We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy visitor 02'2013”

Albergo Grandes Murailles
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Grandes Murailles
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valtournenche
Sopot
1 review
“happy visitor 02'2013”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

good hotel, quiet despite the expensive restaurants nearby, large clean rooms, good breakfast with lots of choice, nice owner and the staf. not far from the ski lift. mountains are beautiful Robert Poland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert5541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    31
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milan, italy
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I can see that cosy is the returning word for this hotel right in the middle of Valtournenche, a small village a few kms from the much more glitzy Cervinia. And all the previous reviewers are right, because the 3-starred Grandes Murailles is a nice little hotel with a warm atmosphere. Rooms (and related bathrooms) may vary and some of them are not so large. The afternoon snack is a nice touch, but you have to consider the not cheap rates for b&b (around 140-150 euros a night during the weekends): but Val d'Aosta is an expensive skiing area, so be prepared. Parking not easy, because the hotel has just a few spots.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We visited in January and were immediately struck but how warm and welcoming this delightfully traditional hotel is.

Guiseppe worked so hard to help us make the most of our experience - and succeeded!

Valtournenche is a much more interesting place to stay than Cervinia. Leave the main road and explore the pedestrian only alleyways which link most of the old chalets and barns. The Bar des Guides and other little treasures tucked away are well worth fossicking out.

The hotel room was beautifully furnished with a homely feel (and comfortable bed).
Unusually for a hotel this size there is a lift which made taking luggage up to the third floor.

Breakfasts were very good and set us up for the day.
The buffet dinners provided in half board are simple but excellent - served early evening only. We should have got the soup recipe!
Spa and steam room are fabulous! Such a treat to have them to ourselves after a long day's skiing!

Thank you to both Guiseppe and Lilly for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth6809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Just returned from our short skiing trip in Valtournenche , very enthousiastic about our stay in albergo Grandes Murailles We could not have whished for more, lovely atmosphere, spacious tastefully decorated rooms, very welcoming host Giuseppe, who made us feel at home not hotelguests. Very good breakfast and althoughe promised in critics and at booking sites, the tea with cakes, cheese, fruit and warm snack was a still a surprise when returning home from work on the snowy pistes.
Nice fireplace at night , good wifi connextion in the lounge and breakfast room. Absolutely value for money.
We will return certainly, thank you giuseppe.

Room Tip: we stayed at the third floor , great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

It was not easy to find a descent hotel at resonable price in Cervinia. It took several hours spent in internet so I want to make it easy for others. You do not need to look any further! The Staff of the Grandes Murailles hotel have made our 5 days vacations just perfect. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, afternoon snacks which appeared to be small feasts :-), Giuseppe (the owner of the hotel) and his great Land Rover assuring free and full of fun transportation to the ski station, the fire place at the lobby and sofas available for unlimited time for guests :-), friendly staff taking care for every small detail - all of this was just perfect addition to the great skiing experience we had. Dear Giuseppe, THANK YOU for such a great time. If I ever have a chance to come back to Cervinia, I will for sure stay at your hotel. Tomasz.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spokoluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great small hotel with nice atmosphere and friendly stuff. Went there with my girlfriend just for two day ski trip. We had a romantic room on top floor, nice breakfest, the owner is helpfull advising on skiing etc. 800m from ski area in Valtournenche. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek_K_1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is not a hotel, it is more like a home. Warm and cosy with a generous and caring host, in Guiseppe. Absolutely loved the atmosphere. Great breakfast and substantial afternoon tea each day. We had two rooms. We had a spacious room on the top floor and our daughter had a smaller room on a lower floor. Two shortcomings that should be mentioned are that the walls are thin and if you had noisy neighbours, as my daughter did, you may be disturbed. Also bring your own hairdryer as those in the room, were useless. However everything else about the hotel more than compensated for these minor irritations. We stayed in the hotel for one week and although the skiing was not great with bad weather, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable time in Valtournenche. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valtournenche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Millefiori
Hotel Millefiori
#6 of 7 in Valtournenche
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#4 of 7 in Valtournenche
106 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al Caminetto
Hotel Al Caminetto
#7 of 7 in Valtournenche
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#22 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
166 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel du Grand Paradis & Spa la Baita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Grandes Murailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Grandes Murailles

Property: Albergo Grandes Murailles
Address: Via Roma 78, 11021 Valtournenche, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Valtournenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Grandes Murailles 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Grandes Murailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing