We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience, great food”
Review of Lou Ressignon

Lou Ressignon
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deltaville, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience, great food”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Recommended by our our hotel, Le Bouquet, this was one of our favorite dining experiences in our 5 day stay in the Aosta Valley region. Excellent homemade pasta, super fresh vegetables, some of the most tender lamb chops we've ever had, and the pink gnocchi was terrific. We dined on a Sunday night and it was packed. It's where the locals go, which is always a great sign of a quality experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl59j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    266
    38
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Definitely one of the best in Cogne”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had our last dinner in Cogne at this place last night, I called at 3 PM to reserve and since it was Saturday evening tables were mostly full so we got one for 9 PM.

Reading a bit about the place we found out it runs since generations and the son and daughter of the original owner are running it now with a level of quality you would hardly imagine you can get in a touristic italian place for this little money.

Took "Gnocchetti di patate e barbabietole su fonduta di Blue D'Aosta" and entrecote plus salads, water, cheese selection, polenta rustica and a bottle of wonderful Nebbiolo, spent about 67€, well worth every single cents.

What I liked a lot: they served us nicely and attentively and customized the menu with no problem when we asked for normal polenta ( rustica ) instead of the too-heavy-for-us polenta valdostana ( concia ), I appreciated this level of care ;-)

What could be improved: inside the room was really too hot, all windows were closed, not sure why but I was really doing a sauna in there... had to finish all the wine and plenty of water ;-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favourite meal in cogne”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Excellent mains (including great polenta). Desserts not great (but in italy they never are it appears). Very generous portions. Would definitely recommend

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelrturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our secod time to Lou Ressignon, on both occasions stayed in the B&B for a couple of nights and ate at the restaurant twice. Always a welcome reception and food delicious, one of our favorite places in Aosta valley. Recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and regional wines - but dark on a sunny day!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Our second time for lunch in this restaurant on the edge of Cogne. Spend a few days in these mountain areas and you start getting oppressed by the salumi and cheese diet so, happily, this place offers some relief from that. A fresh taglionlini featuring asparagus and other vegetables was a nice starter followed by duck breast in a sweetish applely sauce. Semi-freddo to follow was my choice as it's suprisingly rarely offered. We had a Valdostane red wine from the sommelier's choice list - very good value but quite light.(as an aside, the region produces some surprisingly robust reds - try the Enfer as a good example).

Helpful and pleasant staff who speak Italian, French and pretty good English. My only problem with the ambience is that the restaurant is quite a small room (in an otherwise big building), low ceilinged, small windowed and wood panelled. It would be lovely on a cold, snowy winter's day. On a bright, summer's day, somewhere lighter, with more fresh air or a terrace would be a nicer spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulecrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Ressignon also viewed

 
Cogne, Valle d'Aosta
 
Cogne, Valle d'Aosta
Cogne, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Lou Ressignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing