We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
25
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reindeer herd cross country skiing frozen river an amazing experience unique opportunity climate change other guests aurora borealis once in a lifetime northern lights sami culture conversation camp tents challenges land
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2023

Definitely for those who would love a rare cultural and nature experiences taking in the winter beauty north of the Arctic Circle and learning about the Sami culture, the indigenous reindeer herders. As part of a small group tour, we spent 2 nights with Lennart, the friendly and knowledgeable host, enjoying cross-country skiing, taking a sauna and rolling in the snow (naked of course!), snowshoeing, and winding down our day talking and laughing in the welcoming main cabin. The food was excellent and we were able to sample a variety of Sami dishes. There was plenty of time to relax in your Laavu enjoying the quiet time in front of a fire stove. All the comforts we needed, but in an isolated area. The Aurora Borealis was on display and we were treated to it early in the evening as it made an arc over us seeing we were so far north. This is a don't miss trip for adventurous people!

Room tip: Upgrade to a room with a "Cinderella" toilet ensuite.
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryeisenbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lennart Pittja, General Manager at Sapmi Nature, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2023

Thank you Terry for your stay - it was so nice to host you here and I am really happy for meeting you and get to show you a little bit of Sapmi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2023

Staying at Lennart's Sapmi Nature Camp during winter is an absolute MUST. Firstly to learn about authentic Sami food, culture, language, music, and their deep connection with land, seasons and the reindeer lifecycle - minus the touristy traps and fake stereotypes. All this on the traditional winter reindeer grazing grounds of the indigenous Sapmi people, complete with magical snow covered forests drenched in moonlight, frozen lakes to ski across and aurora lights dancing in the midnight sky. Lennart prepared for us a couple of awesome meals and desserts, and he tries to manage Sapmi Nature Camp with as small ecological impact as possible. The tents are warm and surprisingly spacious inside. We learned so much from Lennart about how climate change, resource exploitation and political hypocrisy from Stockholm is drastically damaging the Sami way of life, and risks wiping them out entirely as the only indigenous peoples of Europe. On so many levels, this site is an experience for a lifetime.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 558nanometres
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lennart Pittja, Owner at Sapmi Nature, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2023

Len, I am so happy to have met you and for your stay at Sapmi Nature Camp. Thank you for your warm words about your experience here and I sincerely hope to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2022

We had an amazing experience staying at the Sápmi Nature Camp! This is definitely full-service glamping, but with the additional benefit of sustainable tourism and the chance to understand Sami culture and past and present challenges. Our tent(lávvu) had a very large comfortable bed and a wood burning stove. It was an incredibly comfortable experience and we loved lighting the fire in the morning and nights and just sitting there together. We were always toasty warm! An additional treat is the wood sauna, with its beautiful views on the edge of the snow-covered river, I doubt any sauna will ever come close to this wonderful experience.

Lennart is an incredible chef, and he provided three fabulous meals every day. The meals included fish, moose or reindeer, all caught and prepared by Lennart. Meals were cooked and eaten in the log cabin, all very cozy along with fascinating conversation with Lennart and other guests. We enjoyed sunset walks along the frozen river and a visit to Stora Sjofallet national park with incredible views where we were lucky enough to see a moose mother and calf on the lake. We had an unbelievable experience spending time with a local reindeer herd and listening to the challenges of reindeer herding in modern days and the impact of climate change. It was a magical experience just to stand and watch the reindeer, as well as listen to the musical sound their hooves made in the snow.

I can’t recommend staying with Lennart at his beautiful camp enough. The location is breathtakingly beautiful and Lennart is a wonderful person – taking great care of his guests while also educating us on Sami culture. We would love to return and will never forget our amazing experience.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AdventureGirlTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lennart Pittja, General Manager at Sapmi Nature, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Thank you, thank you - I am delighted to read your beautiful words about your stay here. I am honored to have met you and spent a couple of days together with you here in Sápmi! Hope to meet again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2022 via mobile

We spent an excellent couple of nights here as part of a small group escorted tour. Lennart, our host, was very friendly, informative and welcoming. He cooked us some excellent meals and talked to us about the Sami community, their lifestyle and culture. He gave us very clear instructions on how we were to light our stoves in the lavvus (tents), use of the toilet facilities and the sauna. We always felt relaxed, warm and comfortable in the tents and in lennart’s cabin where we shared our lovely candlelit meals with the other guests. The beds in the tents were super comfortable with a big thick duvet and sleeping bags. We were allowed to use skis and snowshoes - Lennart led us on a ski trip one morning across the frozen lake/river into the woods on the far side and back again.
This was a wonderful experience and I am so glad we came.

Room tip: Remember to have the right clothing for the temperature.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paradise19103227238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lennart Pittja, General Manager at Sapmi Nature, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2022

I am as glad as you are that you came - thank you for a great meeting and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as I enjoyed to host you here in Sápmi! All the best, Lennart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2022 via mobile

At Sápmi Nature we became immersed in the Sami culture and their way of life. We slept in a platform tent (lavvu), fed reindeer, photographed moose, skied on a frozen river, relaxed in a sauna, and experienced the wonder of the aurora borealis. However, meeting Lennart Pittja, the founder of the camp, was the highlight. Lennart is Sami and he wants his guests to understand Sami history, lifestyle, and challenges. For four days and three nights we had an immersion course, appreciating the lifetime skills and ingenuity of Sami. The authenticity of Lennart and his drive to share his story made this experience once in a lifetime. Lennart promotes environmental sustainability. He was our master chef with unique dishes such as reindeer soup, moose fillets, chocolate cake with cloudberries and cream. My husband and I, along with just four other guests and Lennart had nightly conversations and exchanged our world views. I would recommend this beautiful place and this unique opportunity to anyone.

Travel has been part of my life for 40 years and in that time I have learned what defines meaningful travel for me. It is the opportunity to meet people in the host country and share mutual experiences of life with them. It creates lasting relationships that extend far beyond the actual trip. This is the ultimate thrill of travel.

Room tip: Bring warm clothes in winter!
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank H2OAlgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lennart Pittja, General Manager at Sapmi Nature, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2022

It was an honor to host you here in Sápmi and I am so happy for meeting you! It makes me happy and proud to take part in your travel to the North and I so grateful for such nice words about your stay. Being a host for people like you is the best - hope to meet again one day! All the best, Lennart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews