We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best value for money”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for two days and loved it. The rooms are very nice, comfortable and clean.
The staff is always available and really friendly. They made us feel at home.
It seemed to me they work well together and enjoy working there.
You will get your money back when you did not have a good night sleep.
A staff member told us you can book a room for 29 pounds sometimes when you book well in advance on the premier inn website. We paid a tad bit more cause we had move hotel but still good value I think.
The full English breakfast is made fresh for you. It was good.
You can get a cheaper breakfast at Harvest restaurant next door.
We also had diner next door; reasonable price for reasonable food. Nice decor, cosy. Bar and getting drinks very slow.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    85
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
131
126
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Room was ok. Cleaner removed key mugs and towels on second day had to go fetch replacements. Breakfast was good and so was service
Car park was to small as people in harvester pub kept parking in the premier inn car park so we could not park if we had been out so they need to do something about that as you should be able to park in the car park if staying there in hotel .grounds kept nice, looked nice from outside

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahm22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

very nice hotel /very friendly . brilliant breakfast. good location If you have got sat nav you are ok. otherwise you can miss the turning on the roundabout. very good value. evening meal across the road at harvester rest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a great stop over and such a comfortable room and great nights sleep. The room was very clean and super helpful staff. Great breakfast options too. I was very impressed with the room facilities and that everything worked well. Stayed two nights with kids too and the family room was more than adequate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Easy access from the main roads, good parking, a popular bar/restaurant next door, great staff that were friendly and very helpful, this is a well kept hotel, great food. A fault was found in our room and was quickly dealt with by a wonderful receptionist. Our breakfast was one of the best we have eaten anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Usual clean premier inn. It was disappointed that in this day and age there was no lifts so had to struggle with out bags, baby and pushchair. The family room was not family size. Also our room was too hot and when we opened the window we got smoked out by the smokers below our window.....not a good night guaranteed

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The lady at check in was very nice but warned us that as our company had paid for our booking using a credit card, the usual chargeback for food and drinks in the pub next door wouldn't be allowed. Most unusual as Premier Inn normally issue a 'chit' for the pub or restaurant and away you go.

Now I don't know why this particular pub doesn't seem to work with Premier Inn, or who is to blame but after some phone calls by both the pub and the hotel it remained that we couldn't charge the meal as usual. Maybe I'm being unfair to Premier Inn by marking them down, I don't know who is to blame, but I do know it isn't me.

The hotel is the usual high standard, the staff were pleasant and breakfast was ok. So if they can sort out this billing nonsense with the pub they will score much higher from me if I return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
5.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Address: Tyr'felin | Lower Mill Field, Pontypool NP4 0RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pontypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Pontypool
Holiday Inn Newport
Premier Inn Newport
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing