We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure at Hilly Cow!”
Review of Hilly Cow Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirknewton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilly Cow Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Adventure at Hilly Cow!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Despite the weather being horrible and the wettest day of the week, it didn't dampen our spirits and first experience of wigwamming! Stayed for 1 night with two excited girls, one who was celebrating her 7th birthday and a 22 month wee boy. We had lovely warm welcome when we arrived and were delighted with our ensuite wigwam. The space inside was great and easily accommodated us all. It didn't take long for the Wigwam to heat up and the added touch of the Fairy Lights made the atmosphere. The girls played out in the play park (in the pouring rain) before heading inside to the games room to let off a bit of steam running about.

Before tea, we were given a tour of the farm and the girls got to hold lambs,and all three of them got their pictures taken in the tractor followed by the tyre swing over the road.

There is a fantastic shower block and purpose built kitchen/dining room if you fancy cooking - on the other hand all the local takeways will deliver to the farm.

With the wind and rain whipping around we were very cosy and snug in the wigwam all night. The next day we were greeted by better weather, albeit still cold. By 0720 the girls were outside playing again (luckily we were the only residents). The had great fun playing with Misty the dog and the farm cat.

We had a great stay and our hosts - the Barr Family were outstanding and made us feel very welcomed. We will definitely be back again, hopefully with a bit of sunshine to use the BBQ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at Hilly Cow Wigwams, our first wigwam experience. Myself and the boys had a great time. The wigwam was surprisingly spacious - we opted for the ensuite for a little extra. The wigwam had 4 berths comprising a large double and a pull out double, which I asked for sleeping bags for to save on space in my car, but you could have easily brought your own. Plenty of space under beds and in shelving area around fridge for storage of bags, food etc. Fridge was small but we put our juices/water etc outside on spacious decking area and it was perfectly chilled! Wigwam itself was warm and cosy - had to turn heating off and open windows a few times! The thin padded mattresses were extremely comfortable, so much so I went to bed when it was dark, thinking it was 11 and the kids laughed at me as it was only ten past nine! That'll be the fresh air.
The amenity block and kitchen area were spotless, and had everything we needed (apart from a tin opener, but we left one :) ) The boys appreciated the pool/air hockey table, which kept them busy for a wee while and off the tv/xbox that we had brought with us!
Fresh eggs were a bonus in the mornings.
Lesley and Stuart were around checking on you, in between working a busy farm, but nothing was too much trouble for them. They kept everything very clean, considering you were on a working farm! Misty the dog was a constant visitor in our wigwam, bringing stone presents for our lab, the pair of them had great fun together.
We found that once on the farm, we could have been anywhere, it felt remote but you were only a couple of miles or so from Livingston and any shops you would need, and a quick train journey into Edinburgh as well.
Would definitely recommend Hilly Cow Wigwams for a break, and hope to go back soon. Lesley's recommendation was Edinburgh Festival time, just leave a wigwam for us! x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family of 3 - 2 adults and a 12 year old.
Easy to find 2.5 miles south of kirknewton. We arrived early but Lesley had no problem in checking us in early'ish. We opted for the ensuite wigwam which comprised 2 single bed areas 1 double bed worktop with kettle small fridge & storage space. WC with sink. Small electric heater & ample sockets. The wigwam has a decking area facing north, a picnic table & wood burning area....unfortunately it was too windy to get a fire going & heat the marshmallows!!

The communal kitchen facility in the main block as well as the ladies/gents shower/toilets are excellent although the showers were running cold....or maybe it was just me that was cold....anyway immaculate facilities.

Our visit was spoilt by the biting cold easterly wind so it would be nice to return in the warmer weather. Good walking/biking terrain nearby & we would recommend the Black Bull pub in Mid Calder (approx 4 miles) for good food & a beer.

We hope to return but would probably opt for the ensuite wigwam with table/chairs which sleeps 3 as opposed to the ensuite which sleeps 4.

We missed the farm tour so unable to comment.

In summary - clean tidy excellent value friendly but despite it being April...it was too chilly with the biting cold windchill on the top of the Hill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onemanjazzband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed one night as part of a group for a surprise outdoor birthday "party" and it was excellent.

Family very welcoming and great to deal with, farm tour fantastic even for us big kids (26-30y/olds!) wigwams were warm and comfortable with fridges and separate toilet / shower facilities and a very clean, modern kitchen.

Games room was a bit of a let down with some broken stuff i.e. darts and pool cues but really can't mark down for that.

Although you are only 10 minutes from Livingston and Edinburgh you could literally be anywhere. Great for getting the BBQ out (supplied) and having a few beers round the fire pits at night.

Hugely impressed and can also see these would be a massive massive hit with kids or as a "base" for mountain biking etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevencarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The darts are an ongoing problem which we are constantly renewing we will try to have them sorted for your next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is simply one of the best locations to go glamping!
We arrived to find such a warm welcome from the family. They had arranged for wood to be out for our fire pit, sleeping bags in our wigwam and cakes for our arrival.
I was a bit worried as it was snowing but it was still easy to get in and out of the site. The wigwam even had a heater so no worries about getting cold.

After hanging out in the plush kitchen building and investigating the games room we headed back to our wigwam to start our fire. The fire pits are just a couple of meters from your front door and we sat out roasting marshmallows enjoying the breath taking view.

We had such an amazing night, I can not recommend it highly enough! Also apparently you can get fairy lights set on your wigwam, chocolates on arrival, do activities or glass painting while you are there. I am planning on coming back with all the girls soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a 5* Wigwam site. Kids had an amazing time esp due to the owners dog misty and cat Oreo which kept them very entertained. Owners Stewart & Lesley were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for then. Toilet and shower facilities were immaculate. So clean for showering our kids. Kitchen facilities were very modern, spacious and again immaculate. Highly reccomend! Can't wait to return as such a relaxing place. Kids able to enjoy looking at the farm animals. Even got fresh eggs in the morn. Park is excellent as can be seen from most of tge wigwams. Great location for visiting Almond Valley or the Almondsle Outlet. Fantastic cant reccomend Hilly Cows Wigwans enough!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SorrentoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Amazing, clean,cosy and well appointed. Great peaceful location. Five stars. The hosts make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. A friend and I stayed overnight, had a large fire roaring in the fire pit - nice and toasty. The wigwam was warm and comfortable too. The whole place was so clean, fresh and very comfortable. I loved hilly cow wigwams and shall return. A great place to lose yourself in poetry and the stillness of the countryside.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Manager at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Hilly Cow Wigwams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
2.9 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
521 reviews
5.3 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
3.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
A Room in the Country
A Room in the Country
#1 of 3 in Kirknewton
25 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bridge Inn at Ratho
The Bridge Inn at Ratho
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
742 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Riccarton inn
The Riccarton inn
#160 of 392 in Edinburgh
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilly Cow Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilly Cow Wigwams

Property: Hilly Cow Wigwams
Address: Leyden Farm | Leyden Road, Kirknewton EH27 8DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four heated wooden wigwams set in beautiful countryside on our working farm. We have a brand new kitchen dinner, shower and toilet block, play area, and games room. Campfires are allowed and we have BBQ's to hire. As well as seeing our hens, pigs, lambs and cows,there are many walks and cycle routes, not to mention all the local attractions of Edinburgh and West Lothian. So why not come glamping! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilly Cow Wigwams Kirknewton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing