We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place !!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Magnolia Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a place !!!!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just returned from the Magnolia Resort, Katelios. As I said what a place, everthing was fantastic, the staff, the accomodation was spotless, the buffet breakfast fantastic, the bread and greek yogurt was amazing, and the greek breakfast on a Sunday morning, yummy. As already mentioned as well the 'greek night' was brilliant the all you can eat buffet was delicious. I would recommend this hotel 100%. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. Big thanks for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    93
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
32
439
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is extremely well run, with the owners making the time and effort to greet you off the coach when you arrive and also to take the time to say goodbye when you leave. Breakfast is buffet style but is plenty for everyone. All the staff are very friendly and more than helpful should you have any requests or requirements. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet break in the sun. The hotel does have free Wifi but at the time of our visit was not available in the rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My wife's and I booked an 11 night stay in the 1st 2 weeks in June. We arrived in stormy and windy conditions which was not an ideal start! We were greeted and booked in smoothly and taken to our room. There were a couple of issues - the balcony fly screen had stuck closed and the bathroom lights did not work. Ektor was round within minutes and sorted both issues. After 24 hours the weather changed and was blue sky all the way. The hotel was lovely, quiet and comfortable. We were on B&B but ate in the restaurant on a number of evenings as the food was very good and competitively priced. Breakfast was more than adequate for our needs - who really needs a massive breakfast selection? The village and beach was more than a 10 minute walk away unless you are a speed walker! The tavernas there are plentiful and choice is good. Jerry's is about 10 mins walk and offers good atmosphere and Persa's in the opposite direction is equally good. Katelios beach is poor and you'd need to go further afield such as Lassi but you'd need a car. There's effectively no public transport on the island. One bus to Agostoli per day and one back and none at weekends! We found the hotel pool more than adequate - quiet, peaceful and with attended drinks service - what more could you want? We would definitely come back for a holiday where you need a totally relaxing break in perfect surroundings.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KenilworthRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having just returned from this hotel I can only echo the many previous excellent reviews. Accommodation is spotless and cleaned everyday. Breakfast is perfectly acceptable. Evening food was very good, but the jewel for us was the 'Greek Night', an all-you-can-eat buffet with wine included and traditional Greek dancing if you want to. All-in-all this is a very well run hotel with great attention to detail. To the very few who have felt the need to give this hotel a less than excellent review, the owners are attentive because they want everyone to have a good time not because they want to spoil your fun. We all have to abide by rules in our life and if those rules did not exist the hotel would slowly be ruined. To the owners - please keep doing it just the way you are.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evansatmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel and island and cannot sing its praises highly enough. We needed a peaceful holiday, where we could relax and recuperate without the expected noise a family resort would bring. The Magnolia Resort met all of our needs and then some!

From the moment we arrived, to a genuinely warm and friendly greeing from the owners and staff, our expectations were exceeded. With a back drop of mountains, the stunning design of this hotel resort is superb. Beautifully, in fact lovingly, maintained the Magnolia ensures a relaxing holiday.

The rooms were very well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in, this is always a worry due to arthritic hips! The air conditioning was subtle and very effective, finishing touches of fly screens to both the bathroom and balcony doors ensured comfort, and the shutters meant air could get in if you didn't want to use the air con.

The pool was stgunning, crystal clear and a good depth and length, with ladders as well as steps giving easy access to all. The pool bar was open from 11am until late but there was never any noise, apart from the amazing Greek Night. It was so touching to see the staff join in and dance with such pride for their heritage and country.

We ate in the restraunt twice and can honestly say the food was very good, tasty, well presented and good value.

The staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and fun in just the right measure!

I could go on but I will leave that until next time as this will noit be our last visit and we are already planning a return visit.

Well done Magnolia Resort, a true gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrysFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I happen to be senior citizens, but this hotel can be loved by any adult who is looking for a perfect quiet holiday, but with the modicum of light entertainment included.. We have travelled to several five star hotels, but this one has all those standards and delightful staff to match. Rooms are a impeccable, with virtually silent air conditioning, and cleanliness that cannot be surpassed, with quality bed linen, and towels changed every two days. There is absolutely no need to 'book' sunbeds, there are plenty for everyone, and pool towels of good quality are supplied. The hotel is a good ten minute walk from the sea front taverna's of Katelios, which are well presented and traditional. The beach is not one of the best, but is clean and well kept, gently shelving into the sea. There are much better beaches nearby, which would require a car, and the hotel staff will be pleased to advise.
The professionalism of this hotel lies with the management, and special note must be made of "Nota" the delightful grand mistress of all. Everyday she is up early inspecting everything, from cleanliness to ensuring that the sunbeds are exactly placed, and even to working the bar, This lady must be very proud of what she has achieved. Her son Ektor happened to be there when we were and he also is superb at staff management and ensuring that every whim of their customers is catered for. This whole team of staff and management is one of the best I have ever come across. The chef that they employ is keen to produce high quality dishes, and the cost of meals here is certainly not expensive, and if you so wished you need not even leave the hotel for your whole holiday.
Would we wish to visit again ??, Most certainly, and this hotel deserves any accolade it receives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have read all previous reviews and have to agree, the Magnolia is certainly the better place to stay in Katelios and just about in the right position too.
The welcome you get is excellent and for the people that don't know me I have worked in the hotel industry for 16 years in all * hotels and as this is the first impression it's the impression that will last so yes it's important.
The rooms are of good size and have all that you need in them this includes the bathroom little soaps etc, (a previous review advised you didn't get enough) who goes away without bathroom accessories anyway and if you have that's fine treat yourself to some local bathroom products and help the locals,.the shutters in the bedrooms are a god send and very much appreciated in the early mornings, every hotel would do well to have these.
The swimming pool is one of the best hotel or complex swimming pools I have seen, good size you are able to swim in the pool, (the lengths are good size).
There is no shortage of sun beds and places to sit either in or out of the sun and all were in good condition there is books that previous people had left to read and various games you can use which came in handy and as I relaxed by the pool, there is a drinks service so you don't even need to move --- I must say if you want a chilled relaxing holiday this is for you.
The family who own and run the hotel work very hard to ensure your holiday is complete, Ektor used my name when he spoke to me which impressed me and this wasn't that I spend a lot of time talking to him just that he knew his customers which again is excellent in my book, I would like to meet his mum again she is a lovely lady who again works very hard.
Breakfast was ok and if I am being honest feel it could have been more in line with the hotel and it's surroundings and offered more choice of what they currently have on offer but no one went hungry and Helen was there with her beautiful smile.
The Restaurant had a good selection of food for your evening meal and was a reasonable price and of course there are lots of tavernas and restaurants near by where you can enjoy your meal whilst the sun sets over the sea.
I would like to finish with, I am very pleased I went to the Magnolia and I would certainty go again, I met some really nice people there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fionagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
4.3 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
12.9 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
28.8 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
18.9 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
17.8 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Resort

Property: The Magnolia Resort
Address: Katelios 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magnolia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel provides 4 star luxury and comfort at reasonable room rates. We have 50 rooms modern rooms, that have just recently been designed and built. Each and every room has air conditioned comfort, the security of a safe, the convenience of access to wifi internet, and television. Spacious bathrooms with many amenities, Large balconies to enjoy the glorious weather that is Greece. Clean rooms are not the option but are the norm. A beautiful pool awaits you in the center of the hotel, beyond simple beauty this pool is large and functional, as a kids pool is available. Easy access to a well stocked and stylish bar is just steps from the pool area; A few more steps and you will be enticed by the delicacies prepared at the rosebud bistro. The Rosebud Bistro is staffed by a trained Chef and his staff. The amenities, facilities, and aesthetics of Magnolia resort rival anything any other 4 star hotel may offer in the Mediterranean, what will set Magnolia apart for her guest is the attention given to customer care. The Stroutzas family has been in the boutique hotel business for over a decade, and has been in customer service for over 30 years. We want to make your stay pleasurable, and to leave you with great memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Magnolia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Hotel Katelios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing