We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming house, friendly owners, good location”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 3 Kirknewton B&B and Inns
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming house, friendly owners, good location”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed at Highfield house for two weeks during some work in Edinburgh and I found the whole experience very enjoyable. The house is lovely and there is lots of parking, and with the train station close by and the A71 going straight into Edinburgh the location is ideal. I would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupraJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We had made a direct booking over the internet. Arrived early in the day to an empty house, went sightseeing and came back expecting someone to be home but alas no, no one was to be found.

Suggest if you are brave enough to continue with a booking you confirm several times to ensure that someone is there to greet you.

Found a very friendly establishment down the road "Glenalmond B & B" if you want to stay in this location.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyoncar, owner at Highfield House, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
I am sad about these reviews as in neither case was a final confirmed booking completed.. Our guests are most important to us and it is unfortunate that misunderstandings occur. In the previous review, an email offer was made and then the room was booked and confirmed by another guest telephoning. In this review no final confirmation had been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We spent our last night, September 22, 2006, at Highfield House in Kirknewton about 10 minutes from EDI airport. We were warmly greeted by Jill and her husband. We were shown to our rooms. The twin room was en suite and the double bed room had a bath across the hall which was not shared with anyone. Jill's husband did his best to help carry the luggage upstairs. The rooms were clean and bright; both Jill and her husband very friendly and helpful. Jill booked us at a pub for dinner and had directions written out. When we arrived back at the house, they had built a fire in the living room and had a table ready for us to play bridge....breakfast was delicious...we all ate well on this holiday! I would highly recommend staying here!

We toured the gardens in the morning..someone puts in a lot of work. They were lovely!
MMinteer Knoxville, TN

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — nothing was lacking
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirknewton
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,968 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Property: Highfield House
Address: Station Road, Kirknewton EH27 8BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Kirknewton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kirknewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Kirknewton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing