We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here only one night as we were here for a wedding. What a lovely place to stay, the staff were fantastic nothing too much bother. Lovely comfortable beds, we had a disabled room there was plenty of room and the room was clean. Had a fantastic nights sleep.
Breakfast was really nice although I think at £8.75 is a little overpriced but nether the less it was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    83
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
123
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This Premier Inn is located off a roundabout off the A4042 on the outskirts of Pontypool. The website warns of possible road traffic noise but the windows are double glazed with extra secondary glazing so noise was not a problem. The Inn has two storeys but no lift so book a ground floor room if you have difficulty with stairs.

Welcome on arrival was very pleasant and the check-in procedures quick. At all times the staff were pleasant and keen to ensure you had an enjoyable stay.

Our room was a double and was clean and spacious with a very comfortable 6'0" bed, writing desk and chair plus settee. Built-in storage unit with plenty of hanging space. Flat screen television with Freeview although the signal gets distorted at times. Wi-Fi available free for 30 minutes but you can buy extra time. Tea and coffee making facilities.

Our en-suite facilities included a WC, wash hand basin and shower with ample hot water. The bathroom was clean with fluffy white towels. Our bathroom extractor fan wasn’t working but got repaired straight away.

The heating system is by individual electric heaters which you adjust by altering the thermostat in the room. It worked very well. A fan was provided if you wanted air circulation with the window closed.

We stayed three nights and paid an average of £33 per night for the room by booking in advance. There is a dining room for breakfast and a Harvester restaurant next door for main meals. On the other side of the roundabout is a McDonalds.

Pontypool has a large ‘Tesco’s’ and a nice park. The location would be handy for tourist attractions like ‘Big Pit’ or the shopping delights of Abergavenny, Newport and Cardiff.

We enjoyed our stay at this Premier Inn and would return

Room Tip: No lift to first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful front of house staff very clean nice to see people who actually enjoy there jobs. Premier inn is by far the best for a comfortable working time. Excellent top marks for effort will be return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night great location as we were off to visit "The Big Pit" close by next day and then off to explore Brecon area. Rooms usual Premier Inn standard, we preferred having a free standing shower rather than the usual shower over the bath and of course the new beds very comfortable, staff friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast was served in PI but evening meal was next door at the Harvester, unfortunately very busy and they were not taking bookings so quite a wait for a table however the food was good and staff very pleasant. We had no problem with traffic noise despite the hotel being on a very busy junction, the start of the A472 our room had a very pleasant garden view screening the traffic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandjunep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

another visit and still impressed by the helpful staff. This time Tara was on reception and kindly rang a local pub to check on disabled access for us.

One of our party in a room equipped for the disabled accidentally caught the alarm cord. The response fromTara was exceedingly fast and very reassuring.

The housekeeping staff also areworthy of priase for their hard work and willingness to help.

Realising the batteries were going in our alarm clock we asked if there were any spares at reception - of course there were.

This Premier Inn has been allocated new beds and they are really comfortable.

The breakfast cook is fantastic, the quality of the food is excellent and consistent day to day. The breakfast room has also been equipped with a new coffee machine, whatever your taste.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Pretty much standard Premier Inn offering although as an ex-Holiday Inn Express the room layout is a bit different. Rooms also seem smaller than normal - at least outrfamily room was pretty cramped for the four of us and normally we fit okay (or maybe the kids are getting bigger). Windows look new, but are still a stupid "no air" design - but at least they now seem to have fans without having to ask for them. Very friendly staff. Breakfast (kids eat free!) is served inside the hotel rather than in the adjacent harvester (which doesn't server proper beer). The shared carpark can be full early evening but seems okay to park on the road until spaces appear later.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very nice clean and comfortable hotel with a brilliant breakfast. The staff were extremely polite. I enjoyed my stay there and it was nice land quiet too.
It was a bit difficult to find but I got there in the end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Address: Tyr'felin | Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Pontypool
Holiday Inn Newport
Premier Inn Newport
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing