We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little treasure”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chateauneuf-sur-Charente, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
62clairej
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little treasure ”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myself and my parents stayed at maison ruisseau for two weeks in July and after a hectic couple of months in work was the right place to recharge my batteries.
We were lucky enough to have two weeks of excellent weather and spent a lot of our time by the excellent pool.
The apartment has everything you could wish for and our hosts Ian and Val couldn't do enough for you.
Thank you Ian and Val for a lovely two weeks,hopefully see you next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a week here with our 4 adult children, their partners and friends. 12 of us in total. It was a fantastic venue to relax, swim, BBQ, play petanque and go for very pleasant strolls. The quality of the gites is of a high stasndard. The venue and surrounding area is beautiful. Ian and Val were gracious and friendly hosts. We had a wonderful time here and wished we had booked for longer. Hope to return next Summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you Mike, that was a lovely review and very kind of you.
We look forward to seeing all next year.
Kind regards
Ian, Val, Leanne and Ella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvaSheppa...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic getaway”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We sought a modern, well managed gite with a pool and a location close to vineyards as well as provincial towns for our 2 week holiday. Le Petit Maison offered just that. A good sized gite in pristine condition, fully equipped and perfect for a couple wanting a beautiful and tranquil setting. The property is located in the rural village of Chaudeil and the owners (Ian & Valerie) are both charming, incredibly helpful and happy to share ideas for sightseeing, shopping as well as suitable local restaurants. Cognac and Angouleme are both worth visiting and only 30 minutes drive away with the beautiful sandy beaches at Royan 75 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor G
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect, peaceful house”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I stayed at Maison du Ruisseau for 2 nights as we were going to a wedding nearby, I wish we could have stayed much longer.

We stayed in la petit maison and from the first email sent enquiring about the apartment, to checking out we had fantastic service. Christine and Les the owners were very helpful & even made sure we had directions from Limoges airport to the maison.

On arrival Christine & Les greeted us & even though we were 2hours earlier in arriving than initially thought we were told that they had just finished cleaning all the rooms & that we could go straight in- brilliant! Christine then said that she had bought a few bits for the fridge along with a baguette & a bottle of locally sourced red wine- this was an amazing touch.

Our apartment was stunning, so well equipped & decorated impeccably. Our room had French doors that looked out on the gorgeous pool. We managed to squeeze a few hours of sunbathing in around the wedding activities & the weather was fantastic & the sun loungers very comfortable.

Christine was very helpful with recommending local restaurants and nearby sights to see & day activities, unfortunately as we were there for a wedding we had very little free time, we will just have to return!

All in all my husband and I really enjoyed staying at Maison du Ruisseau, it is idyllic & the perfect place to get away, with helpful owners. We would definitely love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Lowton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second year at La Maison du Ruisseau and why I didn't write a review last year I have no idea, so here goes.
This gite complex is without a doubt, the best place anyone could wish to spend a holiday. My husband and I have been in two of the gites and they are beautiful, very tastefully decorated and of the highest quality. They scream out attention to detail, this is Christine's department, although Les is only a step behind. As hosts they will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as humanly possible, nothing is too much trouble. They go way above and beyond to make your stay wonderful.
The gites are in a quiet commune surrounded by fields of corn and vines. You can walk for miles and appreciate the lovely scenery or make use of the two cycles that are available. There are plenty of places to visit and many beautiful chateaux to see, it's a beautiful department indeed.
If you are reading this and want a holiday in the Charente, then you need not trawl the internet any longer for somewhere to stay. It just doesn't get any better than La Maison du Ruisseau.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky E
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I travelled here with my husband, sister in law and her partner and we stayed here for 10 nights. From the moment we arrived, we knew we made the right choice. We were greeted by Christine and Les and we're told that they had upgraded us to the 6 person gite, which has its own little private garden. They took us to the property and we were bowled over by how lovely the whole place is - the accommodation itself along with the surroundings are beautiful. Christine had told us that she had put a few bits in the fridge for us - after a very long drive it was great to find a bottle of wine in there!! Christine and Les were so lovely, and they gave us some really great advice on where to go and the best places to see. They even booked a restaurant for us on my husband's request for my birthday - a fantastic choice as the food was amazing!
The weather was great too and we liked nothing better than relaxing by the pool in the evening after a day of sight seeing! There is also 2 push bikes and a table tennis table for the guests to use. There is a lovely pergola just opposite the property and we spent many hours in the evening there with a glass of Pineau (if you go here - get some!).
I can't say enough about how great this property is - you must visit and enjoy us just as much as we did. We will definitely return! :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opinions5...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic and most beautiful place to spend a holiday in the heart of rural France.”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Maison Du Russeau for just a few days in mid September, as part of a tour to a variety of places in the region and on the west coast of France.

We were warmly greeted on arrival at these breathtakingly beautiful residences, by the owners Christine and Les, both of whom ensured our peace and comfort throughout our stay.

The standard of layout, accommodation, furnishings and comfort of all the properties offered by Christine and Les would be difficult to improve upon - in this tiny tranquil village of Chadeuil.
.
Our accommodation was the lovely Petite Maison - a very spacious and comfortable property, tucked in a quiet corner overlooking the swimming pool. We were lucky enough to enjoy beautiful sunshine around the pool during the day - relaxing with a bottle of locally sourced wine around the floodlit pool at night.

There are many interesting places that we didn't have time to visit around the surrounding areas of this lovely Cognac Region.

Our only regret is that our time spent at Maison Du Ruisseau was far too brief - but we shall go back there as soon as the opportunity takes us.

Until then, we shall enjoy the lovely memory it gave to us both.

Diana & James

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and first class accommodation.
Liked least: Too little time there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing