We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Grandes Murailles

Albergo Grandes Murailles
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Grandes Murailles
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Valtournenche
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed there for a week and love it! The hotel is located in the middle of Valtournenche in front of Maisons Gurmes shop. If you'd like to stay in a quiet authentic place, where you can't find bars, apre-ski, shops and lots of tourists, with a great scenery and trekking facilities - Valtournenche is the best choice.
The only problem of this hotel is the price. Everything else is perfect. Nice cozy and clean rooms. Proper sauna and hamam with the ideal chill-out area, which should be booked, so that you can rest alone or with your family. Breakfast includes almost everything you might want, and you can enjoy afternoon tea with hebrs and cheese.
I like the style and decoration of the hotel, which is true authentic. It's a family run hotel and you can feel this atmosphere.
Comparing to other places in Valtournenche, Grandes Murailles hotel seems to be overpriced, but if you're not on a budget, you won't be disappointed by staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    30
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Cute, romantic hotel!! Everything was great, staff was very warm and helpful. Rooms are large and clean. Mountain view with cute balcony. Foods are nice. Location is very near to the bus stop. Definitely, we'll come again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sedaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

good hotel, quiet despite the expensive restaurants nearby, large clean rooms, good breakfast with lots of choice, nice owner and the staf. not far from the ski lift. mountains are beautiful Robert Poland

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert5541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan, italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I can see that cosy is the returning word for this hotel right in the middle of Valtournenche, a small village a few kms from the much more glitzy Cervinia. And all the previous reviewers are right, because the 3-starred Grandes Murailles is a nice little hotel with a warm atmosphere. Rooms (and related bathrooms) may vary and some of them are not so large. The afternoon snack is a nice touch, but you have to consider the not cheap rates for b&b (around 140-150 euros a night during the weekends): but Val d'Aosta is an expensive skiing area, so be prepared. Parking not easy, because the hotel has just a few spots.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We visited in January and were immediately struck but how warm and welcoming this delightfully traditional hotel is.

Guiseppe worked so hard to help us make the most of our experience - and succeeded!

Valtournenche is a much more interesting place to stay than Cervinia. Leave the main road and explore the pedestrian only alleyways which link most of the old chalets and barns. The Bar des Guides and other little treasures tucked away are well worth fossicking out.

The hotel room was beautifully furnished with a homely feel (and comfortable bed).
Unusually for a hotel this size there is a lift which made taking luggage up to the third floor.

Breakfasts were very good and set us up for the day.
The buffet dinners provided in half board are simple but excellent - served early evening only. We should have got the soup recipe!
Spa and steam room are fabulous! Such a treat to have them to ourselves after a long day's skiing!

Thank you to both Guiseppe and Lilly for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth6809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Just returned from our short skiing trip in Valtournenche , very enthousiastic about our stay in albergo Grandes Murailles We could not have whished for more, lovely atmosphere, spacious tastefully decorated rooms, very welcoming host Giuseppe, who made us feel at home not hotelguests. Very good breakfast and althoughe promised in critics and at booking sites, the tea with cakes, cheese, fruit and warm snack was a still a surprise when returning home from work on the snowy pistes.
Nice fireplace at night , good wifi connextion in the lounge and breakfast room. Absolutely value for money.
We will return certainly, thank you giuseppe.

Room Tip: we stayed at the third floor , great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

It was not easy to find a descent hotel at resonable price in Cervinia. It took several hours spent in internet so I want to make it easy for others. You do not need to look any further! The Staff of the Grandes Murailles hotel have made our 5 days vacations just perfect. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, afternoon snacks which appeared to be small feasts :-), Giuseppe (the owner of the hotel) and his great Land Rover assuring free and full of fun transportation to the ski station, the fire place at the lobby and sofas available for unlimited time for guests :-), friendly staff taking care for every small detail - all of this was just perfect addition to the great skiing experience we had. Dear Giuseppe, THANK YOU for such a great time. If I ever have a chance to come back to Cervinia, I will for sure stay at your hotel. Tomasz.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spokoluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valtournenche
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#2 of 8 in Valtournenche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Caminetto
Hotel Al Caminetto
#6 of 8 in Valtournenche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
Hotel Chalet Valdotain
#23 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#4 of 8 in Valtournenche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les Neiges d'Antan
Les Neiges d'Antan
#2 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
4.0 mi away
Saint Hubertus Resort
Saint Hubertus Resort
#1 of 38 in Breuil-Cervinia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Grandes Murailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Grandes Murailles

Property: Albergo Grandes Murailles
Address: Via Roma 78, 11021 Valtournenche, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Valtournenche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Grandes Murailles 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Albergo Grandes Murailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing