We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the best hotel in gallivare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Lapland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Hotel Lapland
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gallivare
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“by far the best hotel in gallivare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

the hotel just across the train station. very convinient. its also accros the tourist information. its inside city centre...you can walk exploring the city centre within minutes. the room is ok, great nice bed , very clean, the bathroom is small but clean. the heating is great and the housekeeping clean up everyday. they have restaurant with great food.breakfast excellent.staff great. i stay for 2 weeks there and overall happy with room and great food there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
34
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

A short run across the street in pouring rain from the train station. Used the Hotel as a base to transfer between Abisko National Park and a ride south on the Inlandsbanen, so a somewhat rushed visit. Friendly reception gave me a lovely rennovated room on the fourth floor -- the downsde being that the lift was broken. I survived and the large beautifully equipped room was a reward for the climb. Felt a bit out of place in the otherwise small and nondescript mining town. Excellent wifi. Good early breakfast in a vast dining room. Rather pricey but the rennovated rooms are probably worth it.

Room Tip: Beg, plead or steal for a rennovated room...they must be the nicest in northern Sweden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for one night in September 2011. The whole town of Gällivare seemed to be very quiet, we hardly saw any people there, apart from in the evening in the bar when some people came to listen to a troubadour in the hotel's nice bar, where our party also enjoyed a good and tasty meal which was worth it's price. The hotel seems to have an older and a newer side. My room was on the newer side, and the room was flawless - clean, roomy enough, and with a very comfortable bed, a big flatscreen tv and a good bathroom. The breakfast tasted good and offered plenty to choose from. Overall, I had a good stay, but still it's difficult to pinpoint why I wasn't that impressed. It may have to do with the aura of the hotel and the somewhat shabby entrance and the older side of the hotel - it was a bit sad somehow. But if you get a room on the newer side you don't have to worry about anything.

Room Tip: Get a room on the "new" side of the hotel - 4-digit room numbers starting with "2&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starkjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Friendly place in the center of town.
Big breakfast, nothing out of the ordinary
comfy bed, clean rooms
reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylvalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was the end of the line for Inlandsbanan and you kind will wish it wasn't. The hotel is opposite the train station and as the town is tiny is in a good location. Our room was clean, comfy but overlooked a well used car park. There is a sauna on the top floor that has a large window so you sweat away while admiring the train station.

There is an expensive bar/restaurant which is in the hotel but not part of it. We found this out when the bar closed at 11pm and we could not get another drink. They should have told us that is was last orders, but hey ho. The computer advertised in the room info was not there for use. The hotel is up for a refurb and the images of the new hotel look amazing.

We arrived after July 31st when the midnight sun ends so there was little attractions to see. We were not interested in seeing a working mine so walked the Culture Walk. I cannot remember anything except finding a nice cafe called Nyfiken. There is a museem in the same building as the Tourist Information. My favourite bit was the mozzie section- 48 varieties in Sweden so bring plenty of spray. If I had known what it was going to be like in Gallivare after 31st July I would have left the next day or gone to Norway for the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smultronpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

A good clean hotel with excellent staff. I stay here regularly, and recommend. There are onnly 3 real hotels in Gallivare and this is the pick of the 3.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mjolby, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Grand Hotel Lapland is a very nice hotel as such. The rooms are nice and clean, especially those facing the mountain Dundret. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
What bugs me though is the restaurant/pub. Have stayed several times at the hotel and the staff in the restaurant/pub has always given me a bit of attitude. The service is slow and poor. To be honest the food is not that great either and it is rather expensive as well.
So for dinner, go somewhere else.
But again, from a hotel perspective the Grand Hotel Lapland is very nice, just skip the restaurant/pub and you will be fine.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gallivare hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Gallivare
Scandic Gallivare
#2 of 4 in Gallivare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dundret Sweden AB
Dundret Sweden AB
#3 of 4 in Gallivare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gallivare B&B
Gallivare B&B
#1 of 4 in Gallivare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Skogshotell
Skogshotell
#3 of 4 in Gallivare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
27.8 mi away
Lappeasuando
Lappeasuando
#1 of 8 in Gallivare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
19.6 mi away
Snowtrail Dogcamp AB
Snowtrail Dogcamp AB
#5 of 8 in Gallivare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Lapland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Lapland

Property: Quality Hotel Lapland
Address: 1 Lasarettsgatan, Gallivare 982 31, Sweden (Formerly Quality Hotel Lapland)
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Gallivare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gallivare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Lapland 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome at our newly renovated Quality Hotel and Resort, Lapland - located in the center of Gallivare (above the Arctic Circle in northern Sweden) - just minutes from the train station and Tourist information office. Treat yourself, family and friends to Breathe the fresh air, experience the unique northern lights in winter-time and the magical midnight sun from early June to mid-July. We proudly present our newly renovated and expanded resort hotel offering many wonderful facilities under the one roof. The stunning views of the Beautiful Dundret mountain, with it's unrivaled winter sports facilities, offers amazing downhill and cross country skiing from early November to late April - in the summer months the West peak of this spectacular mountain can be accessed by car or foot with the reward of seeing an 11th of Sweden's surface. As our hotel guest you have unlimited access to our new 300 square meter gym, equipped with it's state of the art innovative fitness Machines, women's and men's saunas and relaxing wellnes facilities - all combined with the treathtaking panoramic views over Dundret. Why not have fun and try out one of our new bowling lanes that are unique to the Nordic Choice Hotels in Sweden? Book a table and enjoy our popular grill menu in our very own restaurant Steakhouse with it's open kitchen. We have a cozy cafe-bar, serving a wide range of products baked in our in-house bakery with outdoor seating on the terrace area in the summer months. During the summer of 2015, we will premiering our new rooftop/outdoor swimming pool in combination with saunas and barbecues with magnificent views of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Lapland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing