sleep, up and down all night, was actually walking around outside at 4:30 am because the bed had made him so uncomfortable.
I did email Premier as they guarantee a good nights sleep but sadly they haven't bothered to reply.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcydiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Premier Inn for two nights while visiting family in the area. The facilities are great especially as I need some extra help due to a little disability. Everything was spotless and the decor was lovely in various purples and mauves. My husband had a good night's sleep. However my first night was uncomfortable as I found the bed firmer than my body likes but the staff were brilliant and didn't bat an eyelid when I asked for a duvet to be inserted under the bottom sheet. My second night was then much better. Staff were always friendly and ready to help. For overnight stays they are good.

Room Tip: If you need consideration for disabilities then do ask for a room for the disabled. It's worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for long weekend for family party nearby. Nice cleanroom with comfy bed & all the basics you need. You get what you pay for! Friendly staff & lovely breakfast. Easy to find, large car park.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Travellingnankent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent stop for a wedding weekend. Rooms clean and spacious, friendly staff. Great choice for a couple of nights break. Easy to find, handy to recieve the text directions. Close by restaurant and supermarket for the things you forgot to pick up

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
581 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Address: Tyr'felin | Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Pontypool
Holiday Inn Newport
Premier Inn Newport
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing