We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, stunning mountain view, friendly and professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cogne
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, stunning mountain view, friendly and professional”
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We stayed here when we needed a few days of peace and quiet.

The hotel is traditionally decorated and furnished, very tastefully. There are all sorts of antique furniture and objects all around the hotel, including in the bedrooms.

Our room was large, with a good sized bathroom and had a balcony with a stunning view of the valley and the mountain at the end of it. The room was in the corner of the building and partly next to a road but this did not bother us.

The staff wear traditional costumes and the hotel is family run. The owner herself served us tea and patisseries in the lounge. The hotel has an excellent restaurant in which we dined one night.

All guests have access to the spa which has a small pool and jacuzzi, sauna and hammam etc.

At the time of year that we went, Cogne was very quiet (we were not in peak season). There are a variety of hikes you can do setting off from the hotel. Best to have a car to get there (we took the Mont Blanc tunnel as we were coming from western Switzerland).

  • Liked — Views and restaurant
  • Disliked — One waitress was a bit snotty, but everyone else was extremely friendly
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Mandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    64
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
96
359
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

This is THE place for a restful getaway or a romantic interlude in the countryside. It's beautifully located in the Italian alps, beautifully decorated, beautifully run and a delight in all respects. Don't fail to take advantage of the spa or dinner at the Michelen-starred restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

I returned yesterday after a very anticipated two night visit to this hotel which we cut short due to problems not expected for a hotel so highly touted in all reviews and particularly for a hotel charging almost $400 USD a night and which belongs to the Relais & Chateau chain.
The highlights were the charming rooms filled with antiques, the pillow and doggie house they had on the balcony for my daughter's dog and the outstanding food.
We had looked forward to a relaxing three night stay particularly using the spa facilities. I was immediately disappointed on the day we arrived when I went to the indoor pool and jacuzzi area and it was overrun with children and there was no space to even sit.
I have visited many spas in Europe and know that children are allowed in some pool areas but this was not controlled at all. The following day we went for our spa treatments, a massage and a haybath which I have had at another spa in Italy. The saunas, vapor rooms and facilities were so crowded that people were literally waiting in towels to be able to enter them. The haybath was simply a sheet on dry hay not at all like the others I have had where the hay is boiled and the aromatic oils are placed on your skin then you are wrapped in a luxurious cocoon for relaxing. This haybath area was in the reception area and despite the earphones they provide with music you could hear everyone checking in and other conversatins. I told the attendant there was no way to relax and she understood that I was disappointed. They did not charge me for the brief experience. My daughter actually left the area to go to our room to relax due to the confusion that was everywhere.
Our suggestsion is that they control the numbers or expand the area. The attendant should stress the importance of a quiet zone or add a kiddie area somewhere else.
Also, their was no access for my daughter to use the computer, wireless or otherwise and their computer was not functioning. They would not allow my daughter access to a computer on site even late at night. This forced us to ask if we could check out a day early as she had pressing business. We were told by the owner it was no problem. The next morning the owner's wife greeted us with the news that if she could not sell the room we would have to pay the $400 USD. She was not willing to understand the problems we encountered w/no computer access nor was she willing to let us use their computer. We saw computers in an upstairs office which was next to our room.
Eventually she advised us she had sold the room so we left.
It is a real gem of a property but we could not recommend it due to these problems. Or they should change their marketing to say it is a family focused hotel. Certainly, be advised the spa is not one for relaxing!
Katie Self

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The spa & lack of computer access
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank katieself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2006

This small charming hotel was the highlight of our three week trip to Italy. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. This hotel and restaurant staff take complete pride in the craft and you can tell it is truly a labor of love. The Michelin rated hotel restaurant is a must and the wine list is excellent. Of course the views are unbelievable and pictures will never do it justice.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2006

View over Gran Paradis from this hotel was awe-inspiring - photos cannot do it justice. Wonderful hiking followed by relaxing on the loungers in the garden under a mountain sun (it was the Summer!). Cute rooms with amazing views (not huge though). The food in the restaurant was some of the best I have ever eated in my life!!! Run by the same family for years, it has a warm homely feel to it. It does have a small (very cold) indoor pool with the same views, but attached are sauna rooms where it is compulsory to be naked (you cannot wear swimming costume etc). I had a massage and felt quite uncomfortble as it was done by a male who did not attempt to cover me discreetly with a towel. The whole pool/sauna/massage had a slightly dodgy feel to it and I wasn't that comfortable with the atmosphere (this is not a British person with a prudish attitude!)

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 December 2005

Step inside this Alpine hotel and leave the 21st Century on the doorstep. The service, facilities and food are second to none and can be enjoyed whatever the season. As a family run hotel with character guests are assured of comfort, peace and a view to astound.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turin,italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2005

We have just returned from a week in Cogne. The BELLEVUE hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. Restaurant is great:wonderful breakfasts and delicious meals!!!The SPA is cosier and very cleaned.
The place and the view is fantastic:on the front you have the GRAN PARADISO national park and all around green

Helpful?
3 Thank paola1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cogne
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Notre Maison
Hotel Notre Maison
#1 of 17 in Cogne
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Auberge de la Maison
Auberge de la Maison
#2 of 42 in Courmayeur
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#7 of 17 in Cogne
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Madonnina del Gran Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel & Spa

Property: Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Address: Via Grand Paradis 22, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cogne
#1 Spa Hotel in Cogne
#1 Family Hotel in Cogne
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellevue Hotel & Spa, Relais & Chateaux, is located in front of the Gran Paradiso glacier in the beautiful meadows of Saint Orso. The intimate atmosphere of other times, the striking view of the larch forest and of the Gran Paradiso National Park, the refining gastronomy in the three renowned restaurants, the vast range of wines and the warm welcome fascinate even the most demanding guests. The rooms, some with Jacuzzi, fireplace and sauna are furnished with rare pieces of alpine antiques; the collection of old typical objects and the precious laces, pride of the local women, give to the Bellevue the cosy atmosphere of an elegant mountain house. The "Gran Paradiso Springs" is the wellness area of the Bellevue Hotel & Spa: 1.200 sqm of aquatic and wellness paths in the most beautiful Sant'Orso fields to combine the privilege of being in such a great alpine environment with the pleasure of bathing in our waters. Two swimming pools, with different jets, six types of saunas, two steam baths, a great saline cave, a wirthpool bath, a frosty space, a Technogym fitness area and several rest rooms are available free of charge the the hotel guests. Furthermore, a large range of treatments for face and body and numerous wellness paths are proposed. The Bellevue is part of the "Historical Italian buildings" and it has welcomed Royals, artists and actors who have chosen our hotel as their elegant alpine shelter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bellevue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Cogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing