We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting and facilities”
Review of Hotel Maga Circe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maga Circe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just spent ten glorious days at this hotel. Having stayed here for three days last summer, there was never any doubt that we would be back. The rooms are very comfortable, but their crowning glory is their full wall window/door opening onto a private balcony. All overlooking the blue Mediterranean.

Breakfast and dinner taste even better when eaten right by the sea and served by waiters in white dinner jackets.

The swimming pool is large, clean and well maintained by the pool staff. There is no unseemly tussle for loungers. All is calm and well ordered.

San Felice itself is delightful. Smart and with a plethora of shops. Particularly good for jewellery.

We ventured away from this beautiful spot only once and that was to go to Pompeii. Next year it will be Herculaneum.

So, we shall be back. How could we stay away?

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback following your visit to Maga Circe. We're absolutely thrilled that during your first stay last year we were able to make you feel and fully understand the real flair of this hotel. We are even more happy now, knowing of having matched your expectation this year and for a much longer period of time.

Thank you for underlining the excellent location of our hotel (in the National Park of Circeo, close to the new town of Sabaudia and the ancient town of Terracina, the Ninfa Gardens not to mention Rome, only 100 km far form San Felice Circeo), the huge swimming pool with sea water (one of the largest in Latium), the view from our balconies, the food and the good service.

Indeed we are very proud of your review.
We Thank you and hope to have you here soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed with our teenage daughter for two nights in a family room. (connecting twin and one king with Seaview). This gave us enough space. Furniture was rather spartan. TV channels only local.
The hotel has its charm, the view and pool directly at the sea is amazing. Even the hotel was full, it looked not overcrowed which was nice. The food was good, breakfast a bid mediocre, no hot eggs possible before 9 am due to kitchen duty roaster....

I personally would go again as I like its old fashioned style. Definitively the hotel would need a bit a makeover (wall paints, new chairs etc) but this is the Italian Charm, no? Pricey in highseason, I must comment.

Room Tip: Take family room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Maga Circe. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your short stay with us. Saint Peter’s week-end is surely one of the most crowded period of the year in Rome Area and that explains high prices and fully booked hotels. But as your noticed our hotel has plenty of open air space to make our guests feel comfortable even in these moments. Also thank you for your suggestions about offering eggs and bacon before 9.00 a.m.: we are adding a note on our menu so guests can order them earlier.
We really hope you will be able to come back and visit us again to check our efforts to meet our guests expectations.
Best regards, Antonella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We got married in San Felice in June this year and the staff at Hotel Maga Circe really made the most out of our wedding celebration at the hotel.

Our guests have said that it was like being part of a beautiful Italian movie, and we agree.

The service was excellent and we felt really taken care of. The waiters at the dinner were professional and service minded, and their sense of humor made the breakfasts moments to remember. Antonella at the Hotel helped us during our planning and answered all of our million questions along the way. She gave us great ideas and tips that we appreciated. We are really happy that we decided to have our wedding celebration at the Hotel Maga Circe.

We also stayed there for a week before and the have to mention the beautiful poolside. It is huge and has more than enough space for all the guests. They had bath towels for everyone and we could eat and drink at the bar or the restaurant during the day. A big + for saltwater pool!! The beach area was super nice for children and sports.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

We have read with pleasure your engrossing review of our hotel for which we thank you. We dedicate great attention to our guests’ comfort and we do our best to offer a cosy atmosphere to add to the beauty that surrounds our hotel, which is set in such a beautiful spot of Italy, so close to Rome, between the blu sea and the green promontory of Circeo. We are proud that our efforts made your stay pleasant, especially because it was such an important moment for you and your guests. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Maga Circe we take the opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We attended our sons wedding in San Felice Circeo and the reception was held in Hotel Maga Circe, the Setting was wonderful and the staff were exceptional. We spent 5 Days in the Hotel
and it was a great experience . The setting was really good and the staff added to our great experience in the Hotel, It is a family run hotel and they really offer a great service and they could not have done enough for us during our stay. Well Done Antonella, Family and staff , thank you for a great experience. Mairead

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDBmariead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Dear MDBmariead,
thank you for letting us be part of such an important moment for your family. We are proud of having helped to make it enjoyable to you all and to your guests. It's been a real pleasure. Thank you again and see you soon!!
Antonella, Remo and all the staff of the Maga Circe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with our sons (13 and 15) and had rooms with a connecting door wich was great for us. Maga Circe has a great location with not much traffic passing by and closeness to the sea. We appreciated the poolarea much. Large, clean, pooltowels, modern sunbeds, showers, palmtrees, a bar etc. It was also nice that you could easily access (by stairs) a small "port" with sand. From there you could wade out in the sea and pass a "jetty" to have a nice refreshing swim in the sea. Afterwards you could shower off sand and saltwater before entering the stairs up to the pool. My husband that loves to swim even swam over to the beach next to the hotel. The lobby were cosy and felt like a small library/living room with magnificent view over the sea due to large windows. We sat there sometimes to have best reception to the free wi-fi :-) Breakfast was great for being continental and staff was very serviceminded and nice. They all wore white jacket with black bow and since its an old hotel you almost expected to see Bogart entering the room. It would never get 4 stars in Sweden, but even if the beds and pillows are a little too hard we would definately stay here again! It was close to a street from where you could walk up to "old town" which was very charming with great restaurants, piazzas, shops and a magnificant view over San Felice Circeo and the sea.

Room Tip: We booked a cheaper family room (with connecting doors) towards the mountain/street since we don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieH_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagaCirce1935, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Maga Circe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Madam, Sir,
It is with pleasure that we read your review concerning your stay at our hotel and thank you very much for your opinion about the professionalism, courtesy and sincere interest expressed by our staff as well as our classical style of service.
We would be glad to welcome you again to Hotel Maga Circe and assuring you our best attention we remain
Sincerely Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We had a visit here out of season and were the only guests. It was so funny to be sitting in the enormous dining room for breakfast and be the only ones. We loved it.
Expensive room but we had been living cheaply and were happy to have the beach front room with all the 'old worlde charm of yesteryear'
Everyone was very nice, friendly, clean and great views. Pools and other facilities were still shut and the grounds were being maintained & possibly updated.
Walked up the hill to the old town for dinner - very pleasant evening

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, it would seem a good idea to ask for a look at the rooms and prices. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamAndGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is a fantastic family run hotel. The service, particularly in the restaurant is fantastic. The hotel has great rooms on the front, overlooking the sea. Large, airy and you can hear the sea at night. Food is great - lots of fresh fish and pasta, perfectly cooked. There is a large pool or the sea to go in. Great village up the hill. If you want a non-chain, hotel offering great food and service - this is it.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Felice Circeo
0.4 mi away
Circeo Park Hotel
Circeo Park Hotel
#4 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Punta Rossa
Hotel Punta Rossa
#1 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Capo Circeo
Hotel Capo Circeo
#2 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Le Dune Hotel
Le Dune Hotel
#6 of 9 in Sabaudia
324 reviews
6.7 mi away
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Penelope
Hotel Villa Penelope
#6 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maga Circe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maga Circe

Address: Via Ammiraglio Bergamini 7, 04017, San Felice Circeo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > San Felice Circeo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in San Felice Circeo
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maga Circe 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maga Circe is a traditional 4 star family run hotel in Lazio, set in the beautiful Tyrrhenian coast, a hundred kilometers south of Rome, in the splendid Circeo National Park. Our hotel lies in a quiet, residential area, at the foot of the Circeo promontory and not far from the famous sandy beach of San Felice. The area is so beautiful that, according to the tradition, in Thirties it was chosen to build a large villa by one of Benito Mussolini's son, Bruno. The rooms of our hotel offer a breathtaking view: they are all overlooking the promontory or the sea. Well furnished and comfortable, they are equipped with TV, mini-bar and air conditioning; many rooms even have a panoramic balcony. You can also enjoy our large swimming pool with sea water and our little private sandy access to the sea shore. And besides all this, our hotel offers a large terrace, a beautiful veranda for your business meetings, a large hall for your receptions and events, a nice room with a cozy fireplace to warm your winter evenings... The Hotel Maga Circe in San Felice Circeo has everything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maga Circe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing