We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place”
Review of Hotel La Barme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Barme
Ranked #2 of 17 Cogne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I am just back from a week of cross country skiing, staying at La Barme with my wife and 5 1/2 year old daughter. I travel a lot and it's been ages since I've been so enthusiastic about a hotel. First a word about the area. Cogne is a pleasant sizable village at 1,500 meters altitude with plenty of restaurants and hotels, and excellent cross country skiing. There's a also a small downhill area and a very good ski school (Scuola Sci Gran Paradiso). We chose the area because it's low key, we could cross country ski, and our daughter could learn both downhill and xcountry. Valnontey, where La Barme is, is a cluster of around a dozen buildings about 3 km away from the main village and about 100 meters higher. It's set in extraordinary mountain scenery with cross country trails heading off both up and down the valley (we saw both foxes and chamois during our stay). In the summer you can take great hikes into the Gran Paradiso national park. It's also the end of the road so it's silent at night. La Barme is an old stone and wood building. It's not luxury - the rooms are simple - but everything is so well thought out and the family that runs it are so welcoming. They speak Italian, French and English. We had a two room `suite' so that our daughter had her own little room. Our bathroom was simple (shower, no bath) but had two sinks. Everything is spotlessly clean. If I have to complain about something it's that like many Italian budget hotels, our double bed was two single beds put together and they were a bit lumpy. But we still slept fine. We paid 152 euros a night, with breakfast and dinner included. Breakfast was a healthy spread of cereals, breads, yogurts and fruit. Dinner changed every night, was always good, and they'd always make special dishes for children. (the dinner menu would be pinned up early every morning and you could ask for special dishes for whatever reason). Wine is not included, but good local wines ranged from 10 to 18 euros a bottle. There's a large common area where people gather in the evening to chat and where kids could play or watch TV. The owners have stocked it with coloring books and board games. I'd just make one warning: this isn't a place for sleeping in. Almost everyone either had children or was there to take part in the valley's other great speciality, which is ice climbing, and requires an early start. By 8 o'clock everyone is up and about (also, avoid room 18, which is right off the common areas). There's a garage (5 euros a day), cross country and snowshoe renrtal, and a small hot tub and sauna (free). There's an internet terminal everyone can use, plus free wi-fi. Plus there's a sled run right in front of the hotel and free sleds. The week we were there most guests were Italian families, but there were also French, English and Canadians, and everyone made friends. It added up to a lovely stay. We ate well, skied many hours a day, got rest, made friends, and didn't spend that much money. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2010

My wife and I stayed here because we like mountain scenery and wanted to do a bit of walking. The hotel and restaurant are really good. We don't eat meat but nothing was too much trouble to suit our wants. The owners are friendly and helpful as are the staff. Our room was a bit small but it was OK. It's a great centre and quieter than Cogne. There are fantastic walks straight from the hotel up the valley, or you can drive to the many neighbouring valleys. Place has lots of character. One of the best holidays we've had.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SergeiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

My wife and I stayed at La Balme in the Gran Paradiso National Park for three nights during a hiking trip in the French and Italian Alps. The hotel is comfortable, but what makes it special is the warmth and commitment of the owners, Nathalie and Stefano, who really made us feel at home. We had half-board: the buffet breakfasts were very good and the dinners excellent, with second helpings offered most nights. No chance of going hungry here! The hotel is in the small village of Valnontey, a 5-minute bus ride or lovely walk from Cogne, and makes an ideal base for hikes in the Gran Paradiso National Park. Among others, the ascent to Rifugio Sella and back, while steep, makes an excellent one-day hike, with fine views of the snow peaks and glimpses of wildlife. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank john8tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

This family run hotel is long on charm and efficiency. We were a group of five ice climbing for five days in february. We took a half board package, the food is excellent and the wine very good value. the breakfasts were plentiful and very good quality

Everything was clean, well ordered and well run, which is what you want in a 2 star hotel.

Downsides, (they were minor), the beds that we had felt a bit narrow and a bit short. Televisions were a bit old.....but so what?

We will be back there next year.

There is a sauna and 'wellness' centre but none of us used this faclitity.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ozlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Hotel La Barme was our first Italian experience and one we will remember forever! The owners were wonderfully accommodating to us in many ways, most notably by adjusting the hearty nightly dinner to our vegetarian standards and making sure we would be satisfied! The food and food service was superb--we did not go hungry! Desserts were amazing!

Owners suggested several hikes for us during our stay and we were able to head out each day walking to a new trail head. Cogne is only a 10 minute bus ride/a beautiful walk down the valley, following a rushing glacial stream.

We travelled to Valnontey by trainafter arriving in Milan, changing to a bus in A'Osta for the drive up to Cogne. As Americans, we continue to marvel at the outstanding public transportation in Italy. What a great family place--fun to see multi-generation families enjoying the mountains and the relaxed setting at La Barme. We would come back and we are recommending it to everyone we speak to!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Memmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in July. Hotel La Barme has heaps of charm and personality, and is a perfect base for walking and exploring the valley. Valnontey is small but you feel like you’re right in the heart of the park and there are some great walks direct from the hotel itself. We had great weather the week we were there, but I think we would have been pretty bored if the weather had stopped us walking.

In addition to the great location, Hotel La Barme does delicious, hearty food each night. We stayed half-board, which is very common in Valnontey and Cogne. We’d strongly recommend it as the food is good, varied and the half-board price is great value.

The only slight let-down for us was the room, which though very comfortable and peaceful was small. We saw inside other rooms which were a good deal larger, but for 7 nights we could have done with a bit more space. This is the only thing that drops the review from 5 to 4 stars, as everything else was all we had hoped for and more.

Don’t expect luxury from Hotel La Barme, but do expect personality, charm, comfort, good food, and a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jossick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at this beautiful little inn. We were warmly welcomed here over Christmas and enjoyed very special care from our hosts. The hosts spoke wonderful English and served us a fabulous Italian meal each night (with ample seconds and wonderful desserts). The guests and their families congregated in the cozy common room each night before dinner--a perfect place for families with young kids.

As we were visiting the area to explore the ice climbing, we were happy with the hotel staff's willingness to serve us early breakfast and with the facilities and information provided to us.

The hotel appears rustic from the outside, but rooms are modern with alpine decor with beautiful exposed wooden beams. Our room/bathroom was spotless. An underground parking garage is provided. The hotel is equipped with a jacuzzi and sauna and also provides cross country ski rental for those who would like to explore the miles and miles of trails through the Gran Paradiso National Park. It is situated in Valnontey, in a quiet valley at the park's entrance and yet is only 3 km (an easy ski or drive) from the tiny bustling town of Cogne.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cogne hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
1.7 mi away
Residence Chateau Royal
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#3 of 17 in Cogne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
Bellevue Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Cogne
578 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#6 of 17 in Cogne
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sant'Orso
Hotel Sant'Orso
#7 of 17 in Cogne
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Barme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Barme

Address: Frazione Valnontey 8, 11012 Cogne, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Cogne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cogne
Price Range: £80 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Barme 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Restaurant La Barme is situated in the heart of the Gran Paradiso National Park, just 2 km from the village of Cogne. The building and its location are in perfect harmony with the quaint rustic village of Valnontey with its beautiful mountain scenery and wildlife. This charming hotel has been developed from a cluster of authentic old mountain buildings, in keeping with the local tradition of stone and wood in valdôtain style. It is charming and quaint . The hotels unique situation is a superb base for walking and hiking in the summer and cross-country skiing and icefall climbing in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Barme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing