We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Apollon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Apollon
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Metsovo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at Apollon for one night and we liked it very much.
The room was nice, clean and quiet, the bed very comfortable, breakfast was good. Hotel staff is very kind and friendly. Parking is available.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2007

This hotel was very basic but also rather expensive for what we received. The original price was about €110 for two very basic rooms, but we bargained down to €100 (the price didn't include breakfast). Ours consisted of a small, tight room with two small beds, a bathroom, and a tiny balcony. The bathroom contained a toilet, a sink, and a shower (the shower had a window looking into the elevator shaft). Overall, it was alright but had some problems.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ellasevia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

This hotel has an excellent location and generally is a good hotel but the owner could have been more welcoming.
Having briefly visited Metsovo a few years ago we decided to take an overnight stop this year and perhaps see something of the Eastern Zagori. The Apollon has a good web site and we chose this as a result - we knew from our previous visit that it was in or near the centre of town.
The hotel is fairly easy to find by following the sign displayed in the central plateia and on arrival we were pleased to find ample covered parking beneath the hotel with a lift to reception. The owner's greeting could have been warmer, he was not rude but appeared to be disinterested; I was with my wife and two friends and this feeling was shared by all.
The hotel is built on a steep incline and the all rooms benefit from good views, our rooms were at the end of the hotel and had wonderful views. The rooms are sympathetically decorated in keeping with the local style. The rooms do not have air conditioning and would benefit from it but I understand there are restrictions in Metsovo. However, being high in the mountains helps a great deal; we had left 47°C behind on the Plain of Thessalia and still managed to sleep.
Breakfast in the restaurant was served at the table, this was quite meagre and not of the best quality; by late morning we were looking for a cheese pie.
The hotel is located a matter of metres away from the cental plateia with it's tavernas and souvenir shops. This was certainly the place to be on a Sunday evening with the local people sitting around the periphery, especially to see the old folk dressed in their traditional Vlach costume.
If you want to spend your money this is not a problem as there are five banks in Metsovo each with an ATM.
On leaving, my friend handed over his credit card and this was refused although the front door was emblazened with every conceivable sticker, we were then initially refused a receipt but this was reluctantly given. This incident seemed to sum up the owners attitude which was a great pity because we had enjoyed Metsovo and quite liked the Hotel Apollon.
More often than not it is the greeting and farewell which leave the lasting impression of a hotel and in this instance it was not the best, perhaps the owner was having a bad couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ConnySir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ιωαννης Γ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Johan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: תבדקו את החדר לפני- יש חדרים שפונים לחלק האחורי שהוא מעניין גם-כן, ויש שפונים לחזית.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davidsh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ολα τα δωματια ειναι τα ιδια!!!ολα μεγαλα με μπαλκονι!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 5,678,987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metsovo hotels
0.1 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#5 of 15 in Metsovo
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Archontiko Metsovou Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aroma Dryos Eco & Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olympic
Hotel Olympic
#7 of 15 in Metsovo
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asteri Metsovo Hotel S.A.
1.1 mi away
Grand Forest Metsovo
Grand Forest Metsovo
#3 of 15 in Metsovo
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apollon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apollon

Address: Metsovo, Metsovo 442 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Metsovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Metsovo
Price Range: £34 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Apollon 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apollon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing