We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pourqui "why"”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Pontypool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: WE ARE A FAMILY RUN, CHILD AND DOG FRIENDLY COUNTRY PUB. We offer choice of 4 real ales, a smooth ale, 4 lagers (2 premium) and 3 ciders on tap with a good variety of bottled ciders, soft drinks and alcohol free lager. Our food dose not claim to win prizes, but its good quality, good portion size, and freshly cooked (and it won't break the bank) so some times a small wait is inevitable but hopefully worth it. The atmosphere is warm welcoming and cosy with a wood burner one end and an open fire the other which we light when its miserable and cold outside which is most of the year. The pub is open from 12 noon every day all day, and closes around 10pm in the week, then around 12pm weekends. Sunday and Monday we serve food 12pm till-3pm ONLY (no evening meals) Every other day its 12pm till 2pm then 6pm till 8.30pm looking forward to seeing you Soon
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Pourqui "why"”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The media is currently full of Pubs closing down, The Star is bucking those trends, with simple straight forward bar snacks and first rate beer and it's built up a good following.
BUT it has ONE MAJOR FLAW,
We are currently experiencing a bitterly cold winter, and the owners think as an after thought of having any heating on.......This is a Country pub with open fires, which on three recent occasions they haven't been bother to lite one, and the other poorly attended ....."does not make for a welcoming atmosphere"....it's a shame really, as the pub is scoring nicely in other areas.
Could I suggest ........priorities ........No need for state of the art televisions .......just make the customer feel warm and relaxed when visiting?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PallMallxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
abergavenny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just What Was Needed In The Area”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Emma & Steve are keeping a lovely country PROPER PUB. Basic Pub favourites are on the menu and good very reasonably priced food is secondary to drinking. Thankfully, this establishment is dedicated to seated and standing drinkers. Not turned into eateries where drinkers are not welcome like most around them.There are a large selection of fine ales & ciders to choose from too.

No snootiness here I'm glad to report. AND if only my wife is hungry we can order one meal, two pieces of bread and butter, and no one bats an eyelid if I make a chip butty off her plate and bloody enjoy it. Well done you two Excellent !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“5 stars for The Star!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

A lovely little country pub with a warm welcoming atmosphere located close to the Monmouthshire Brecon Canal and set in a lovely location.. Steve and Emma are great hosts and their staff are so friendlly. They serve traditional pub grub which is always delicious and great value for money. There are no airs or graces here, families and dogs are welcome, and they often hold fun days on bank holidays and special occasions which are always well attended and a great laugh. So if you are passing through Mamhilad either by car, barge, bike or on foot make sure to pop in, you will be glad you did!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cidermilllodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“lively and lovely”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Traditional country pub with range of ales and good food. On the Friday evening that we visited the pub was busy but it was a friendly atmosphere We ended up sharing a table with another couple and having a good chat. The food was home cooked and tasty at very reasonable prices so would definitely recommend it if you are staying in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamskelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Welsh Heritage along the Canal”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Star Inn is truly a delightful pub with all the characteristics of rural life - The building is set in an ideal location for walkers, cyclists & family's with plenty of parking to. The pub is located just off the canal, it's a nice place to stop off & have a snack with beer or a glass of wine, the people are always very friendly & always cater well for you & your pets :). - thank you and keep up your good work.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinHall_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

Pontypool, Torfaen
Mamhilad, Monmouthshire
 
Pontypool, Torfaen
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing