We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Their days out are one of the highlights of my year.

Phil Anslow's local bus services - in particular the X1 are first class, but even better are their... read more

Reviewed 18 February 2020
Stella H
,
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Great local service

So great to have a local business picking up where stagecoach have failed the public. Keeping... read more

Reviewed 12 February 2020
J4316ROsusanb
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus service first class driver garage company
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 18 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The trip to Westen Air show was a present for Fathers day and the trip was on 18/6/16 the next day we were going on holiday to Tenby so this is why this review is late. We were to be picked up on Newport Road Pontymister Risca it's the second pick up in Risca, we were on the bus stop (which right outside our house) and as I have trouble walking my daughter thought the pick up point was perfect, we wait for 1/2 hour no bus and we were on the bus stop well in advance, John rang the company and a very nice gentleman said he would find out what had happened and would ring us back, he rang rang back and said the bus driver of the feeder bus had been up and down a few times we were not on the bus stop, well we were, now it was coming up to an hour late, he said stay where are and the feeder bus would come back which it did, straight away the rude driver said it was not his fault this stop was known as Pontymister not Risca ( please look on a map Pontymister does not appear on any map, yes it's known as John's Garage Newport road Pontymister Risca but he never even came down to the end of Newport road where we were now waiting an hour, we got to Forge Lane Bassaleg where the coach was waiting and we thought now we'll get it in the neck but everybody was were very nice about it including the coach bus driver he apologised about the feeder driver and said just relax and enjoy the trip, we had smashing seats, the only thing was that the people on the feeder bus said he did come down Newport, but he certainly didn't come down to us. The rest of the trip was fantastic the driver gave us all an extra hour at Westen and said that the owner would be getting in touch with us ,up to now he as not, but we have been a away for 2 weeks. I think Phil Anslow coaches should alter the name of the stop and state that it's Newport road Pontymister Risca as Risca and Pontymister are all on Newport Road. I doubt this little hiccup will not happen again, as far as Phil Anslow Coach company I think it's wonderful, very caring staff (except one) and no doubt we be travelling with them again no problem.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank clv47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2015

Went with Phil Anslow for the first time on a day trip to Oxford, the driver was excellent we had plenty of time in Oxford and we received a leaflet offering a discount on a tour of Oxford Castle. Will travel with them again.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank roscwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Had a fantastic day out with Phil Anslow & Sons to Cribbs Causeway, our driver Eddie great, nothing to much trouble, we look forward to our next trip Bath Christmas market. Mary & John

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We have a great bus service by Phil Anslow we live in a area where we have a bus one every hour drivers always willing to help everyone old and young. we are very grateful please please keep doing what you do best get us up the big hill

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank dai2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Phil Anslow & Sons Coaches, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews