We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Archontiko Metsovou Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Metsovo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a great stay in Metsovo. We had two adjoining rooms for our family of four. They were very comfortable and clean with great views across the valley and to the mountains. The owners were very friendly and helpful in pointing out the key places to visit in our short time in Metsovo. The breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, including homemade bread, cheese pies, local yoghurt, cheese and honey. I would thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you're going to Metsovo (and I HIGHLY recommend it), then stay at the Archontiko hotel.
You can see that a lot of attention has been put into the interior decoration of this hotel. Lots of wood craft and authentic Greek decoration.

The rooms were luxurious and comfortable. There was no AC in the rooms, but the cool mountain air and breeze (even in August) was enough for us. The windows did not have mosquito nets so we had to use the curtains to block flies from entering at night (but would have preferred to just have nets).

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Just a one minute walk from the center, yet far enough to be peaceful and quiet day or night.

The owners of the hotel were probably the nicest people we met in Greece. They really made us feel welcome and catered to our every need. Even one night when we wanted to do some star gazing (they even have a telescope for everyone's use), Giorgios (the owner) turned the lights off in the balcony so that we could have a better view.

The breakfast did not have much variety and was generally disappointing.

The town of Metsovo has so much character and charm that we highly recommend coming here. It almost feels like you're in a little town in the Swiss Alps. We spend a day and a half just walking around town and did not get bored. So many little streets and charming shops and restaurants (speaking of which, if you crave good Pizza or Crepe, go up the main street, starting left of the church and keep going up and left at the fork. The place is called FAME and has delicious crepes and surprisingly amazing pizza too).

If you have more time, definitely make a day trip to see the Vikos Gorge (start at the small town of Monodendri). Just search Trip Advisor for it and you'll find plenty of information. These are some of the most breathtaking views you will see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We did a night-over at Metsovo on our trip to see the Meteora (we rented a car for 2 days). Based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try the #1 place in Metsovo. We weren't disappointed.

First, the service by the owners Giorgos and Dimitra was top of the class. When we arrived to Metsovo and were "lost in the town center", Giorgos came to rescue and drove us (with our rental car!) to the hotel parking. Nice touch. When the time came to have a dinner, he escorted us to the town center, took us to a restaurant of his choice and told the owner to take a good care of us. We almost thought he'll join us on our dinner, but no.. :D Having said that - amazing hospitality from start to finish.

Our room was nice. No use for the fireplace or jacuzzi, but we enjoyed our night. The only minus was that our room was quite hot. Not sure if the air conditioning wasn't working properly or if we just couldn't "figure it out". Nonetheless, we got enough sleep and had a wonderful trip to the Meteora after our visit.

Thanks again for everything Giorgos and Dimitra! We'll happily recommend your hotel to our friends when they decide to give Metsovo a visit in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Metsovo is mainly a place for winter. I felt it is good also for summer because is cool and quite. Hotel Archontiko, although it is located close to the main square (where all the restaurants are) it is far from the noise (especially if you are lucky to be there during a local feast “panygiri”). The hotel is run by a friendly couple, Giorgos and Dimitra, who go out of their way to fulfil your needs. Our room, although relatively small, was nicely decorated according to the local tradition and well maintained. Breakfast consisted of fresh local products (plus homemade bread and pitta). What we really liked most was seating at the veranda enjoying the view and chatting with other hotel guest and Giorgos. I do want to visit the place again for relaxing. The trip from Thessaloniki, thanks to Egnatia, is enjoyable and sort (2 hours!!!).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina_auth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have been touring Greece, from Australia, for the past 6 weeks and found this hotel to be the best by far!! Friendly owners ready to assist and give advice on sightseeing etc, traditional room decor, breathtaking views from balcony and a hearty breakfast to start the day! A real "Archondiko"!! Will definetely return and will try winter as we have been advised of great skiing facilities!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpirosMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Excellent and cosy rooms with a splendid view that opens your heart and soul. If you want to spend some days that you will never forget, this is the ideal place. Refined atmosphere, elegance and style. Here is the place where everything is possible...and when the owner told me that he meant it. The owners are simple, happy and extremely helpfull people, ready to make your dreams true...I will never forget my trip here...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A really nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Off-street parking is a big plus! The town of Metsovo is a very pleasant place to spend a few days. Nice, quiet, laid-back atmosphere - highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank jh1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metsovo hotels
0.1 mi away
Aroma Dryos Eco & Design Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grand Forest Metsovo
Grand Forest Metsovo
#3 of 15 in Metsovo
420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katogi Averoff Hotel & Winery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#5 of 15 in Metsovo
91 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Munte
La Munte
#11 of 15 in Metsovo
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asteri Metsovo Hotel S.A.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archontiko Metsovou Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archontiko Metsovou Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Basilis Zaousi | Central Square, Metsovo 442 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Metsovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Metsovo
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archontiko Metsovou Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archontiko Metsovou hotel is a beautiful, recently built mansion, in the heart of Metsovo with the ambition of winning your hearts because we have put our love and effort in order to satisfy your elegant, pure personal taste and choice. Stone, wood, traditional colors and luxury are the components that bring together the local traditions and the present technology, highlighting the best of our local jewel. Knowing the past has helped us show the grandeur of the stone arch, the fireplace, the wooden ceiling, the bed, the turkish bath and the hydro massage (Jacuzzi). We refused to leave even the smallest detail in luck, because for us quality and elegant brand name choices is what you really deserve... Nothing less! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Archontiko Metsovou Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing