We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were met by a very friendly helpful happy receptionist called Gareth. We havent been treated so well at 5 star establishments, nothing is too much trouble for him and over several days his happiness is infectious. The rest of thestaff have been amazing too, the housekeeping dept are great and the rooms are clean and adequate. Afridge would be nice especially for people staying more than 2/3 nights.

Free wifi would be great though, we can get free wifi in such places as Asda andCosta coffee but only get a ridiculous 30 mins free here at PI's!

We would not hesitate in recommending this particular Premier Inn.

Room Tip: we are sure they are all to thesame high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    85
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
131
126
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Two night stopover to visit family in Wales. The room was clean and modern, good flat screen TV with lots of channels. Free WiFi for 30 minutes. Very helpful receptionist who advised us where to eat out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamsy750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Arrived after a 3 hour drive with husband & two frazzled young kids. The person on reception could not have been nicer. (He even gave the kids some colouring sheets and crayons). The full Welsh cooked breakfast was top notch! Cooked to order and brought to your table.
The beauty of this place is the pride that the staff obviously take in their job. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The linen is fresh. The shower even had nice quality shower gel. The rooms are perfectly comfortable if all you need to do is get a night's rest.
I've stayed in 5 star hotels that haven't been as comfortable as this.
PS I only gave the location an average score as the place doesn't have an amazing view - but its very practical nestling beside a roundabout near a dual carriageway with a Harvester next door.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexsternator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I booked this for the night of the 10th September and checked in with my partner. The lovely lady on reception let us check in early (please make this standard, Premier Inn!).

The room was modern and comfortable with everything you could want. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was wonderful. We liked it so much we didn't want to leave it! There was little if any outside noise although there were several lead-footed guests marching up and down the corridor at one point but they didn't distract us.

We didn't eat here but we've visited the onsite Harvester many times; friendly and helpful staff there too.

If I could wish for anything more it would be more tea/coffee stuff, fresh milk available from reception and a fridge in the room.

All in all, Premier Inn has everything you need for a great stay... but they really ought to put in a disclaimer somewhere that it's not their fault if you can't get out of bed. They are SO comfortable. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: We had room 222; very nice room - quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The usual good features of a Premier Inn - good sized clean room, very comfortable bed, welcoming and friendly staff - were there, but my stay was spoiled by two things. The room was too warm and it was only possible to open the window a couple of inches. The fan didn't provide much respite, so I had to try to sleep with no bedclothes. Then, on one of the two nights I stayed people were talking and laughing outside until about 1.30 in the morning - they would have been just outside the entrance and presumably went there to smoke. Of course I couldn't shut the window to keep out the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Pretty much a standard Premier Inn. Adjacent harvester for dinner. Good beds, good breakfast (kids eat free!) but breakfast room a little small for the number of guests. Slightly different design from most Premier Inns as was previously a HI Express. Poor ventilation in the bedrooms

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

What else could be said for a chain they do themselves proud here. Would stay again anytime. Really welcoming. As I was working the hotel aloowed us to split our breakfast so my wife and kids didn't have to get up early. Rooms were very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Address: Tyr'felin | Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Pontypool
Holiday Inn Newport
Premier Inn Newport
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing