We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, good location for Andechs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel zur Post garni
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Andechs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

First point, be aware you cannot have an evening meal here - it is a (very good) bed and breakfast establishment. Eating options are Andechs Monastery (10 minute walk, closes at 20:00), or a drive to one of the nearest towns (Herrsching is a €11 taxi ride each way - assuming you want a drink). Rooms are very well appointed - we had room 12 which had a great bed, great bathroom and a dining table and chairs. Other rooms we saw had more comfortable chairs in them, which is a bonus if you want to sit in your room and relax/ read. Coffee was provided when we asked which was fantastic, maybe the rooms could have facilities for tea coffee added ? The staff were always very friendly and helpful. Others have commented on the great breakfast, we can only underline that - it is very good indeed and the coffee is lovely. All in all this is a perfect place to stay if you are visiting and eating at the monestary, within driving distance of Munich, not so good if you fancy eating at the hotel. We were charged €104 for the room and €6 per person for breakfast which is at the top end of the price range for a rural location.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Griso_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel zur Post garni
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

I agree with all the previous reviews, this hotel is flawless!
Rooms are big,well decorated, the bathroom, though not very big, has everything you might need!
Bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast room is not big so you might need to share your table with other people, that was not a problem for us!
Breakfast was very very good, maybe the best we had in Germany so far, an excellent choice of meats and cheese, fruit, breads, cakes...a good start!
Free parking and wifi!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed one night at Hotel zur Post garni on our travels from Munich to Innsbruck. It was very easy to find and parking was easily accessible on-site. We had a room on the top floor of the main house that was spacious and very clean. It appeared newly renovated with a large, comfortable bed, sitting area, eating area, fully outfitted kitchen with a small fridge (very convenient for the Andechs beer!) The bathroom was huge and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was the best variety and most tasteful of the 12 mornings spent in Germany and Austria. Very friendly service.

We slept with the windows open because the night air was so crisp and fresh. The church bells across the street tolled every 15 minutes all night long. We thought it would stop after midnight, but were mistaken.

It was an easy walk to Kloster Andechs (the purpose of our visit), we ate at the Kloster Biergarten where the Schweinshoxen and Kraut were delicious along with the must have Bier!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Amazing location, very lucky to find it and stay there, much more cheaper than staying in Munich, great landscape and beautiful surroundings (Kloster Andechs is a must, there is also a nice&good restaurant and also a beer cellar - a must to taste all six type of beer). Very nice places Andechs&Herrsching...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We were going to visit Kloster Andechs and on arrival decided that we didn't want to make the trip back to our hotel north of the Munich airport, so we stopped here... no rooms ! After driving around (no other hotels), we returned to ask for recommendations... a room became available !

Our room was a large family room in a separate building with a nice view of the deer... NOT the deer being served in the butcher shop !! (well, maybe). The room was very comfortable and while the toilet was not in the room, it was right out the door. No other guests were in the building so we had it to ourself. The breakfast was great with a lot of choices... almost too many!

Well worth the stay if you plan to visit the Kloster... and drink their beers !

Room Tip: We only saw the room in the not connected building and it was very nice and would be great for a fam...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Although almost impossible to find without a navigator , this hotel can be evaluated as a " hiden jewel" since it is very clean , quiet and reasonably priced.Owners are friendly and just 600 meters away there is a very nice restaurant ( which is the generally the hardest thing to find in small German towns).

Room Tip: try reservation from hotel.de for a nice suit!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is good. Spent three nights in this hotel in the end of August 2011. Breakfast is plentiful fresh and tasty. Staff is friendly but could hardly speak English. Hotel is family run and you feel like visiting friend's home. There is a wonderful surrounding there and you can sit outside staring at the low stars Bavarian sky. I would surely recommend this hotel but I kindly ask you not to go there so that hotel could still be quite, nice and friendly :-))

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andechs
1.8 mi away
Ammersee Hotel
Ammersee Hotel
#1 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Der Obere Wirt zum Queri
2.1 mi away
Hotel Seehof Herrsching
Hotel Seehof Herrsching
#4 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chalet am Kiental
Chalet am Kiental
#2 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#6 of 6 in Herrsching am Ammersee
34 reviews
7.5 mi away
Fischerhaus
Fischerhaus
#2 of 5 in Starnberg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel zur Post garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zur Post garni

Address: Starnberger Str. 2, 82346 Andechs, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Andechs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Andechs
Price Range: £66 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zur Post garni 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel zur Post garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing