We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not with the 21st century”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not with the 21st century”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Usual clean premier inn. It was disappointed that in this day and age there was no lifts so had to struggle with out bags, baby and pushchair. The family room was not family size. Also our room was too hot and when we opened the window we got smoked out by the smokers below our window.....not a good night guaranteed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    91
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
140
134
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The lady at check in was very nice but warned us that as our company had paid for our booking using a credit card, the usual chargeback for food and drinks in the pub next door wouldn't be allowed. Most unusual as Premier Inn normally issue a 'chit' for the pub or restaurant and away you go.

Now I don't know why this particular pub doesn't seem to work with Premier Inn, or who is to blame but after some phone calls by both the pub and the hotel it remained that we couldn't charge the meal as usual. Maybe I'm being unfair to Premier Inn by marking them down, I don't know who is to blame, but I do know it isn't me.

The hotel is the usual high standard, the staff were pleasant and breakfast was ok. So if they can sort out this billing nonsense with the pub they will score much higher from me if I return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was very well maintained, the hotel offered breakfast which was cooked to order and was very good. There was also a Harvester across the road to cater for other meals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sepang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were part (two adults and two teenagers) of a large group (twenty +) who had travelled, from across the country, to the area for a family wedding. We felt welcomed and cared for by the attentive staff. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here last night. We had three rooms as there were 3 couples in our party. The staff ensured that the three rooms were all next to each other.
My husband and I had our two young children in with us and while the 'family room' was just a standard double with the sofa bed made up and a travel cot added in it was fine for one night. If we had of been staying longer it may have got tiresome squeezing around the furniture.
The room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked well.
The staff were very friendly and were able to advise us on local pubs and attractions. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was £8.95 per person for buffet of cereals and fruit etc and a full English cooked to order. Again everything was clean, regularly replenished and the staff were attentive.

Over all it was great for what we needed - somewhere clean, comfortable and which road access.
Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here only one night as we were here for a wedding. What a lovely place to stay, the staff were fantastic nothing too much bother. Lovely comfortable beds, we had a disabled room there was plenty of room and the room was clean. Had a fantastic nights sleep.
Breakfast was really nice although I think at £8.75 is a little overpriced but nether the less it was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This Premier Inn is located off a roundabout off the A4042 on the outskirts of Pontypool. The website warns of possible road traffic noise but the windows are double glazed with extra secondary glazing so noise was not a problem. The Inn has two storeys but no lift so book a ground floor room if you have difficulty with stairs.

Welcome on arrival was very pleasant and the check-in procedures quick. At all times the staff were pleasant and keen to ensure you had an enjoyable stay.

Our room was a double and was clean and spacious with a very comfortable 6'0" bed, writing desk and chair plus settee. Built-in storage unit with plenty of hanging space. Flat screen television with Freeview although the signal gets distorted at times. Wi-Fi available free for 30 minutes but you can buy extra time. Tea and coffee making facilities.

Our en-suite facilities included a WC, wash hand basin and shower with ample hot water. The bathroom was clean with fluffy white towels. Our bathroom extractor fan wasn’t working but got repaired straight away.

The heating system is by individual electric heaters which you adjust by altering the thermostat in the room. It worked very well. A fan was provided if you wanted air circulation with the window closed.

We stayed three nights and paid an average of £33 per night for the room by booking in advance. There is a dining room for breakfast and a Harvester restaurant next door for main meals. On the other side of the roundabout is a McDonalds.

Pontypool has a large ‘Tesco’s’ and a nice park. The location would be handy for tourist attractions like ‘Big Pit’ or the shopping delights of Abergavenny, Newport and Cardiff.

We enjoyed our stay at this Premier Inn and would return

Room Tip: No lift to first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
581 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Address: Tyr'felin | Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Pontypool
Holiday Inn Newport
Premier Inn Newport
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing