We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful hosts”
Review of Burwood East Motel

Burwood East Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Burwood East Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Burwood
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very helpful hosts”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our stay in Melbourne was made considerably easier with the very helpful directions to various attractions that we received from our host at the Burwood East motel. We had no way of knowing, for example, that on Sundays seniors can ride free on the trolleys, but thanks to the information provided by our host, we did just that and saw a good part of Melbourne we might not have seen otherwise as a result. It may have taken us an hour to get downtown, but there were plenty of interesting sights along the way. We also discovered how to travel economically and efficiently on the local motorways. Our room was clean and adequately furnished - too bad we didn't have time for a dip in the pool. It looked very inviting in the 30+ temperatures during our visit. If we come to Melbourne again, we'll certainly stay at the Burwood East Motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
18
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Thank you so much to the lovey people at The Burwood east Motel. We spent 7 days in Melbourne ( from Wellington NZ) and found that the Burwood was clean tidy and the staff were so very helpful with directions (better than the information center) We will stay there again on our next visit.We liked the 24 hr Kmart and coles right across the road very handy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As previous reviews have stated, this is very good value. Our room was clean and comfortable and the management were extremely helpful. There are some great restaurants nearby - you just have to drive in either direction on the main road. It is quiet, yet very close to the main road and transport options. We chose it because it was halfway between where we were getting our trailer repaired and the centre of the city. As we were only in Melbourne for one and a half days, this worked out well. However, if you were going to stay for a week or so, and wanted to visit the city each day, be aware that the tram ride will be about an hour each way. If you are from interstate, make sure you ask the manager about how to get a transport card, as you can't buy it from the tram stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spainAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The room was clean, and the staff were helpful. I booked in after hours and the staff had made arrangements for me to access key, left a light on and turned the heater on for my arrival. The location was great with a shopping centre right across the road. The room was quite and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013barbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

There are a lot of things to like about the Burwood East Motel, especially if you are wanting to stay out in Melbourne's eastern suburbs on a bit of a budget. It is clean, the beds are comfortable, the hosts are polite and welcoming, and room pricing is quite competitive. The surrounding area is safe and fairly quiet (by late at night traffic on the main road out front is almost non-existent). A small shopping mall, including 24hr supermarket, is just across the road. There is ample on-site parking, it is convenient to buses and a tram to the city, however allow about 1hr 15mins each way for the tram trip. There is a small clean pool and BBQ facilities, a basic breakfast is available, and equipment is provided in the rooms for basic self-catering (plates, cups, bowls, cutlery, toaster, kettle, bar fridge).

Be aware though that this does not pretend to be high-end accommodation. The building itself is getting on a bit, probably dating from the 60s or 70s. While it is well enough maintained, the age does show a bit and some of the fittings are a bit basic. This was most notable in the bathroom which had a bit of a cheap feel to it, and these facilities don't seem to have been updated as recently as the main part of the rooms. Water pressure is okay, but the low-flow fittings means it's not the greatest shower, and pressure/temperature is highly variable if you happen to hit a time when guests in other rooms are also showering. Quite new wide-screen TVs are provided which have all the free-to-air Melbourne digital channels, but not pay-TV. Wi-fi is available, but is not free.

Overall, this motel is decent value for money. If you're into luxury accommodation perhaps look elsewhere. But if you're happy with a clean, safe, friendly motel in the suburbs for a few nights, without too many extras but which won't cost you too much, then the Burwood East Motel should suit your needs well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boxing_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Large shopping mall opposite. Public transport nearby. Stayed 1 night in family room which was clean & basic. Although located on main road, it was not noisy. The staff was helpful & informative. One drawback : it was a non-smoking room, unfortunately we had heavy smokers next door and when they stood outside the room & smoked, the cigarette smell filled our room which made us uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed a Saturday night for a nearby function. Check in very quick and staff very friendly. Staff pointed out nearby facilities and were very helpful. The room was clean and well appointed for a motel in this price range. Motel was surprisingly quiet given location being on a main road. A good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwood
1.8 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
2.0 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,058 reviews
1.9 mi away
Box Hill Motel
Box Hill Motel
#1 of 3 in Burwood
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burwood East Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burwood East Motel

Property: Burwood East Motel
Address: 355 Blackburn Rd, Burwood, Monash, Victoria 3151, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Burwood
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Burwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burwood East Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Burwood East Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burwood East Motel Australia - Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing