We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Andechs Monastery

Andechs Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$122.01*
and up
Small-Group eBike Day Tour to the Wieskirche and Andechs Abbey from Munich...
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at Andechs Monastery. Great beer & comfort food (pork knuckle is popular) was most welcome as it was snowy (beautiful) & cold outside. We took a taxi from the train station at Herrsching up to the Monastery. As it was a Sunday they buses were not running as often. TIP: if you plan to get the bus back to Herrsching station, check the timetable at the bus stop before walking up to the Monastery.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    254
    72
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The walk from Herrsching is stunning and you can reward yourself with 1 of the best german beers when you get to the top.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

WE took the scenic walk throught he forest to get to the monastery,what a lovely experience,so peaceful with birds chirping everywhere,once there we thoroughly enjoyed the typical German architecture and painting on the shutters and lovely painted sun dials against outside walls,and painted walls here and there,withn such lovely detail.But the best of all was inside the church,all I can say is WOW! THe paintings and gold work is absolutely out of this world! I just found myself waliking around aghast at the beauty<out of respect no photos were taken but oh how I wish I could have,as one cannot possibly describe the beauty.Please put this on your list if travelling the Munich area,it's a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
738 reviews
363 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Delicious pork meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stopped here on the way back to Munich from Neuschwanstein. The monastery has great simple food - we had the Wammerl (crispy pork belly) which was amazing, followed by cheese cake and apfel strudel. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Bavarian experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a favourite spot among the local people, especially during the time of Lent before Easter. The walk from the S-Bahn (Herrsching) is very beautiful and tranquil and as a reward you can enjoy the wonderful food and beer (Doppelbock) at the monastery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andechs Monastery also viewed

Starnberg, Upper Bavaria
Herrsching am Ammersee, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Andechs Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing