We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in an unspoilt village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is late summer time review - winter will be different! We came here 30 years ago for a quick visit and it has taken us this long to return. And it was worth it.
The hotel has stayed in the same family ownership and some of them of 30 years ago are still on the desk, now with grandchildren. In the meantime, the hotel has improved itself in all areas. The restaurant is now "haut cuisine" if expensive. They had 2 others ,one in town which is excellent and informal.
The quality of the cooking - the vegetable garden can be seen in the main garden and is really used - makes breakfast a wonderful experience every day. Fresh fruit salad and perfect pain au chocolat are highlights but even the bread is special as is the choice of local honey.
There is an amazing (free) spa on 2 levels with 2 pools so there is plenty to do in bad weather (we had none though) and treatments. Wifi is good and there is a PC to borrow if you forget your own.
The views to the glacier are breathtaking and we could see that from our bed in the morning. Bathrooms are a bit old fashioned perhaps but everyjhting works and lots of towels, slippers and bathrobes. We had a separate dressing room which allows you to keep your room tidier.

In summer, this hotel is about hiking and there are many great walks from the doors all well marked and supported by an excellent local map. In addition the hotel staff provide careful advice on what you might do, accurate times and even offer to take or fetch you from a place in the walk so you can save time. You can call for a ride in their unique "car" made for the hotel.
The hotel is decorated in "alpine" kitsch and works well as it is tasteful, appropriate in the village and clever.
Cogne is a large village with plenty of choice on places to stay but looks so much better than most Alpine villages which are really only aimed at winter sports and look bleak (and closed) in summer. The Alpine feel is preserved with traditional roofs - no concrete high rise here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have that view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_fool_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in Bellevue for 4 nights in SEP13. Our original plan was to spend 3 nights. Shortly after checking in, we decided to extend our stay of 1 night. Our room was considered a deluxe, and had an open view on the beautiful sight of the Grand Paradis. The room was GORGEOUS, spacious. The very minimal detail could be that it wasn't extremely sound proof (we could hear a lot from the floor above).

This is a one kind hotel, nothing you have seen before. We are a very demanding type of customer, and Bellevue shocked us for the attention to every detail and need of their customers.
It is not a cost-effective hotel, and caters towards a more mature and senior clientele probably because of the per night cost. However if you make a decision to stay here, you will not regret the investment for one second. The balance between $/quality is absolutely paid back. Hands down, everything from service to rooms, personnel and atmosphere will allow you to spend magic days.

The SPA is one kind of as well. It's even not right to just call it a SPA, the one you are used to find in even nice 4 star business hotels. It is just a magic experience which will make your stay even more pleasant. Out of the several restaurant options we only tried bar au fromage. Great quality of food. Service was a little understaffed that night (a WED), however the guys serving were really doing their best as a number of tables got in all at the same time, still I expect Bellevue to handle better immediate needs for further staff as the wait times were a bit disappointing. We did not try the petit restaurant and the gourmet, however I have heard they were amazing.

For the sake of suggestion to management, It was not made too clear the difference between the petit restaurant (1 michelin star) and the gourmet restaurant. When I asked at front desk, I felt like they were underselling both a bit, which did not motivate us to make the $ investment to try any of the 2.

It was a bit confusing to hear that the 2 had the very same menu, and that the only difference would be the seating/room plus the "service". The difference was very generic and didn't make it compelling. In any case, I am sure they would have been amazing.

We definetely thank Bellevue for the amazing time, and we won't be able to go to any other place in Cogne from now on. Thanks Laura and all your team to be such great professionals.

Room Tip: We picked 208. AMAZING in interior and view. But it was not sound proof with the floor above.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessio_A_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are an American-European couple in our mid-50s traveling for a couple of weeks in Europe. Chose the Bellevue based on its status as a Relais et Chateaux property and the amenities. Drove from Provence up to Cogne in about 6.5 hours with some very generous stops. Arrived at property, extremely cute and charming pink building with a separate chalet building and garage across the tiny street. We had booked a standard room with breakfast and all the spa amenities included. Room was on 4th floor, with gorgeous view toward the mountains. Good storage, double-sink bathroom - not large, but well-lit and nicely appointed with good, natural-based toiletries. Unfortunately there was no king bed but actually two singles pushed together. They were much too firm and husband woke up with a sore back every morning. We asked for some extra mattress pads and management instructed the maid to put double blankets on the bed. This was not really helpful and this is why this property gets 4 stars and not five, despite all the other wonderful amenities. A hotel is first and foremost a place to sleep and when the beds are pushed together like in the 1950s and rock hard - that gets one star knocked off. We booked a room for two people and it was clear that we did not want a room with twin beds. In addition, the hotel was fully booked and there was no chance of a paid room upgrade or switch. Internet is free but very S L O W. I couldn't get Internet on my iPhone, only the laptop.

Aside from this small-to-medium size problem [I'm not the one with the sore back, after all], everything else about the experience was very good. The food in the restaurant is heavy - after visiting Provence with all its superb vegetables and light foods, it took a day or so to adjust to the substantial mountain cuisine. Val d'Aosta is famous for its cheese - Fontina, but also other great cheeses, like the blue from the region, outstanding - and the cuisine reflects this in its selection of dishes. The restaurant has one star in the Guide Rouge [Michelin] and some of the dishes were indeed excellent - I had the rabbit twice and could have it every day, it was that good. Another night we had the quail and it was truly stellar. The cheeses are to die for. But conversely, I asked for salads and they were very average - I was surprised that they use iceberg lettuce, that one went out with cocktail franks, I thought. But so it was. The wine list is extremely comprehensive and the restaurant has a great selection of half bottles, bio-dynamic [organic] wines and wonderful water straight out of the tap - no need to buy interminable bottles of Evian or Pellegrino. The bar in the hotel has a wonderful list of cocktails. Breakfast is also very good, very substantial and the selection of fresh herb teas is just outstanding.

We spent a considerable amount of time in the spa and I would urge anyone to take advantage of this amazing part of the hotel. We had massages (80 or 90 Euro for 50 minutes, very reasonable) and they were done very professionally. We went into the incredibly wonderful bio-saunas: one chamomile, one citrus (the best!) and one with crystal rock and dried hay. A Finnish style dry sauna was also available. There was also a salt cave (a large wonderful room with recliners and salt air), a Roman sudarium (it's not that bad, only 55% humidity), a real Turkish hammam steam room, a mud room with fango from the Dead Sea, an exercise room with machines, treadmills and weights, and two indoor swimming pools, one of which is therapeutic, minimally chlorinated and heated to +32C - incredibly healing. Finally, we laid on waterbeds, straw-and-hay beds and sipped herbal tea to relax.

Staff is very capable and definitely tries their best to accommodate the sometime demanding (us, probably) guests. There were no Americans when we checked in - mostly Italians and a few Frenchmen. I speak Italian, French and German so we had no problems getting ourselves understood, but the staff does speak English. Laura, the daughter of the owners, is multi-lingual and incredibly charming. She can tell you where to hike, where to shop and what to do, plus she is hyper-efficient and doesn't forget a single thing. We shopped at the store down the street (also owned by the hotel family) and I purchased a very elegant Austrian jacket.

In general and in sum, this is a beautiful, first-class Alpen style hotel with unbelievable decor and antiques in a very rustic milieu and in gorgeous surroundings. We hiked three days in a row and believe me, you will need it, unless you're willing to gain weight from the food. We would like to come back to this region - if we do, we will definitely stay at the Bellevue again, but this time in a suite to have some more room, considering we spent some time in there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xtacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in May 2009 with our little baby and had a wonderful time. Great location, beautiful hotel, warm welcome, and excellent service. Looking for a chance to go back ever since.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our second stay and the first in summer. Simply WOW. Totally new and updated spa area featuring a hay sauna, citrus sauna, ice sauna, salt relaxation room, warm pool with all sorts of thermal and bubble therapy areas. Dining has also been upgraded to Michelin star quality. Wine list is strong - try the Aosta wines. Our room was a large suite with Mount Blanc and Gran Paradiso facing balconies from the bedroom and from the living room. There are 3 restaurants - gourmet, fromage and bistro. All 5C's are here. Breakfast is plentiful and varied. Hiking is a key in summer. Lilith is the best of the walks to and from the waterfall for a short walk. Cogne is small with some good shops and art gallery. Parking is in the underground area or in front of the hotel. The drive from Aosta is uphill all the way. Try Aosta - you will be surprised at the Roman Forum and walls.

Room Tip: Get the larger room with multiple views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have spent one week in a junior suite.
Though the Bellevue is member of Relais et Châteaux, there is not this snobbish or stuffy atmosphere one too often experiences with other members of this group.
From the arrival to the departure, you enjoy a kind attention from the whole staff.
The hotel is located at one exit of the pleasant village of Cogne; the place is absolutely quiet with only local traffic.
There is a fine garden with confortable dekchairs; the view on the Gran Paradiso is fabulous.
The room is large, with a full bathroom, separate toilets, walk-in closet and sitting area. The decoration is fine, a bit on the "chalet" side. There is no air conditioning, but this is not necessary at 1500 meters.
The food is refined without too much complication; extensive wine list with good advice of the sommelier. Excellent breakfast also.
The brand new spa is huge, with two (indoor) swimming pools and various saunas, perfect to relax after a walk.
There are many hiking trails in the immediate surroundings with plenty of signage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulklib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It is my second time at Bellevue. it is a very nice hotel, run by a family, what makes all the diference. Laura and family and all the staff take care of everything, the view is amazing, and Cogne is a nice village, ideal for doing walkings in very nice footpath during summer. You can go until Valentoney or Lilaz walking, and there you can eat in nice typical mountain restaurants. The food at Bellevue is very good, the rooms are confortable, the spa is very nice, ideal for a bath and massages after a full day walking. The wi-fi is free and good. The place is quite, no rush, and this kind of trip during summer is for lovers of nature, that enjoy a good food and wines, and enjoy walking in nice paths, by the river or mountains, but not too difficult. No good if you want a busy city or shopping.

Room Tip: Stay more time if you can
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raferria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogne
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
381 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eco Wellness Hotel Notre Maison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#7 of 17 in Cogne
276 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
348 reviews
23.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Grand Paradis 22, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cogne
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cogne
#1 Family Hotel in Cogne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
Price Range: £201 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellevue Hotel & Spa, Relais & Chateaux, is located in front of the Gran Paradiso glacier in the beautiful meadows of Saint Orso. The intimate atmosphere of other times, the striking view of the larch forest and of the Gran Paradiso National Park, the refining gastronomy in the three renowned restaurants, the vast range of wines and the warm welcome fascinate even the most demanding guests. The rooms, some with Jacuzzi, fireplace and sauna are furnished with rare pieces of alpine antiques; the collection of old typical objects and the precious laces, pride of the local women, give to the Bellevue the cosy atmosphere of an elegant mountain house. The "Gran Paradiso Springs" is the wellness area of the Bellevue Hotel & Spa: 1.200 sqm of aquatic and wellness paths in the most beautiful Sant'Orso fields to combine the privilege of being in such a great alpine environment with the pleasure of bathing in our waters. Two swimming pools, with different jets, six types of saunas, two steam baths, a great saline cave, a wirthpool bath, a frosty space, a Technogym fitness area and several rest rooms are available free of charge the the hotel guests. Furthermore, a large range of treatments for face and body and numerous wellness paths are proposed. The Bellevue is part of the "Historical Italian buildings" and it has welcomed Royals, artists and actors who have chosen our hotel as their elegant alpine shelter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bellevue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Cogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing