We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”
Review of Hilly Cow Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirknewton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilly Cow Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on Easter Sunday as a special treat for the kids.We stayed in the Bertie Bull wigwam which was very clean and warm considering it was so cold that weekend with thick snow still lying outside.The owners were lovely and helpful and the owners daughter took our kids around the farm to see the farm animals which they loved.The kids enjoyed the park and enjoyed the sledges which had been left out for the campers to use.Kitchen,toilets and showers were immaculate.Only wish they had wigwams that slept 6 as we only had our 3 kids that night because our oldest was away with friends overnight.As they only sleep 5 its a shame we can't really rebook unless he is away visiting again so if ever their is a wigwam made for 6 we would love to come to stay for longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bowmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My partner did this for my birthday in October so it was very cold but I loved it. The owners were very friendly and I loved it when the dogs came to greet us in the morning. It was quite cold but it soon heated over night but that is October for you. We had the option of a fire but it was not nice to be outside it would be great to go back in the summer time and I might make that trip up! The views were nice as you could see Edinburgh lights it was one of the best experiences I have had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wynterz_xD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Despite the weather being horrible and the wettest day of the week, it didn't dampen our spirits and first experience of wigwamming! Stayed for 1 night with two excited girls, one who was celebrating her 7th birthday and a 22 month wee boy. We had lovely warm welcome when we arrived and were delighted with our ensuite wigwam. The space inside was great and easily accommodated us all. It didn't take long for the Wigwam to heat up and the added touch of the Fairy Lights made the atmosphere. The girls played out in the play park (in the pouring rain) before heading inside to the games room to let off a bit of steam running about.

Before tea, we were given a tour of the farm and the girls got to hold lambs,and all three of them got their pictures taken in the tractor followed by the tyre swing over the road.

There is a fantastic shower block and purpose built kitchen/dining room if you fancy cooking - on the other hand all the local takeways will deliver to the farm.

With the wind and rain whipping around we were very cosy and snug in the wigwam all night. The next day we were greeted by better weather, albeit still cold. By 0720 the girls were outside playing again (luckily we were the only residents). The had great fun playing with Misty the dog and the farm cat.

We had a great stay and our hosts - the Barr Family were outstanding and made us feel very welcomed. We will definitely be back again, hopefully with a bit of sunshine to use the BBQ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at Hilly Cow Wigwams, our first wigwam experience. Myself and the boys had a great time. The wigwam was surprisingly spacious - we opted for the ensuite for a little extra. The wigwam had 4 berths comprising a large double and a pull out double, which I asked for sleeping bags for to save on space in my car, but you could have easily brought your own. Plenty of space under beds and in shelving area around fridge for storage of bags, food etc. Fridge was small but we put our juices/water etc outside on spacious decking area and it was perfectly chilled! Wigwam itself was warm and cosy - had to turn heating off and open windows a few times! The thin padded mattresses were extremely comfortable, so much so I went to bed when it was dark, thinking it was 11 and the kids laughed at me as it was only ten past nine! That'll be the fresh air.
The amenity block and kitchen area were spotless, and had everything we needed (apart from a tin opener, but we left one :) ) The boys appreciated the pool/air hockey table, which kept them busy for a wee while and off the tv/xbox that we had brought with us!
Fresh eggs were a bonus in the mornings.
Lesley and Stuart were around checking on you, in between working a busy farm, but nothing was too much trouble for them. They kept everything very clean, considering you were on a working farm! Misty the dog was a constant visitor in our wigwam, bringing stone presents for our lab, the pair of them had great fun together.
We found that once on the farm, we could have been anywhere, it felt remote but you were only a couple of miles or so from Livingston and any shops you would need, and a quick train journey into Edinburgh as well.
Would definitely recommend Hilly Cow Wigwams for a break, and hope to go back soon. Lesley's recommendation was Edinburgh Festival time, just leave a wigwam for us! x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We visited as a family of 3 - 2 adults and a 12 year old.
Easy to find 2.5 miles south of kirknewton. We arrived early but Lesley had no problem in checking us in early'ish. We opted for the ensuite wigwam which comprised 2 single bed areas 1 double bed worktop with kettle small fridge & storage space. WC with sink. Small electric heater & ample sockets. The wigwam has a decking area facing north, a picnic table & wood burning area....unfortunately it was too windy to get a fire going & heat the marshmallows!!

The communal kitchen facility in the main block as well as the ladies/gents shower/toilets are excellent although the showers were running cold....or maybe it was just me that was cold....anyway immaculate facilities.

Our visit was spoilt by the biting cold easterly wind so it would be nice to return in the warmer weather. Good walking/biking terrain nearby & we would recommend the Black Bull pub in Mid Calder (approx 4 miles) for good food & a beer.

We hope to return but would probably opt for the ensuite wigwam with table/chairs which sleeps 3 as opposed to the ensuite which sleeps 4.

We missed the farm tour so unable to comment.

In summary - clean tidy excellent value friendly but despite it being April...it was too chilly with the biting cold windchill on the top of the Hill.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onemanjazzband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed one night as part of a group for a surprise outdoor birthday "party" and it was excellent.

Family very welcoming and great to deal with, farm tour fantastic even for us big kids (26-30y/olds!) wigwams were warm and comfortable with fridges and separate toilet / shower facilities and a very clean, modern kitchen.

Games room was a bit of a let down with some broken stuff i.e. darts and pool cues but really can't mark down for that.

Although you are only 10 minutes from Livingston and Edinburgh you could literally be anywhere. Great for getting the BBQ out (supplied) and having a few beers round the fire pits at night.

Hugely impressed and can also see these would be a massive massive hit with kids or as a "base" for mountain biking etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevencarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The darts are an ongoing problem which we are constantly renewing we will try to have them sorted for your next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is simply one of the best locations to go glamping!
We arrived to find such a warm welcome from the family. They had arranged for wood to be out for our fire pit, sleeping bags in our wigwam and cakes for our arrival.
I was a bit worried as it was snowing but it was still easy to get in and out of the site. The wigwam even had a heater so no worries about getting cold.

After hanging out in the plush kitchen building and investigating the games room we headed back to our wigwam to start our fire. The fire pits are just a couple of meters from your front door and we sat out roasting marshmallows enjoying the breath taking view.

We had such an amazing night, I can not recommend it highly enough! Also apparently you can get fairy lights set on your wigwam, chocolates on arrival, do activities or glass painting while you are there. I am planning on coming back with all the girls soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
3.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.3 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
3.1 mi away
Bankton House Hotel
Bankton House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilly Cow Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilly Cow Wigwams

Property: Hilly Cow Wigwams
Address: Leyden Farm | Leyden Road, Kirknewton EH27 8DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four heated wooden wigwams set in beautiful countryside on our working farm. We have a brand new kitchen dinner, shower and toilet block, play area, and games room. Campfires are allowed and we have BBQ's to hire. As well as seeing our hens, pigs, lambs and cows,there are many walks and cycle routes, not to mention all the local attractions of Edinburgh and West Lothian. So why not come glamping! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilly Cow Wigwams Kirknewton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing