We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Sweeping mountain views! My husband David and I are luxury Italian travel planners with a true passion for extraordinary hotels with outstanding food and wine and the Hotel Bellevue does not disappoint! Lovingly run by the Jeantet Roullet family, who has welcomed guests to this delightful property for four generations. Nestled in the Italian Alps, the Hotel Bellevue is surrounded by breathtaking views of the Prateria dell’Orso and is opposite a glacier in the heart of the Gran Paradiso National Park. The Hotel offers a harmonious balance of rustic charm and sophisticated elegance to be enjoyed by a couple, a group of friends or your family as we did with our sons. Finally, the dining matches the excellence of the Bellevue, by offering four award winning eateries. You may not want to come down from this mountain!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrandmrsitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

By the time we arrived I was very impressed with the decor of the hotel all in the mountain style, the staff was very friendly our room was beautiful with a view to the gran paradiso mountain, the spa is one of the best I have been, and the food was lovely. I wish we can go back one day!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is very nice, in a fantastic location, very warm environment. Rooms are romantic and the SPA absolutelly great. Here it is the downsides:
1) the shower is not really friendly, warm and suddeny very hot, some little works can make it a bit better
2) During breakfast time, they start preparing for dinner too much noise with glasses and plates.
3) In the SPA the level of people's behaviour is really not that perfect, it seems that becasue every thing is included in the price you can step on the others, and also I would suggest to some women to use more appropriate bathing suite for a SPA, but this is not a point for the hotel obviously but more for the customers.
Those are very little comments the place in any case is really worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is not mostly about the hotel, which is excellent, but about extraordinary assistance by the staff. We had an automobile accident in Aosta. Laura and her husband responded as if we were close relatives. They arrived on the scene which was a distance from the hotel. Laura's husband accompanied CT to the police station to help and translate with the filing of the official report. Laura went to the hospital with JJ and stayed with her during medical testing. Laura then assisted JJ and joined us at the police station to take us back to the hotel. This all took several hours. Since I no longer had a vehicle, Laura arranged a driver to take us to our next destination and a driver to take us around for the four days we were there. I do not know what we would have done without their assistance. It is likely we would have had to return home two days into a 30 day trip. We cannot thank them enough and doubt many others would have done as much for us. In addition, the hotel is lovely with a wonderful spa where everything but treatments is complimentary. We remain very grateful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CT-and-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is late summer time review - winter will be different! We came here 30 years ago for a quick visit and it has taken us this long to return. And it was worth it.
The hotel has stayed in the same family ownership and some of them of 30 years ago are still on the desk, now with grandchildren. In the meantime, the hotel has improved itself in all areas. The restaurant is now "haut cuisine" if expensive. They had 2 others ,one in town which is excellent and informal.
The quality of the cooking - the vegetable garden can be seen in the main garden and is really used - makes breakfast a wonderful experience every day. Fresh fruit salad and perfect pain au chocolat are highlights but even the bread is special as is the choice of local honey.
There is an amazing (free) spa on 2 levels with 2 pools so there is plenty to do in bad weather (we had none though) and treatments. Wifi is good and there is a PC to borrow if you forget your own.
The views to the glacier are breathtaking and we could see that from our bed in the morning. Bathrooms are a bit old fashioned perhaps but everyjhting works and lots of towels, slippers and bathrobes. We had a separate dressing room which allows you to keep your room tidier.

In summer, this hotel is about hiking and there are many great walks from the doors all well marked and supported by an excellent local map. In addition the hotel staff provide careful advice on what you might do, accurate times and even offer to take or fetch you from a place in the walk so you can save time. You can call for a ride in their unique "car" made for the hotel.
The hotel is decorated in "alpine" kitsch and works well as it is tasteful, appropriate in the village and clever.
Cogne is a large village with plenty of choice on places to stay but looks so much better than most Alpine villages which are really only aimed at winter sports and look bleak (and closed) in summer. The Alpine feel is preserved with traditional roofs - no concrete high rise here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains have that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_fool_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in Bellevue for 4 nights in SEP13. Our original plan was to spend 3 nights. Shortly after checking in, we decided to extend our stay of 1 night. Our room was considered a deluxe, and had an open view on the beautiful sight of the Grand Paradis. The room was GORGEOUS, spacious. The very minimal detail could be that it wasn't extremely sound proof (we could hear a lot from the floor above).

This is a one kind hotel, nothing you have seen before. We are a very demanding type of customer, and Bellevue shocked us for the attention to every detail and need of their customers.
It is not a cost-effective hotel, and caters towards a more mature and senior clientele probably because of the per night cost. However if you make a decision to stay here, you will not regret the investment for one second. The balance between $/quality is absolutely paid back. Hands down, everything from service to rooms, personnel and atmosphere will allow you to spend magic days.

The SPA is one kind of as well. It's even not right to just call it a SPA, the one you are used to find in even nice 4 star business hotels. It is just a magic experience which will make your stay even more pleasant. Out of the several restaurant options we only tried bar au fromage. Great quality of food. Service was a little understaffed that night (a WED), however the guys serving were really doing their best as a number of tables got in all at the same time, still I expect Bellevue to handle better immediate needs for further staff as the wait times were a bit disappointing. We did not try the petit restaurant and the gourmet, however I have heard they were amazing.

For the sake of suggestion to management, It was not made too clear the difference between the petit restaurant (1 michelin star) and the gourmet restaurant. When I asked at front desk, I felt like they were underselling both a bit, which did not motivate us to make the $ investment to try any of the 2.

It was a bit confusing to hear that the 2 had the very same menu, and that the only difference would be the seating/room plus the "service". The difference was very generic and didn't make it compelling. In any case, I am sure they would have been amazing.

We definetely thank Bellevue for the amazing time, and we won't be able to go to any other place in Cogne from now on. Thanks Laura and all your team to be such great professionals.

Room Tip: We picked 208. AMAZING in interior and view. But it was not sound proof with the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessio_A_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are an American-European couple in our mid-50s traveling for a couple of weeks in Europe. Chose the Bellevue based on its status as a Relais et Chateaux property and the amenities. Drove from Provence up to Cogne in about 6.5 hours with some very generous stops. Arrived at property, extremely cute and charming pink building with a separate chalet building and garage across the tiny street. We had booked a standard room with breakfast and all the spa amenities included. Room was on 4th floor, with gorgeous view toward the mountains. Good storage, double-sink bathroom - not large, but well-lit and nicely appointed with good, natural-based toiletries. Unfortunately there was no king bed but actually two singles pushed together. They were much too firm and husband woke up with a sore back every morning. We asked for some extra mattress pads and management instructed the maid to put double blankets on the bed. This was not really helpful and this is why this property gets 4 stars and not five, despite all the other wonderful amenities. A hotel is first and foremost a place to sleep and when the beds are pushed together like in the 1950s and rock hard - that gets one star knocked off. We booked a room for two people and it was clear that we did not want a room with twin beds. In addition, the hotel was fully booked and there was no chance of a paid room upgrade or switch. Internet is free but very S L O W. I couldn't get Internet on my iPhone, only the laptop.

Aside from this small-to-medium size problem [I'm not the one with the sore back, after all], everything else about the experience was very good. The food in the restaurant is heavy - after visiting Provence with all its superb vegetables and light foods, it took a day or so to adjust to the substantial mountain cuisine. Val d'Aosta is famous for its cheese - Fontina, but also other great cheeses, like the blue from the region, outstanding - and the cuisine reflects this in its selection of dishes. The restaurant has one star in the Guide Rouge [Michelin] and some of the dishes were indeed excellent - I had the rabbit twice and could have it every day, it was that good. Another night we had the quail and it was truly stellar. The cheeses are to die for. But conversely, I asked for salads and they were very average - I was surprised that they use iceberg lettuce, that one went out with cocktail franks, I thought. But so it was. The wine list is extremely comprehensive and the restaurant has a great selection of half bottles, bio-dynamic [organic] wines and wonderful water straight out of the tap - no need to buy interminable bottles of Evian or Pellegrino. The bar in the hotel has a wonderful list of cocktails. Breakfast is also very good, very substantial and the selection of fresh herb teas is just outstanding.

We spent a considerable amount of time in the spa and I would urge anyone to take advantage of this amazing part of the hotel. We had massages (80 or 90 Euro for 50 minutes, very reasonable) and they were done very professionally. We went into the incredibly wonderful bio-saunas: one chamomile, one citrus (the best!) and one with crystal rock and dried hay. A Finnish style dry sauna was also available. There was also a salt cave (a large wonderful room with recliners and salt air), a Roman sudarium (it's not that bad, only 55% humidity), a real Turkish hammam steam room, a mud room with fango from the Dead Sea, an exercise room with machines, treadmills and weights, and two indoor swimming pools, one of which is therapeutic, minimally chlorinated and heated to +32C - incredibly healing. Finally, we laid on waterbeds, straw-and-hay beds and sipped herbal tea to relax.

Staff is very capable and definitely tries their best to accommodate the sometime demanding (us, probably) guests. There were no Americans when we checked in - mostly Italians and a few Frenchmen. I speak Italian, French and German so we had no problems getting ourselves understood, but the staff does speak English. Laura, the daughter of the owners, is multi-lingual and incredibly charming. She can tell you where to hike, where to shop and what to do, plus she is hyper-efficient and doesn't forget a single thing. We shopped at the store down the street (also owned by the hotel family) and I purchased a very elegant Austrian jacket.

In general and in sum, this is a beautiful, first-class Alpen style hotel with unbelievable decor and antiques in a very rustic milieu and in gorgeous surroundings. We hiked three days in a row and believe me, you will need it, unless you're willing to gain weight from the food. We would like to come back to this region - if we do, we will definitely stay at the Bellevue again, but this time in a suite to have some more room, considering we spent some time in there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xtacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogne
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eco Wellness Hotel Notre Maison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#7 of 17 in Cogne
279 reviews
23.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
550 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Grand Paradis 22, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cogne
#1 Spa Hotel in Cogne
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cogne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
Price Range: £185 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellevue Hotel & Spa, Relais & Chateaux, is located in front of the Gran Paradiso glacier in the beautiful meadows of Saint Orso. The intimate atmosphere of other times, the striking view of the larch forest and of the Gran Paradiso National Park, the refining gastronomy in the three renowned restaurants, the vast range of wines and the warm welcome fascinate even the most demanding guests. The rooms, some with Jacuzzi, fireplace and sauna are furnished with rare pieces of alpine antiques; the collection of old typical objects and the precious laces, pride of the local women, give to the Bellevue the cosy atmosphere of an elegant mountain house. The "Gran Paradiso Springs" is the wellness area of the Bellevue Hotel & Spa: 1.200 sqm of aquatic and wellness paths in the most beautiful Sant'Orso fields to combine the privilege of being in such a great alpine environment with the pleasure of bathing in our waters. Two swimming pools, with different jets, six types of saunas, two steam baths, a great saline cave, a wirthpool bath, a frosty space, a Technogym fitness area and several rest rooms are available free of charge the the hotel guests. Furthermore, a large range of treatments for face and body and numerous wellness paths are proposed. The Bellevue is part of the "Historical Italian buildings" and it has welcomed Royals, artists and actors who have chosen our hotel as their elegant alpine shelter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bellevue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Cogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing