We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Notre Maison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Notre Maison
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Madison WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed here a few weeks ago, the rooms were very nice and the restaurant was excellent. We ate there 2 nights and both times had wonderful meals. It is located withing walking distance of Cogne and is a nice quiet place to enjoy the area. Everyone working there was very pleasant and went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. They also have a nice steam room in the spa, I just wish it was open for more than 4 hours per day. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the suites were very comfortable and quiet with nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    64
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
140
247
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pelham, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

the family that runs the hotel is AMAZINGLY warm and helpful. Mother and beautiful daughter guard the front desk; father and son cook and host and serve in the restaurant. Regional meals are excellent for an off the path destination. The spirit of the place rubs off on the guests... people talk to each other. A couple lent us walking sticks for a hike. The pool and spa are clean; the room views fine

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rumpunch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed here three times in June for walking holidays. The rooms are wonderfully quiet and all the buildings are interesting, well decorated and kept very clean. Spacious gardens too. The family and all staff are very welcoming and the food never disappoints. Good value in June.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I guess one takes a much more rosy view of everything if the weather was wonderful and the last days of September 2011 (and early October come to that) certainly exceeded all expectations. I guess that to be in the mountains of all places in the Autumn and have cloudless skies each day and for it to be beautifully warm as well, is a rare gift. And we were delighted we chose to stay at Notre Maison. (In fact, this being the low season many hotels were already shut and Notre Maison was due to close for 8 weeks soon after we left)

We chose the grade of room that also gave us a table and two armchairs. We did this so that we could buy local produce and have lunch there if we wished - something we did on two of the days, so it was a good thing we did so. What was strange about the room was the balcony. It gave a wonderful view of the mountains but was furnished with a single deckchair plus a single hard upright kitchen chair! It didn't bother us at all because it was far too hot to sit out there in the sun anyway and I guess they would have improved things if we had asked.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and you could, if you wished, eat your way through the full number of courses without restriction under the demi-pension arrangement.

And there was one unusual aspect that will always stay in our memory regarding this hotel. Although it was a typical 'Alpine' building - all wood and cosiness - the bar offered a most amazing and comprehensive cocktail menu. And I mean large well-known cocktails as opposed to some of the fancy dressed-up mixes one frequently encounters. But what is more the charming young lady who mixed and served these inexpensive cocktails was the most expert cocktail maker we have ever encountered in a hotel environment (as opposed to a specialist cocktail establishment). It was a treat we looked forward to each evening.

If there was one thing to criticise in the hotel - and being Tripadvisor one must be as honest as one can - it would be the breakfast. In years past one was often offered quite a simple breakfast of the type eaten by the local inhabitants. But more recently hotels have aimed at a sort of 'catch-all' spread that caters for international taste. I suppose one could say that this is what Notre Maison was aiming to do but in doing so it fell short on quality. Maybe such ingredients are not readily available in the remote valley. I don't know. Personally I like a simple breakfast but sadly Notre Maison fell short of the quality we had encountered in a far more simple establishment the other side of the border.

Never mind. The breakfast apart we loved our stay in this very friendly hotel and it certainly 'could' be one of our favourites - the 'could' only being used because I sadly cannot see that we would be likely to pass that way again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We chose this hotel for a night's stopover en route based on other TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Our standard room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean and the pool, sauna and hamman offered welcome relaxation after a long journey. The restaurant offers good regional cuisine, with a wide choice of dishes and a lengthy wine list including local wines that are hard to find outside the region. While we did not have much time for sightseeing we managed an excursion to the Lillaz falls - definitely worth a visit - as well as a stroll around the picturesque centre of Cogne. Splendid weather made this a memorable excursion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driebergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

It's hard to think of what's wrong with this hotel. It's one of the best I've ever stayed in. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Location in the Gran Paradiso national park is wonderful. The restaurant is very good, lots of tasty, local and international dishes and an excellent wine list including many wines of the Valle d'Aosta which are not normally available outside the region and with a very reasonable mark-up. A generously-sized room (number 13 - we were told 17 is the unlucky number in Italy!), balcony overlooking the valley and the mountains. We stayed eight days and didn't get in the least bored with the hotel.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 644351Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

I cannot comment on the hotel itself as we changed after they cancelled our confirmed rooms and then offered cheaper inferior rooms instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hebditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogne
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#2 of 17 in Cogne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#4 of 17 in Cogne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Madonnina del Gran Paradiso
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#6 of 17 in Cogne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
22.7 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Notre Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Notre Maison

Property: Hotel Notre Maison
Address: Frazione Cretaz 8, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Notre Maison 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Notre Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing