We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll definitely be back!”
Review of Hilly Cow Wigwams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirknewton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilly Cow Wigwams
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We'll definitely be back!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We're just back from our first visit to Hilly Cow Wigwams and we'll definitely book again. We had booked four of the six wigwams with friends and family and the kids (aged 10 months to 7 years) had a ball! Great facilities, very clean and Lesley and Stuart very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend to anyone with children.

Room Tip: It was helpful having an en-suite wigwam as our 4 year old visits the loo in the night, but the amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcome you all back to Hilly cow wigwams soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just home from our first stay in a wigwam. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Our wigwam had an ensuite toilet but as others have said all the wigwams are close to the bathrooms so even if you hadn't booked an ensuite wigwam it wouldn't have mattered. The bathroom was lovely, nicer than I have seen on any campsite with great power showers. The only slight negative would be that there is no temperature control on the showers and they were a bit hot for the children.
The facilities are great, a lovely outdoor play area as well as an indoor lounge \ games room with a small pool table that is an air hockey game on the other side, giant jenga, DVD player (bring your own DVD's) as well as a few other games \ toys.
Leslie was very friendly but not in any way intrusive. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We have now put some U and PG rated DVD 's in the Games room and will look at the water temp, it is something we do monitor. We hope see welcome you back to Hilly cow wigwams soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited in April 2014 for 2 nights. Everything you need for fuss free camping is included- kitchen with a full range of appliances and utensils. Close enough to Edinburgh City Centre via car (we used Igliston park & ride to visit Edinburgh Castle). Very clean and well kept. Our little girl was invited to see the lambs on the farm which she loved!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you had a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you all back to Hilly Cow Wigwams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Myself and a group of friends stayed in April. The owners were very friendly and took the time to show us around the farm and to hold the new lambs! I have stayed in quite a few wig wams and this was my favourite site so far. Beautiful views, excellent shower and bathroom facilities and the kitchen is perfect if you don't want to cook outdoors!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review , we would love to see you back at Hilly cow sometime soon.
Spring is definitely just round the corner we the ewes about to lamb and the snow drops flowering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very nice farm, great wingwams.
The coffee shop serves excellent breakfasts at different range of price. All the facilities are clean.
People are happy to help you, we had a short but really stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zannabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you had a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you all back to Hilly Cow Wigwams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The wigwams where extremely nice to look at and the inside was even better. It was very cosy and surprisingly spacious, the beds are very comfy and not far Away from places like shopping centre, restaurants ect. It was a fantastic stay. The view was amazing and the only thing that let it down was the horrible weather which we expected anyway as it was december! The kitchen, showers and toilets where immaculate and i would even say that staying in a wigwam without an ensuite would be fine as the toilets are so near. Overall it is a really great holiday and my boyfriend and i will hopefully be returning in summer time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlinricexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights en route to Shetland. Lovely wigwams even with a toilet inside! Not seen that before! Quiet site but good facilities, nicest bathrooms I've ever seen on a campsite, great kitchen and games room. Good location for walking, recommend bridge inn at ratho to eat. Staff very attentive and friendly. Only negative was the free roaming dogs who got a bit annoying at times, especially the frisky little one constantly on the leg of one of the bigger ones. And they kept trying to get inside our wigwam. Other than that, all good!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, Owner at Hilly Cow Wigwams, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your five star review. I am sorry the dogs here and visiting spoiled your stay in anyway , we will/do try to manage our own and visiting pets as much as possible. We hope you will visit again.
Best wishes
Lesley barr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
2.9 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
534 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
1.3 mi away
A Room in the Country
A Room in the Country
#1 of 3 in Kirknewton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Glampotel Dundas Castle
Glampotel Dundas Castle
#58 of 212 in Edinburgh
9 reviews
1.7 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#3 of 3 in Kirknewton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilly Cow Wigwams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilly Cow Wigwams

Property: Hilly Cow Wigwams
Address: Leyden Farm | Leyden Road, Kirknewton EH27 8DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four heated wooden wigwams set in beautiful countryside on our working farm. We have a brand new kitchen dinner, shower and toilet block, play area, and games room. Campfires are allowed and we have BBQ's to hire. As well as seeing our hens, pigs, lambs and cows,there are many walks and cycle routes, not to mention all the local attractions of Edinburgh and West Lothian. So why not come glamping! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilly Cow Wigwams Kirknewton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing