We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Alpine restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lou Ressignon

Lou Ressignon
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$52
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Level Contributor
215 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Typical Alpine restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A good friend of us recommended this restaurant where he has been regular guest many years ago. Restaurant is open since 1966 but it's still a family run business. We met one of the daughters of Mr. Allera, who has opened his kitchen to Cogne visitors. It's located just at the end of the pretty village of Cogne. Decoration is very nice and you feel immediately the genuine Alpine hospitality. Service has been friendly and attentive and always smiling in a quite busy dining room at lunch time.We had a very tasty Mont Blanc salad with goat cheese as starter and a very well prepared home made foie-gras with perfect pan-brioche. Tagliatelle maison Lou Ressignon were really flavourful with a great sauce. Desserts were of high standard and really fresh prepared. All combined with a very nice local Muller Thurgau Maison Anselmet. We have realy enjoyed and we thank our firend for this recommendation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mywayforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    263
    38
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

After a great dining experience, we decided to try again in July. It 's always dangerous to dine in a restaurant you've had a great meal as usually the expectations will be set high. Well, in this case it was again very good! Great antipasti and fabulous steaks. Try the entrecôte which is grilled to perfection. Also the flottante desserts was tasty but light way of ending our meal. One last comment on the service! The maître of this restaurant is incredibly attentive and nice! Even with our loud toddlers we felt very comfortable and the kids meal was on the table in just a few minutes! Bravo! This has become our favourite place in Cogne!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAY-GASTRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect dinner in every way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just excellent in every way- a friendly welcome, a detailed explanation of the menu, excellent service and above all GREAT FOOD! We have eaten out a lot all over the world and this was memorable for simple, beautifully cooked , interesting and imaginative food at a sensible and affordable price. However what made it special was the service- not just from the owner but also the young waiter and waitress. Thank you, you made our very brief visit to your beautiful village special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anguskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurant for local kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

very nice and local environment, friendly and expert service, very good food.
I enjoyed a lot a dinner at Lou Ressignon: dishes are elegantly served but portions are generous and quality is always the top.
Try the special local valdostan dishes: the chef is a specialist!!!

Enjoy the evening and prepare your wallet: quality is not for free.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riccardo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
195 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The best of Cogne!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The owner gave us a great service, she explained everything all her suggestions were great, we had local dishes, the food was delicious, the wine list was great and for reasonable prices. Try the chynoise fondue it is amazing!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Ressignon also viewed

 
Cogne, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Lou Ressignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing