We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilly Cow Wigwams
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Livingston(Livingston)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
100
9
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
9
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomfairy lightsfire pitfarm toursmall fridgedecking areakitchen diningtoilet and sinktable tennisbig kidsshower arealambing seasonedinburgh waverleybreakfast basketelectric heaterbirthday celebrationone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We took our 4 year for a one night stay. We've only camped at festivals and never as a family. Wigwam was brilliant, so cosy we had to turn the heater off and the beds were really comfy. Only draw back was finding the farm. Please put the postcode on the website with maybe an additional instruction once sat nav has taken you as far as it can.
Neverthess, we'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for the lovely review. I am sorry you had problems finding us we do do have a find us map which gives step by step directions from your postcode on our website. Our postcode can be found here too. We are looking into signage tho to try to make the journey easier.
Thank you for you lovely comments and we look forward to seeing back at hilly cow wigwams in the future.
Best wishes
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A great little find. A beautiful view from our wigwam. The place was kept very clean. kitchen was well stocked with equipment. The showers were warm and clean.

Our wigwam was on the end and it was very dark to get to the loos. Bring a torch in case you are in this end wigwam. The other wigwams wouldn't be as dark and have a better/clearer path.

Very easy access to Edinburgh via Kirknewton train station or various park and rides. We went to Glasgow on the train instead and that was easy too. It took about an hour and cost about £10 return.

Very quiet surroundings and some lovely walks. The owner was very bubbly and clearly loves her work.

The games room could be improved but the little park is great for kids. They can also see sheep, cows, pigs, a horse etc on the farm.

We took far too much stuff. It's not like ordinary camping. It's definitely 'glamping'.

Room Tip: I would choose a pod/wigwam in the middle if possible. These have better lighting to the toilets and a better path.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review of hilly cow wigwams. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking at improving our solar lights to the furthest away wigwams and we are also planing on up grading the barn/games room building. Hopefully next time you come you will see a new roof to the games room and a few new games inside.
We look forward to seeing you again at hilly cow wigwams.
Best wishes Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent one night in the Wigwam, unfortunately we were unable to stay for longer due to popularity, it was fully booked!
It was spotlessly clean and very spacious, with a small fridge available for use in the room, it was great and was beyond expectations too.
The facilities that you have access to are amazing, a fully fitted spacious kitchen with plenty of room for dinning. As well as a barn available to use for games etc.
Unfortunately there was a minor problem with the boiler being unintentionally turned off, however the host family were very welcoming and were happy to fix the problem and were very helpful overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being understanding the hot water being switched off it shouldn't of happened but I am glad it didn't spoil your stay.
Best wishes
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We managed to book a night here which was kind of a last minute thing as my daughter was desperate to go camping and my wife will never sleep in a tent. Everything about this place is perfect! Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the family that run it are so friendly and helpful and the views are spectacular! We only stay about 20 minutes away in Bo'ness (lovely wee town to visit) so we will be making this a regular chill out break for the family. There was a nice atmosphere there and our fellow campers were all friendly. It is ideal for anyone wanting a quiet stay away, Edinburgh and Livingston are not too far away and I am sure you can get the train from Kirknewton to Edinburgh and Glasgow. I think it was 'Bertie Bulls' wigwam we stayed in, it was comfortable, warm and had plenty of space. There is a communal kitchen with everything you need or you can get deliveries from local take aways. There is also a room where you can play pool, air hockey or board games etc. The play park is great for the kids (and I would have had a shot on it myself if I would have got away with it) Our wee one liked feeding the pigs and the nice friendly horse that are on the farm. There are chickens on the farm also where you could get fresh eggs. I wish we could have stayed longer but we will be returning soon, looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review we look forward to you return to hilly cow wigwams.
Best wishes
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from a stay at HillyCow Wigwams, what a fabulous place. The wigwam was nice and clean on our arrival and Lesley was on hand to welcome us there and also gave us some great tips. All the facilities were spotless and cleaned regularly. The views are stunning. Great to sit out and look at (when the rain stopped). The beds were so comfy, a great welcome after a day walking round the Edinburgh.... Our daughter loved feeding the animals and playing in the little park on site. We always felt she was safe and didn't have to worry about her. All in all it is a great place with very good facilities. Would highly recommend this place to everyone. Can't wait to go back up with the hubby later on!!!!! This place is well deserving the five stars it has.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Jo-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review we look forward to you return to hilly cow wigwams.
Best wishes
Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews