We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Little Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Pontypool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nestled away in a small village this gem of a bed and breakfast was a real find. It's is part of the Little Crown Inn and Restaurant and is owned and managed by Alison and Gus. The rooms are a brand new build and all furnishings and fittings are of an extremely high quality. We had two interconnecting rooms which was ideal for our family. The beds were very comfortable and we all had great night sleep. Our rooms overlooked the Inn courtyard and were situated above the Inn but we can assure you that there was no noise to be heard.
It is by far the best Bed and Breakfast we have stayed in. We say this as the staff are very friendly and helpful, the maid service was spot on and the breakfast was fuel for walking those Welsh hills!!
This was our first stay but it will certainly not be our last.
A Big thank you to Alison, Gus and the team from the McGhie family, Whitburn, Tyne and Wear

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Tania M

Thank you for taking the time to review the Little Crown Inn's accommodation on Trip Advisor - your support goes a long way!

We're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us and that you loved the newly developed rooms and our hearty Welsh breakfasts!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kindest regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed 1 night as we were working in the area. The place was very clean. The staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms were modern and new. Very comfortable beds and the best breakfast we've had in wales. Overall brilliant we place.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xstevenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Xstevenx

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for reviewing the Little Crown's accommodation on Trip Advisor! Having only opened in May this year, we don't have a lot of feedback for potential guests to read yet, so your support goes a long way!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, but especially that you thought our breakfast was the best you've had in Wales to date! What a compliment!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kindest regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful find. Tired after long days travelling we were recommended this place. We were welcomed by Alison and her team who made us very welcome right from the outset. Our room is newly developed accommodation in May this year. It is professional, clean, welcoming. They have free and fast wifi. The room also benefits from tea & coffee, lovely ensuite, biscuits, welcome pack.
As we arrived late we enquired for some sandwiches. Alison made these and brought them to our room. The sandwiches were made of local fresh produce, really nice and just what we needed.
Breakfast this morning was a full breakfast with local produce. The sausages were from the local butcher/farm etc. The breakfast menu was extensive including welsh breakfast and vegetarian options.
Overall, well done and thank you Alison and Gus for a very enjoyable stay. You have excelled in quality accommodation, food and service. We will be recommending you to our friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Owen

Reading your review this morning made our day!

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, found the staff welcoming and loved our food!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for one night. The staff and owners were so kind and accommodating. The rooms are beautiful, modern, clean and comfortable. There is a mining theme to the rooms and the pub. food and beer delicious. We will definitely stay at the Little Crown again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 500bernicet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleCrown, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hi Bernice

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for for becoming the first guest to review the Little Crown Inn Accommodation on TripAdvisor! We really appreciate you sharing your opinions and supporting us!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the guest rooms!

You will always be welcomed back to the Little Crown Inn,

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jul_mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma N, Front Office Manager at The Little Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontypool hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ty Shon Jacob Farm
Ty Shon Jacob Farm
#2 of 2 in Pontypool
42 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Crown Inn

Address: Elled Road | Wainfellin, Pontypool NP4 6DR, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypool
Price Range: £57 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Little Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Crown Inn boasts 5 traditionally styled, en suite rooms that deliver all of the modern comforts. We have a busy restaurant that specialises in serving honest, home cooked meals, a bar area & a beer garden. We're ideally situated for trips into Newport & Cardiff, & close to local amenities & tourist attractions. Prices are for the room only and include housekeeping and parking. We serve a traditional Welsh/English breakfast and provide a continental style buffet bar at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Little Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Crown Inn Pontypool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing