We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bellevue!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Absolutely gorgeous! My husband and I stayed in room 606 and it has its own sauna, jacuzzi and balcony with a view of Mt. Blanc. We initially planned on only staying for one night but ended up staying for another because we liked it so much. The valley was the most beautiful picturesque alpine valley either of us had ever seen.

To address a few topics brought up by other recent reviews:

-Everyone we talked to at the reception spoke very good English. At meals if we asked a question that was too complex, the waiter always quickly brought over another waiter/staff person to help out. The staff at the spa spoke little English but enough that when I had a spa treatment, she was able to give me simple directions or ask questions.(It was a wonderful spa btw- they deserved to have won the relais & chateau spa trophy in 06) But I don't expect the staff at an Italian hotel to speak perfect English; it's more of my responsibility to brush up on my Italian :). So possibly I have different expectations than others.

-There were lots of children there during our stay in early May. We even commented on it to one of the owners and she told us that they are somewhat of a family destination. I would estimate that 3 of every 4 groups that we saw had kids ranging from babies up to teenagers. The staff seems very good with them and never were they glared at. But all the children we saw were very well behaved.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
There are newer reviews for Bellevue Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2008

Hotel in a fabulous location with beautiful views up and down the dog's leg-shaped valley. Very convenient for the village. Appears largely geared to French and Italian tourists; very seldom have an English speaker on reception. With the exception of the superb cheese waiter, service at meals is lethargic bordering on catatonic. The family which owns the hotel has breakfast every morning in the restaurant. As soon as they appear the waiting staff seems to double in number and suddenly perks up. Bedrooms are slightly dusty and poorly lit but at least score highly on Alpine charm. Clientele largely elderly Italians and French. Children are glared at. Breakfasts good. Best dinner option is the hotel-owned Bon Bec restaurant in town - avoid the in-house formal restaurant. In summary: this has the potential to be a really great hotel but it really needs shaking up.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GeorgeGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

We loved this place. Relaxing, peaceful + great services. Couldn't ask for more! Lucie Guiler & Stephanie Howard

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SophieBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My husband and I have just returned from the 3 night "Romantic Elopement in Paradise" offer. This included 3 nights B&B, champagne in room on arrival, spa acess and special treatments, horse sleigh ride in the Gran Paradiso park. On arrival the hotel is easy to spot as its the only building at the top left of the village, right next to the kids snow park and vast nordic ski area. Its very un-assuming from the exterior but as soon as you walk in its like a museum featuring alpine wooden antiques and furnishings throughout and the staff in traditional costumes complete the look. All the staff were excellent although one piece of advice - Italian and French are the main languages spoken here (and throughout the valley) with very little English - so brush up before you go. Our room was spacious with a balcony that looked right onto the Gran Paradiso mountain view, nothing to fault in the room at all. All the meals we had at the hotel were excellent - the breakfast buffets had plenty choice for us, and the evening meal in the gourmet restaurant was excellent value for money (50euros per person menu - 6 courses!) and all with the most elegant silver service, excellent sommelier and cheese expert! Don't miss the 4.30pm daily afternoon tea in front of the fireplace - this was a very popular event. We also ate one night in the Bar Fromage just outside the main hotel building - again excellent and not overpriced - recommend the Fontina Fondue! We spent every afternoon after 5.00pm down in the spa - do not miss it - its really high quality, although can get quite busy and the loungers do go quickly. The pool has points with underwater jet massage and a jacuzzi area. We had a massage and Cleopatra bath from the spa treatments and I wish I had tried a few more. The staff here are excellent as well and were very accomodating adjusting the spa treatments to suit as I'm 6 months pregnant. Just outside the hotel there is an enclosed snow park for kids with plenty to keep them occupied, and the access to the many KM's of nordic ski. We did much walking and recommend the Lillaz waterfall area and Valnontey - here we saw many of the parks protected mountain goats, and stunning scenery. I highly recommend this hotel and this 3 night package, it really was a wrench to have to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jb250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2007

This is simply the finest, most tasteful hotel I have ever known. The rooms are wonderful, and views are better. The food is literally spectacular (baby veal ribs with three celeries), at breakfast, there are endless choices and everything--I mean everything--is made by hand. The indoor pool is a boon, as is the antique children's playroom. I wish there were more places like this on earth, but alas, there are not. An exceptional value. Take advantage of the 10,000 bottle wine cellar. Fabulous. This is my second stay.

Philadelphia, PA

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-BaptisteCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

I went to this hotel with high aspirations based on previous reviews. I wound up disappointed. I actually wound up in this hotel after bidding and winning a luxurylink.com auction. I had a room with whirlpool tub, fireplace and private sauna. The room itself was very tastefully decorated. However, the tv was 16 inch and the only english speaking channel was cnn. The bed are very hard and I developed back pain from sleeping on it. The breakfast buffet was the same EVERY DAY...and it was horrible. I had a free dinner at their Michelen rated restaurant and I was underimpressed. When I went down to the pool to look around. I got yelled at by a nasty woman in italian who shouted in broken english "no shoes allowed". My stay was so bad that even though I had gotten a 4 nite package, I left after the third night and booked a room in Evian for $500.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank rentadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Found this hotel through Relais Chateux.
An absolutely fantastic place, lovely rooms, super food and a stunning spa.
We arrived on Friday afternoon were shown to our chalet which remains across the road from the main hotel structure the most quaint setting a two story chalet with fireplace all in the typical mountain style.
We had lunch on the hotel patio, which has the most spectacular view of the mountains.

On the Friday evening we had dinner in the hotels main restaurant where I honestly have to say that the food and the wine were of maximum level.
The service is excellent.

On Saturady we tried the spa and had one of the treatments "the milk and honey bath, definitely to be tried a really romantic experience.
On overall a very positive impression

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank ElaineCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogne
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eco Wellness Hotel Notre Maison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#7 of 17 in Cogne
275 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
Hotel Gran Baita & Wellness
#3 of 42 in Courmayeur
346 reviews
23.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Grand Paradis 22, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
#1 Spa Hotel in Cogne
#1 Family Hotel in Cogne
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cogne
Price Range: £200 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellevue Hotel & Spa, Relais & Chateaux, is located in front of the Gran Paradiso glacier in the beautiful meadows of Saint Orso. The intimate atmosphere of other times, the striking view of the larch forest and of the Gran Paradiso National Park, the refining gastronomy in the three renowned restaurants, the vast range of wines and the warm welcome fascinate even the most demanding guests. The rooms, some with Jacuzzi, fireplace and sauna are furnished with rare pieces of alpine antiques; the collection of old typical objects and the precious laces, pride of the local women, give to the Bellevue the cosy atmosphere of an elegant mountain house. The "Gran Paradiso Springs" is the wellness area of the Bellevue Hotel & Spa: 1.200 sqm of aquatic and wellness paths in the most beautiful Sant'Orso fields to combine the privilege of being in such a great alpine environment with the pleasure of bathing in our waters. Two swimming pools, with different jets, six types of saunas, two steam baths, a great saline cave, a wirthpool bath, a frosty space, a Technogym fitness area and several rest rooms are available free of charge the the hotel guests. Furthermore, a large range of treatments for face and body and numerous wellness paths are proposed. The Bellevue is part of the "Historical Italian buildings" and it has welcomed Royals, artists and actors who have chosen our hotel as their elegant alpine shelter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Cogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing