We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming old Mediterrenean style, wonderful food”
Review of Hotel Punta Rossa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Punta Rossa
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very charming old Mediterrenean style, wonderful food”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Sorry this is going to be long, but I've been to this hotel for many years (and so have my relatives before me) changing rooms, occasions etc. that I'd like to give a full description of this place, hoping it might be of help, especially to non Italian readers.
WHY MANY ROMANS LIKE IT
This is a refined hotel not for everybody. Not because it's too elegant (it's not) or too costy (it can be) but because I think you must be Italian and not too young to appreciate it. It probably does not meet international standards, but it has it's affectionate clients coming here for decades. Il Circeo is the seaside place where "pariolini" (inhabitants of a supposedely "posh" area in Rome) go for week-ends or short breaks during the sunny season (april to july, then again september) before taking their real summer holidays (july or august and if they want a seaside holliday usually go to Sardinia or other more attractive seas in Italy or abroad). This certain type of clientele loves the old mediterrenean tradition you can still feel there: the choice of lovely tiles for the floors, wonderful bathrooms and terraces, the white beaten (wrought?) iron tables and chairs in the rooms terraces where you can have breakfast overlooking the sea, the bouganvillas everywhere. We all had-rented seaside villas like that when we were young and like to find that past atmosphere at least once in a while .

DESCRIPTION
It's like an old mediterrenean villa on the sea side 2 hours south of rome. It's in a national park, quite spectacular surroundigs. Cliffs right on to the deep blu sea. ROOMS range a lot. Standards are quite small but pretty and traditional mediterrenean style(lovely tiles on floors, bathrooms and balconies which are small but have a table for two), probably below international standards of luxury though. Deluxe and suites are larger and can be very fascinating with living room, some have fire places and most have large terraces overlooking the sea with sun lounges and tables. Great bathrooms, large, often two in the suites (which also have a single room along with the master bedroom for nunnies or kid), with great tiles, jacuzzi and views. A traditional restaurant overlooking the sea (but not open air) with a lovely terrace for drinks (no meals there). An outdoor SWIMMING POOL (very decent and peaceful before school holidays, then full of children), sun beds on terraces by the sea rocks. Access to the SEA is easy from a terrace with a ladder, there is also a small stoney beach, quiet and pleasant.
The sea is deep blue, not caribbean like or sardinian, but probably the best in the Lazio Region or near Rome (but mind the fact that the best sea in Italy is usually to be found in the islands whereas near big cities can be polluted), which is why so many Romans spend their week-ends there.
The SPA also has a SMALL INDOOR SWIMMING POOL (heated). The Spa itself is ok, not super but ok. This is not truly a spa destination but a seaside destination, very good for week-ends, and if it's too cold for an outdoor swim you can still have a massage and a swim at the spa.
FOOD: I love the saturday evening buffet with lot's of fresh sea food, oysters, raw scampi, prawns, etc. Superb for Roman standards (although rome is only 20 minutes from the nearest sea, reliable fresh fish is hard to find). They also have a la carte varied menu. On sundays and during the summer lunch is also served buffet on the large terrace by the seaside. Not cheap (40 euros pp) but totally worth it in my opinion. A very professional cook provides top quality ingredients: fish, the best buffalo mozzarella (more tasty then cows milk), vegetables, fruits,pasta, etc.
APARTMENTS
They also have apartments (similar to the suites: living room, room, terrace but a bit more simple and with a kitchenette). They rent them for weeks (not days) and they are much cheaper then the rooms, with less service, good for families with children.
SERVICE Not impeccable, but once they get to know you they become very very gentle and will go a long way to meet your needs

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ludovica40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    58
    21
    18
    9
See reviews for
33
102
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

The hotel is just on the rocks, in a gorgeous nature, full of nice smelling flowers. The rooms have sunny terraces on the bay and you feel in a paradise. Rooms are very nice and seem recently restored.
However the service is quite basic and the restaurant quite expensive with a not very very romantic athmosphere like the rest of the hotel. Better to go to the little Old Circeo village full of nice places where to eat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank check20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2006

Wonderful location but the staff at the front desk were generally snotty and unhelpful (it doesn't help that we looked young!).

Food was great in the restaurant but unless you have a car there are very few alternative options for a meal out nearby, and the restaurant generally only had around half the dishes listed available.

That said, the hotel itself is in a great location and the building itself none too bad.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yugesiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2005

The hotel demands modernization. The personnel from the Arabian is careless

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2005

Punta Rossa Seaside Hotel was the last hotel we stayed at on the coast before going into Rome. This hotel exceeded our expectations for hotels in Italy. We had booked a double room but upon arrival immediately upgraded to a suite. I would recommend this if you want a large balcony and a great view of the sea. Our suite (#218) had a huge terrace that hung out over the crashing sea directly below it and looked over the salt water pool off to the other side. The double rooms have balconys too that overlook the sea from a bit of a distance, but they just don't have the ambiance that the suites have....especially the suites that are closer to the sea and the pool. The additional cost of a suite is well worth it.
The restaurant is fabulous........great food, great view and great ambiance. We love to try different restaurants but found ourselves eating at the hotel restaurant quite a bit since every night was sensational.
Everyone at the reception desk was very helpful from offering directions to the National Park to suggesting other restaurants. We would definitely come back and stay here again.......of course, that can't be until we lose the weight we gained from this trip!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2005

The location is sublime, the hotel ridiculous. This is a hotel in decline selling itself on it's location while forgetting to provide services of an adequate level to it's guests.
The hotel is built on a steep incline dropping down to the sea. It is hard to access,difficult to park and not worth the effort. Management of the hotel is conspicuous by it's absence. Some individuals try here and there but the attitude of the front desk staff is reminiscent of a difficult teenager; "can't be asked". The rooms are shabby and while the food is adequate in the main restaurant, just passable at the buffet (get there early,non of it's kept warm) the breakfast is poor. Although the wasps seemed to enjoy it.
The pool area is quite good with direct access to the sea just below the pool.
The spa is poor and inadequate. There is no gym apart from a few weights left outside on racks. The endless and steep stairs from the rooms to the pool will be a challenge to all but the super fit.
Even location, location, location isn't enough without standards of service and facilities. Oh dear!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Melianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 September 2005

This is a 3 star hotel (just) masquerading as a 4 star. The rooms are very, very tired. The food is mediocre - breakfast is a half-hearted affair plagued by wasps. Lunch is slightly better but arrive early as any hot food that is served is not kept warm. The setting is the only thing to recommend it, but as the pool and restaurant are on different levels to the rooms, without any elevator, only regular gym members make it back to their rooms without first aid. It is also much more remote than it appears on the map - the drive there is definitely not for the faint-hearted. The unfit, those of a nervous disposition or seeking a haven of luxury should avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felice Circeo
2.1 mi away
Hotel Maga Circe
Hotel Maga Circe
#2 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.4 mi away
Circeo Park Hotel
Circeo Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oasi di Kufra
Oasi di Kufra
#2 of 9 in Sabaudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Capo Circeo
Hotel Capo Circeo
#4 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
5.2 mi away
Le Dune Hotel
Le Dune Hotel
#6 of 9 in Sabaudia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Rossa

Property: Hotel Punta Rossa
Address: Via delle Batterie 37, 04017, San Felice Circeo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > San Felice Circeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in San Felice Circeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Punta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Rossa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing