We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punthill hits the nail on the head”
Review of Punthill Burwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punthill Burwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Burwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Great staff! Great location! Good amenities ! This is the third time I have stayed here for work. Nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudiDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Punthill Burwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Excellent customer service, well equipped apartment with all amenities provided. Very helpful and obliging staff with prompt service.

We had been upgraded from a single room apartment to a double room for free which was great way start off our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The attention and service given by the manager Mr. James Cunningham was excellent. He went beyond the call of duty to help us organise the taxis and gave us clear directions to wherever we were going and what transport which could get us there.

We noticed that he was multi-tasking several roles including mopping the floor and cleaning the reception area. Fantastic worker!... and a happy one too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilytan8253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed for one week and even though the Apartment is on the highway we had a room out the back and did not hear any road noise. The staff were very pleasant and nothing was a bother. The tram line is straight out the front and takes approximately one hour to get to the city. A small shopping centre across the road has a few restaurants to choose from, Italian, Malayasian, Subway etc. Woolworths is about a 20 minute walk away. Apartment was very clean and serviced everyday. The only negative was that we could hear the people moving around upstairs. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room out the back if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supermum196009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiranS, Director of Sales at Punthill Burwood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear SuperMum!

Thanks so much for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Burwood.

Regards

Keiran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Hi,
I would just like to say thank you to James and staff from the Punthill Burwood for a fantastic stay there in January. The rooms were very clean, the staff very helpful and the facilities excellent (especially the spa!) The only negative comment I have, is that being on a main road, it was a bit noisy at night. However, we are from the country so perhaps we are not used to city traffic! The rooms themselves were very quiet and there were no noisy guests which was excellent. The hotel manager was also very helpful and patient with our many requests! I would definitely stay there again, and recommend this hotel to friends and family. It was also very easy to get to, with a tram stop conveniently located right outside.

Thanks again,
Kathy

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eskokie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Punthill in Burwood, Melbourne is a great place, especially for a longer stay. I recommend it especially for people who are visiting Deakin University (5 min walk), but it is also a great location for visiting Melbourne. A tram will take you almost from the hotel door to the center of the city (Federation Square with visitor's center, National Gallery of Victoria, etc and to best shopping spots in Melbourne). A trip takes about 40-45 minutes, but trams are going frequently (every 10-12 min) and are almost never crowded (avoid coming back around 5pm). Across the street from the hotel is a bottle shop with a great selection of inexpensive vine and couple of restaurants. A supermarket is about 15 minutes walk through a nice, residential neighborhood.

I stayed in 1 bedroom apartment, which was very spacious, with everything that one needs to cook in a kitchen, and dishwasher, washing machine, desk, comfortable sofa, large closet space, quiet bedroom. It was very clean when I arrived and it was cleaned daily. Hotel gym is small, but it is easy to find a time when other people do not use it.

James, the manager, is very helpful, friendly and professional. He always finds time to help with hotel related things and also to give advice about public transport and the city.
Also, for women traveling alone – I felt very safe at the hotel and the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gagita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Good location as it is right near a tram line but it is far from good restaurants and night life in chapel st or the city.

Does not have 24 hr reception. Manager Paul is friendly and helpful but overworked. House keeping does the bare minimum.

Decor is slightly dated but overall the rooms are good and fairly clean and comfortable.

This is good value at less than $120 per night and even better if you can get a bigger room. Has a gym and spa.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaMarie_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burwood
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
3.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 2 in Box Hill
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Box Hill Motel
Box Hill Motel
#2 of 3 in Burwood
49 reviews
1.8 mi away
Burwood East Motel
Burwood East Motel
#3 of 3 in Burwood
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Burwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Burwood

Address: 300 Burwood Hwy, Burwood, Monash, Victoria 3125, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Burwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Burwood
Price Range: £72 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Burwood 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Punthill Burwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Burwood Australia - Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing