We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insects everywhere, lack of cleanliness and inefficiency”
Review of Mark & Meadows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiniketan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mark & Meadows
Ranked #23 of 27 Santiniketan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were told that Mark & Meadows was the best hotel in Shantiniketan. In our opinion it was also the worst. As soon as we entered the reception the mosquitoes started attacking us. It was much worse in the room. Not only mosquitoes but also flies and lizards were everywhere. They entered the room because the door had been open, the window in the bathroom was not sealed and the air conditioner was not on. We called the staff to help clean up the room. They used so much insect spray that we had to leave the room. The lizard was guided by a stick to leave the room. When they told us that we could go back to the room we saw the floor covered by dead insects. They didn´t even clean it!!! Our patience ended exactly at this point. We told them that if they didn´t give us a better room we wouldn´t pay. We shifted rooms. The air conditioner in the new room was on and it seemed that they had killed the insects and removed them before our arrival. But, since the windows of the bathroom were not sealed, at night we had to sleep with two lizards making noises in our room. Outside the rooms, at night, it is possible to see several frogs that jump from one side to the other while we walk. The bathroom is very dirty. The restaurant is not different! The door that goes to the kitchen once was white, but nowadays it is almost black with dirt. The staff is inefficient. The front desk staff was lethargic! Simply the worst hotel we have ever been in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bansidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We went there for a brief stay during Basantotsav 2013. As you enter the property you get a sense of plushness but as you go through the corridor and finally to the room, it changes. There is evidence of lack of maintenance everywhere. Paint falling off from walls, old furniture stacked in corridors, heaps of junk here and there. The bathroom is very shoddy with the fittings age-old. The geyser looked as if run-down and it was leaking all over the place.

Food was reasonable. Breakfast spread did not have any fruits.

If properly refurbished this can be a nice retreat but not at present.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_indraghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

nicely landscaped and good looking at first but the impression changed as one goes round the property. it is old and poorly maintained. unfortunately, there is no other place near by. average food quality, better service. seems like they are trying to improve but so many things are wrong that large capital infusion will be needed, mere cosmetic dressing will not suffice

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdt111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

we always go their with frinds.we always stay here. location is ok.but food is excellent. lawn is excellent. rooms are good. but it can be better.little bit of maintenance and cleanliness is required.

Room Tip: facing the lawn and the garden are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pappuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I'm glad I'm out of this place. They pretend to be an upmarket hotel but the poor maintenance and neglect make you want to run away.

On the first day I had to complain that both my sink and shower drainage were blocked. They "attended" to the former brilliantly: from that day on, the sink drained straight on to my feet! When I called someone he had the cheek to suggest I should be happy that it was no longer blocked!! They never did fix the sink, so I lived with a filthy under-sink bucket to catch - and keep - the dirty water. The shower, they didn't even bother, each day I had three inches of standing water that would take an hour to drain out.

The staff, specially Mr Mondal at the front desk, are helpful and kind but never look you in the eye. They are probably doing their best but they realise what kind of junk-heap their place is. There is garbage and junk all over the hotel including behind the Reception, where he can barely sit !

At over 3000 rupees a night, it's a shabby ripoff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SM-Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Terrible is the Word! Shabby, Run Down, Poorly Serviced, Horrible food, Pool with Yellow water, are a few adjectives one could use for them too! Oh yes, they're certainly overpriced too! Stay here if you want your holiday to go bad!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gshroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is quite expensive for the service it offers. Rooms are fine and ensuite, bathroom aren't really comfortable and clean. the building is nice and the hotel has a nice garden with swimming pool (I don't know if it works). Location is twenty minutes by foot from the university.
The restaurant is really good: don't miss the all-you-can-eat meals!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lion26b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiniketan
1.9 mi away
Country Roads
Country Roads
#2 of 3 in Santiniketan
12 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Sagar
Hotel Sagar
#1 of 1 in Siuri
3 reviews
3.4 mi away
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
Raktokorobi Karu Gram
#5 of 27 in Santiniketan
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Deer Park Eco Home
Deer Park Eco Home
#13 of 27 in Santiniketan
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Sonajhuri Resort
La Sonajhuri Resort
#10 of 20 in Santiniketan
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pubali Homestay
Pubali Homestay
#2 of 18 in Bolpur
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark & Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark & Meadows

Address: Santiniketan, Santiniketan 731236, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Birbhum District > Santiniketan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santiniketan
Price Range: £37 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing