We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Valtournenche”
Review of L'Ancien Paquier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Ancien Paquier
Ranked #1 of 22 Valtournenche B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just got back from a one week stay at L'Ancien Paquier, I had only read good reviews so was expecting it to be great. I can only say that my expectations were totally exceeded, as were our friends who stayed too. Really nice rooms, balcony views over the mountains, impeccably cleaned, bus over the road takes you to the ski lifts, or its a 3 minute drive if you prefer to drive, free underground secure parking, lots of seating in the cafe, roaring fire, very good breakfast, staff always asking if you would like an additional coffee (no charge), just about every product (chocolate, biscuits, amazing ice cream, cakes) is made on site by Fabio. And what a host..! He is up to open at 6.00 am, makes all the food, yet always has time to talk to you, book your evening restaurant or give a useful piece of advice. All the staff are so friendly, it really is hard to fault the L'Ancien Paquier. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for L'Ancien Paquier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very nice, cozy B&B. The staff is very helpful and the breakfest buffet very very good. Located very close to nice restaurants, small supermarket and walking distance to the ski lifts
(1km). We for sure wil be back. Sylwia & Jarek

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylwia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have stayed 5 nights in this B&B and this was one of the best experience we had in Italy.
Excellent location (ski bus stops across the street), cozy and clean rooms and an excellent breakfast are some of the things that made our stay there very pleasant. But more than this, the friendly and helpful host, Fabio, who offered us all mornings’ information about the slopes or advices for places to visit nearby. I believe this makes the difference between a good cold hotel and a warm B&B where you have more than “accommodation”.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristiP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Cozy B&B. Free indoor parking. Located close to ski rental and restaurants. Fabio is always friendly and accommodating. He was waiting for us when we were arriving late past midnight. Also an excellent chocolatier.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just spent 6 days at L'Ancien Paquier Valtournenche to visit the area.
We were cordially greeted by Fabio and his assistant , as he helped with our luggage and showed us our rooms and the underground carpark near the hotel . When we settled our things in the room ,he offered us some tea he was a mine of information about the Valtournenche and Valle d'Aosta area.
Our rooms were always clean and had all the necessary things we needed and breakfast was great too.
We appreciated their friendliness and all the information he gave us .It's a place you would want to come back to again and again.
For those who do not find a room at L'ancien Paquier they can stop for tea, coffe and good cakes that Fabio makes himself.
We recommend to al you will not be disappointed besides the locality and area are so beautiful to explore.
.
Regard Josephine Emmanuel JeanPaul Borg from Malta

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had a pleasant stay at L’Ancien Paquier. We spent 4 sunny days skiing in Cervinia/Valtourneche/Zermatt area. We bought the international forfait at Valtourneche and everyday we went to Zermatt and return. It’s easy, because everything is linked, but you need to leave Zermatt around 3 pm, to have plenty of time on the way back. Cervinia has long and large slopes; Valtourneche is more a family oriented ski resort. Valtourneche is a cosy, calm and peaceful village.

The L’Ancien Paquier was perfect! The room was great, clean, comfortable and with Free wi-fi. Fabio (the owner) and Claudia, were super friendly and helpful. Fabio kept us inform everyday with the weather conditions and gave us suggestions for the dinner places. He booked us some dinners, one at the restaurant nearby (la maison du coq rouge) and another at Cervinia Center - a splendid one restaurant 'Jour et Nuit', food to die for!!

When we opened our room door every morning, there was a delicious bakery and chocolate smell that lead us to the nice breakfast. On the afternoon, on the après-ski, we ate fabulous ice creams at L’Ancien Paquier.

We really do recommend L'Ancien Paquier for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent a week here to go skiing in Valtournenche and Cervinia; location is ideal if you have a car. There is free underground parking by the B&B, and then free parking at the gondola which is just a few minutes down the road. You can hire skis at the gondola itself which includes a free ski locker, so you don't even need to lug your gear back to the B&B each night.

Rooms here are lovely and comfortable and the service is really friendly and helpful. Best of all though is the bar / patisserie / gelateria underneath which has the most fantastic home made cakes, biscuits and ice-cream, and a comfortable sofa to relax on. An ideal way to spend an hour after skiing each day. I need the recipe for the chocolate cake - it's amazing!

The bar shuts around 7pm in the evening which is a shame, don't think we'd ever leave if it was open longer, but there are a few other bars in the village, and a couple of decent restaurants.

Some amazing ski runs in the resort, although it is prone to bad weather, even in April. We had one day with zero visibility and another with really strong winds. Didn't stop us having fun though. Also some fantastic restaurants on the slopes, but get in early or reserve a table as they get busy. Slopes themselves very quiet, no queues, this was over Easter holidays.

Would highly recommend L'Ancien Paquier AND the skiing - had a really fantastic time. Easy drive from Geneva too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valtournenche
0.0 mi away
Albergo Grandes Murailles
Albergo Grandes Murailles
#7 of 7 in Valtournenche
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Millefiori
Hotel Millefiori
#5 of 7 in Valtournenche
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Nid Bed and Breakfast
Le Petit Nid Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 22 in Valtournenche
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Relais du Paradis Chambres d'Hotes e B&B
0.9 mi away
Maison Le Cler
Maison Le Cler
#5 of 22 in Valtournenche
42 reviews
10.3 mi away
B&B Au Coeur
B&B Au Coeur
#2 of 8 in Verrayes
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancien Paquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancien Paquier

Address: Frazione Capoluogo 31, 11028 Valtournenche, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Valtournenche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Valtournenche
Price Range: £56 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Ancien Paquier 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'ancien Paquier, situated in the historique center of Valtournenche, is a bed and breakfast, positioned in a calm and sunny place, a few minutes away from the ski slopes, with great lift connections to Cervinia and Zermatt, during the winter season. In the summer, it is situated perfectly for beatiful excursions and climbs. In our mountain home, you will be able to enjoy nice days, with a relaxing and confortable environment, and you will be able to have a nice holiday surroundead by the beatiful nature. The staff always at your disposal, will guarantee perfect service, courtesy with a welcome fun environment in order to make your holiday memorable in this warm welcome place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Ancien Paquier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing