We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilly Cow Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirknewton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilly Cow Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have just visited hilly cow for my first time. It will def not be my last! It is beautiful, wigwams lovely. Biggest surprise was the toilets, showers and kitchen area. Web site does not do it justice. It is beautiful. The kids loved playing in the park and games room. Owners are lovely and so welcoming. Thanks Lesley, We will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AP71127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely having you and your friends to stay we look forward to your return .
Best wishes
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a great 4 nights here. 5 mins to train station and straight into Edinburgh Waverley. Lovely kitchen and shower area, plenty hot water and nice and cosy!!! Fresh eggs for breakfast!!! And a couple of geocaches to be grabbed close by. What more could we ask for!!! Thanks for everything!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcK386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We have now done a few geocaches locally. We hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morpeth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Glamping!!. Great place. cute accommodation. clean tidy facilities. kitchen area good. all that you need. showers clean and tidy. plenty wood for fire pit. a good experience. wigwams are lovely. just what you need. and prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmorpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at hilly cow wigwams soon.
Best wishes
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We took our 4 year for a one night stay. We've only camped at festivals and never as a family. Wigwam was brilliant, so cosy we had to turn the heater off and the beds were really comfy. Only draw back was finding the farm. Please put the postcode on the website with maybe an additional instruction once sat nav has taken you as far as it can.
Neverthess, we'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for the lovely review. I am sorry you had problems finding us we do do have a find us map which gives step by step directions from your postcode on our website. Our postcode can be found here too. We are looking into signage tho to try to make the journey easier.
Thank you for you lovely comments and we look forward to seeing back at hilly cow wigwams in the future.
Best wishes
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A great little find. A beautiful view from our wigwam. The place was kept very clean. kitchen was well stocked with equipment. The showers were warm and clean.

Our wigwam was on the end and it was very dark to get to the loos. Bring a torch in case you are in this end wigwam. The other wigwams wouldn't be as dark and have a better/clearer path.

Very easy access to Edinburgh via Kirknewton train station or various park and rides. We went to Glasgow on the train instead and that was easy too. It took about an hour and cost about £10 return.

Very quiet surroundings and some lovely walks. The owner was very bubbly and clearly loves her work.

The games room could be improved but the little park is great for kids. They can also see sheep, cows, pigs, a horse etc on the farm.

We took far too much stuff. It's not like ordinary camping. It's definitely 'glamping'.

Room Tip: I would choose a pod/wigwam in the middle if possible. These have better lighting to the toilets and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of hilly cow wigwams. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking at improving our solar lights to the furthest away wigwams and we are also planing on up grading the barn/games room building. Hopefully next time you come you will see a new roof to the games room and a few new games inside.
We look forward to seeing you again at hilly cow wigwams.
Best wishes Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent one night in the Wigwam, unfortunately we were unable to stay for longer due to popularity, it was fully booked!
It was spotlessly clean and very spacious, with a small fridge available for use in the room, it was great and was beyond expectations too.
The facilities that you have access to are amazing, a fully fitted spacious kitchen with plenty of room for dinning. As well as a barn available to use for games etc.
Unfortunately there was a minor problem with the boiler being unintentionally turned off, however the host family were very welcoming and were happy to fix the problem and were very helpful overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being understanding the hot water being switched off it shouldn't of happened but I am glad it didn't spoil your stay.
Best wishes
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We managed to book a night here which was kind of a last minute thing as my daughter was desperate to go camping and my wife will never sleep in a tent. Everything about this place is perfect! Everywhere was spotlessly clean, the family that run it are so friendly and helpful and the views are spectacular! We only stay about 20 minutes away in Bo'ness (lovely wee town to visit) so we will be making this a regular chill out break for the family. There was a nice atmosphere there and our fellow campers were all friendly. It is ideal for anyone wanting a quiet stay away, Edinburgh and Livingston are not too far away and I am sure you can get the train from Kirknewton to Edinburgh and Glasgow. I think it was 'Bertie Bulls' wigwam we stayed in, it was comfortable, warm and had plenty of space. There is a communal kitchen with everything you need or you can get deliveries from local take aways. There is also a room where you can play pool, air hockey or board games etc. The play park is great for the kids (and I would have had a shot on it myself if I would have got away with it) Our wee one liked feeding the pigs and the nice friendly horse that are on the farm. There are chickens on the farm also where you could get fresh eggs. I wish we could have stayed longer but we will be returning soon, looking forward to it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for the lovely review we look forward to you return to hilly cow wigwams.
Best wishes
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
3.5 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
1.1 mi away
A Room in the Country
A Room in the Country
#1 of 3 in Kirknewton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilly Cow Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilly Cow Wigwams

Property: Hilly Cow Wigwams
Address: Leyden Farm | Leyden Road, Kirknewton EH27 8DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four heated wooden wigwams set in beautiful countryside on our working farm. We have a brand new kitchen dinner, shower and toilet block, play area, and games room. Campfires are allowed and we have BBQ's to hire. As well as seeing our hens, pigs, lambs and cows,there are many walks and cycle routes, not to mention all the local attractions of Edinburgh and West Lothian. So why not come glamping! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilly Cow Wigwams Kirknewton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing