We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay”
Review of Hilly Cow Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirknewton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilly Cow Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited in April 2014 for 2 nights. Everything you need for fuss free camping is included- kitchen with a full range of appliances and utensils. Close enough to Edinburgh City Centre via car (we used Igliston park & ride to visit Edinburgh Castle). Very clean and well kept. Our little girl was invited to see the lambs on the farm which she loved!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you had a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you all back to Hilly Cow Wigwams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Myself and a group of friends stayed in April. The owners were very friendly and took the time to show us around the farm and to hold the new lambs! I have stayed in quite a few wig wams and this was my favourite site so far. Beautiful views, excellent shower and bathroom facilities and the kitchen is perfect if you don't want to cook outdoors!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review , we would love to see you back at Hilly cow sometime soon.
Spring is definitely just round the corner we the ewes about to lamb and the snow drops flowering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very nice farm, great wingwams.
The coffee shop serves excellent breakfasts at different range of price. All the facilities are clean.
People are happy to help you, we had a short but really stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zannabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you had a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you all back to Hilly Cow Wigwams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The wigwams where extremely nice to look at and the inside was even better. It was very cosy and surprisingly spacious, the beds are very comfy and not far Away from places like shopping centre, restaurants ect. It was a fantastic stay. The view was amazing and the only thing that let it down was the horrible weather which we expected anyway as it was december! The kitchen, showers and toilets where immaculate and i would even say that staying in a wigwam without an ensuite would be fine as the toilets are so near. Overall it is a really great holiday and my boyfriend and i will hopefully be returning in summer time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlinricexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights en route to Shetland. Lovely wigwams even with a toilet inside! Not seen that before! Quiet site but good facilities, nicest bathrooms I've ever seen on a campsite, great kitchen and games room. Good location for walking, recommend bridge inn at ratho to eat. Staff very attentive and friendly. Only negative was the free roaming dogs who got a bit annoying at times, especially the frisky little one constantly on the leg of one of the bigger ones. And they kept trying to get inside our wigwam. Other than that, all good!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your five star review. I am sorry the dogs here and visiting spoiled your stay in anyway , we will/do try to manage our own and visiting pets as much as possible. We hope you will visit again.
Best wishes
Lesley barr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

These wigwams are in a great location to get a train into Edinburgh which is only 20 min away so not far from the action! There is only a small group of wigwams on this farm but they are in such a lovely environment the views are amazing. We stayed in the en-suite wigwam so had the bonus of toilet and sink which was great for the kids but the shower room was very clean and also near by the kitchen was well equipped and nicely decorated, the farm also had a games room which kept the kids happy for hours this was only after they finished in the on site park overall one of the best wigwam stays we have had thanks the Walls family :-)

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your five star review., we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hilly cow wigwams and would love to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Lesley barr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at Hillycow wigwams for the second time this year with my girlfriend. Was fantastic as always warm welcome from Leslie. Immaculate wigwams and Facilities. Cute little notes for eggs etc. She helped me sort another trip out with no problem, hesitation or hassle. Me and my girlfriend lit some candles when it got dark and had a microwave meal looking down the hill and over the city lights below with some wine and treats. The family do not pester you they just let you enjoy your trip. For people that are constantly on your phone i would recommend switching it off. I'm glad me and my girlfriend came here although the weather was bad our wigwam was cosy due to having our own heated wigwam but more importantly there was no phones, no computers, no television or radio just quality time to appreciate the girl i love.

Room Tip: they do en-suites but the facilities are that good i wouldnt mind not getting one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalehattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely review it is one of our favorites. I am glad you had a good time and hope you managed to get all your Christmas shopping done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
2.9 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#4 of 4 in Livingston
534 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
1.3 mi away
A Room in the Country
A Room in the Country
#1 of 3 in Kirknewton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Glampotel Dundas Castle
Glampotel Dundas Castle
#58 of 213 in Edinburgh
9 reviews
1.7 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#2 of 3 in Kirknewton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilly Cow Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilly Cow Wigwams

Property: Hilly Cow Wigwams
Address: Leyden Farm | Leyden Road, Kirknewton EH27 8DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four heated wooden wigwams set in beautiful countryside on our working farm. We have a brand new kitchen dinner, shower and toilet block, play area, and games room. Campfires are allowed and we have BBQ's to hire. As well as seeing our hens, pigs, lambs and cows,there are many walks and cycle routes, not to mention all the local attractions of Edinburgh and West Lothian. So why not come glamping! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilly Cow Wigwams Kirknewton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing