We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Ty Shon Jacob Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontypool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Shon Jacob Farm
Ranked #2 of 2 Pontypool B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a previous reviewer stated, once you have 'nursed' your vehicle, (if you have a land rover, no problem), over the rough road up to the farm, you are well rewarded with the end result.
This is indeed a lovely part of Torfaen, the views are stunning, Morgan, the border collie and Beauty, the Dalmatian are gorgeous. Agneta is a wonderful character & host and makes sure your needs are met as much as possible. We had a 3 day weekend there & it is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at. Look forward to seeing Agneta again sometime as we really did enjoy our stay & very good value for the money.
Dave & Margaret Winston.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ratingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Once you have literally "overcome" the steep and uneven road to the farm you will be rewarded by a veritable paradise. Breathtaking vistas surround the lovingly tended buildings and gardens nestling in a hollow high up on the mountain. You will be boisterously and barkingly welcomed by Morgan and Beauty, the sheepdog and dalmation, before meeting equally boisterous Agneta, a veritable whirlwind. She will show you the spacious, clean and comfortable room with adjoining luxury bathroom ballroom size. And the large and sunny deck stretching along both room and bathroom. Any requests will be obligingly met. And she will give you amply of her precious time, patiently answering all your queries and proudly describing her life on the farm. The unbelievable peace and quiet and the comfortable bed will assure a restful night followed by a princely breakfast with all the trimmings. Who would have thought, that in these backwoods you would be served a buffet breakfast with crystal stem glassware, underplates and such a delicious selection of dishes.

I stayed two single nights and was treated like a valued customer. If ever I should be in the area again, that's where I would stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed for one night in June. Excellent welcome and huge room and bathroom with all you could need. Spotlelessly clean with comfortable bed. Quiet and secluded spot with no noise. Excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. Track a bit rough in places for a car but not a problem if you take care.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

It's a hidden gem. Once you're up the mountain, it's a piece of heaven. Very nice decor & homely atmosphere. Angneta looked after us so well as we were there for a walking challenge. Our every need was met. The breakfast is the breakfast of the kings. Lovely views from our room with huge balcony just shame about the weather so we couldn't sit outside. The shower/ bath is very nicely done. Can not recommend it highly enough. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yassi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights April 2014. Spotlessly clean and amazing amount of space in the bedroom and adjoining bathroom. Beautiful furnishings and decoration. Excellent views across the valley and mountains, a quiet and secluded spot but not far from many attractions like Big Pit and Blaeavon World Heritage site. Fantastic and friendly service by the hardworking Agneta and an amazing and huge breakfast selection, fruits of every kind, cereals, assorted breads along with the full cooked menu. As a vegetarian I was well catered for and we were even treated to excellent Welsh Lava bread. We have never been so well looked after and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at Ty Shon Jacob Farm for two nights in September and I can't recommend it more highly. The long drive up to the farm from the main road is lovely, if a bit narrow, but what a reward once you arrive. The farm is set among sedate horse pastures with a sweeping view of the valley. Once you're used to the drive, it's less than 10 minutes down to the main road. The rooms are big and comfortable, with antique furniture and cozy duvets and linens. The bathrooms are big and luxurious. Agneta offers a warm welcome and a delicious full English breakfast. Wifi is in the main room, not the bedrooms, and it's not terribly fast. Despite drive and the wifi situation, I was still so happy to stay here, and my trip was work-related. I'll return for pleasure, if only to see Agneta again and enjoy a few more nights at this lovely place in southern Wales.

Room Tip: There's one large room with a gorgeous deck overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My husband and I loved our room which was spacious with two comfy chairs as well as the kingsized bed. A super big bathroom too. The breakfast was very nice. The views from the farm are lovely, we only wished we could see them from our room.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the balcony if you want to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypool
2.2 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 18 in Newport
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Little Crown Inn
The Little Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Pontypool
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Pontypool Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Shon Jacob Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Shon Jacob Farm

Property: Ty Shon Jacob Farm
Address: Coch-y-North Lane | Tranch, Pontypool NP4 6PB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Pontypool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypool
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Shon Jacob Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ty Shon Jacob Farm Pontypool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing