We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and excellent service”
Review of Hotel Rendez-Vous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rendez-Vous
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aymavilles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view and excellent service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Located between Aosta and Cogne is this great little hotel. The service is fantastic and their retaurant serves great food at a decent price. The view from the rooms is astonishing. The only negative to say is that during summer it can get a bit warm at night because the rooms don't have a/c. This was the best hotel we stayed in during a two week trip to Italy and we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joakim_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vimercate, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Herren family runs this hotel located in Aymavilles, some 10km from Aosta, and just at the entrance of Cogne Valley, easy to find from the motorway exit.
We went the first time to the hotel during the 2011 Christmas and we have been lodged in a wooden-clad suite, and our two kids had fun in the bunk bed! We could smell the forest breath from the cedar wood. This year we have been accommodated in 2 standard double-bed rooms adjacent one another, just close to the balcony, from which we could see the landscape of the valley: the Saint Pierre castle, and the adjacent church, dominated by a gigantic Christmas tree, another castle built on the ridge over the Dora River banks (which flows in the valley), and the mountains topped by bright snow, and -of course- the Aymavilles castle! The rooms were simple, very clean and we got clean towels and bed sheets replaced frequently, during the week we were staying, in the 2012 vacation.
Mr. Herren is the master of the kitchen, and prepares the specialties of the Aosta cooking himself (namely the Valpellinentze soup, the crespelle alla valdostana, cannelloni and many others). We never got the same food twice! The wine produced locally is fantastic, and enhance the food taste: Remy (son of the landlord) had always appropriate suggestions.
We found very convenient to leave the car parked at the hotel and been shuttled to the cableway to reach Pila sky slopes after the abundant breakfast, by Remy. Remy was very flexible in coming to the cableway station to take us back to the hotel in the evenings. Thus we had no stress in driving back-and-forth to skiing, just relax sightseeing the vineyards and apple orchard between the hotel the cableway station (though without leaves, in this season, but the close wine cellar has been provided with a good range of local production of wine & spirit, so we could fill the car trunk, leaving the hotel).
I know Aosta valley from my youth, and I am very sure we are going back in springtime, to Rendez-Vous hotel (this time to walk to the Roman Bridge located in the surrounding of the village).
I cannot forget to mention the mouth organ show arranged with Mr. Herren and his fellows, one of the evening: something really nice nice old fashion folk music!
Last year I had my jeans dirty with diesel fuel: Ms. Herren very kindly washed them and fixed!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, but there is a spa: you need to book your time slot: it is not very big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

If you want ski in Pila or in Cogne, this is thr right hotel. You have to get there by car but the hotel makes a free car service to bring you to Pila Cable car.The rooms are clean & big, the Owners are kind & helpfull. You can also get there a good dinner but don't wait a classic restaurant. Price is ok but not cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoronMilano_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

On our arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owners, John and Egle. Two of the loveliest people you could meet. We arrived quite late at about 22:00hrs because we got lost trying to find our way out of Torino from the Airport on to the motorway, (I would strongly recommend a SatNav). Although we were very sorry for arriving so late, this was no concern to John and Egle, they were just happy we had arrived safely. Before we had even thought of removing our cases from the car, John quickly made us feel at home by inviting us in to his. He led us into the bar area were a huge log burner made of stone warmed our cold bones. When we had finally warmed through had a splash of wine, I grabbed our cases from the car and John showed us to our room.
I stayed in a family room with my wife and son. The room was spacious with two beds, a King size and a single, both of which had supremely comfortable memory foam mattresses. All the inside of our room was finished in beautiful wood surround. It was like we were staying in a log cabin, my wife was really pleased with my decision to stay here, (brownie points for me). The bathroom was exceptional, with a very powerful and hot shower. Just what you need when wandering around the cold but, hugely interesting sights the Aosta Valley has to offer. There is a television and phone in the room, with free WiFi for guests to use. Also there is a Sauna/Steam room and Jacuzzi located just down the hall way from our room. The same evening when we arrived we met John and Egle's son Remy. Remy is extremely passionate about the place, lifestyle and sights from the Valley in which he lives. He has a wealth of knowledge about the skiing, history, places of special interest etc, etc, the list is endless. Remy is also a wine connoisseur, so they're never short on a fine drop wine.
The food John and Egle cooked was delicious. He being a Chef cooked us a lots of delicious traditional dishes whilst we stayed there and breakfast was quite a banquet also.

The photographs on their website are a true depiction of the place we stayed. I've added a few from our balcony.

To round our experience up, everything was perfect and most of all our hosts. John, Egle and Remy are like family of your own and you couldn't wish to meet nicer people. They are more than proprietors of a well run, clean and very comfortable hotel.... They are good friends of ours now and we will be definitely going to see them soon.

Thanks again for making it a stay to remember...
Tim and family.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with any room. We had a tour of the entire hotel and the rooms are ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was at this hotel last weekend with my family and my partner; we had a great experience. The hotel is cute; the room was comfortable and had a fantastic view. But most importantly, the hosts went out of their way to ensure we had a great experience. Remy was the nicest guy EVER. Oh and the food was spectacular! The Valpellinentze soup is something we still talk about every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Good value , friendly, good food . Remy speaks good English and is very knowledgeable about the area. Our purpose was to walk in the mountains and Remy gave us advice from his own first hand experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0tpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymavilles
18.2 mi away
Hotel Rendez-Vous
Hotel Rendez-Vous
#4 of 6 in Chatillon
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saint Pierre
Hotel Saint Pierre
#2 of 5 in St. Pierre
238 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Meridiana - Hotel du Cadrain Solaire
4.6 mi away
Le Charaban
Le Charaban
#5 of 18 in Aosta
195 reviews
6.2 mi away
Express Hotel Aosta
Express Hotel Aosta
#2 of 2 in Pollein
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rendez-Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rendez-Vous

Property: Hotel Rendez-Vous
Address: Urbains, 4, 11010 Aymavilles, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Aymavilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aymavilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rendez-Vous 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1980 by the Herren Family and has been constantly renovated through out the years.Situated at the feet of the Valley of Cogne in the Village of Aymavilles (800 mt) the Hotel is an ideal place for a relaxing holiday.From the Hotel you can easily reach important holiday and ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rendez-Vous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rendez-Vous Italy/Aymavilles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing