We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Magnolia Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Class Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at this hotel and cannot find any fault with it at all. Alex and his family were always on hand to help and give advice. The Greek Night was great fun and the food was wonderful. We stayed on half board with the menu being rotated every three nights. The food was excellent with plenty of options which you didn't have to repeat if you didn't want to. There was plenty to chose from for breakfast but you needed to get to the front of the queue for the toaster as it was so slow (only negative thing I can think of). As everyone says it is a very clean place and the bedding and towels are changed regularly. We hired a car from the place down the road, Venus Car Hire, and received excellent service from them as well. We will definitely be returning as we enjoyed the hotel and resort very much. If you want a peace and quiet this is the place.

Room Tip: We had a Superior room, which had a high ceiling, but don't think the other rooms were much diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    79
    20
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
403
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second visit to The Magnolia Resort Hotel and we were not disappointed! It is immaculately clean. The service and care that Nota, Chris and the team, give is second to none and I can only agree with the previous positive reviews.
A huge thank you to all the staff!

Room Tip: We were in Room 225 with great views of the hills in one direction and the sea to the side of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My sister and I have just come back from a lovely week long stay at The Magnolia resort. The hotel is beautiful and clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

Our hotel room was decorated to a high standard and had a balcony that looked out from the back of the property. We were situated on the ground floor. The shower room was a good size and the air cooling worked perfectly. There are shutters so the room remained cool during the day and we actually had to set an alarm for the morning because it was such a dark and peaceful environment we would have slept until noon! They have the most wonderful system for cleaning whereby you take your room card (the room door is accessed by a code - no keys!) to reception and they know you want it cleaned. This means that there are no early knocking of doors and shouts of 'house keeping' to disturb you at any point during your stay. The sheets and towels are changed on a regular basis. When you arrive you are taken to your room and shown where everything is and how everything works. They help you set the safe code and door code.

The pool is the best I have ever experienced - large, clean and the water is the perfect temperature. There are sunbeds for all so no need to get up early and leave your towel outside. The hotel provide blue towels for you to use by the pool (changed twice a week) but we took our own too. It is lovely and quiet until the bar opens and they put music on but even then the music wasn't too loud.

Breakfast is toast, eggs, bacon, fruit (some in syrup), cereals, yoghurt, juices, tea and coffee. The Sunday Greek breakfast was just a deconstructed Greek salad with pastries.

We had lunch from the bar - all their food whether from the bar or the restaurant is very reasonably priced and very good quality. They do salads and toasted sandwiches etc. and you can also buy crisps and ice creams. The bar area is very well laid out and even has a lending library with books and games to keep you entertained.

Much has been said on these pages about the owner who we affectionately dubbed 'Mama Magnolia'. She and her late husband designed this hotel and her care and pride is reflected in everything from the choice of stone right down to the beautiful doorknobs in Reception. She is a presence but then it is her business. She was very friendly and helpful with us.

The little beach town of Katelios is a 10 minute walk away and has plenty of restaurants and, unfortunately, cats in various states of health. We didn't go to the beach at all during the week because it looked a little grubby.

The restaurants were ok - they all served much the same menu with endless amounts of chips. We had the most amazing cocktails at the Alexis Cocktail bar which was definitely my favourite thing about Katelios.

We hired a car from Venus car hire near the hotel - very professional and efficient but do reserve your car (no payment needed) online as soon as you can because they are very booked up. It took us a day to go around the island (very high windy roads) and we stopped for lunch in beautiful Fiskado.

So, we wanted a relaxing child-free week in a good hotel and that is exactly what we got!

The things I would change are 1) Magnolia needs to replace blue pool towels - my two were nearly threadbare and took ages to dry 2) A toast conveyor would be a welcome replacement for the two toasters they have. Waiting in a queue for toast is not really how I like to spend my breakfasts 3) Guests would be prohibited from making video calls by the pool and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larkers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from the amazing Magnolia Hotel. First time in Kefalonia in fact first time in Greece and all I can say is Wow what a first impression. I read the reviews for the Magnolia before I booked and did think it sounded too good to be true but how wrong I was The pictures don't do it justice as the detail and finish of the building is amaxing. The staff were so friendly nothing was too much trouble, the hotel was spotless and nothing was too much trouble. I can honestly say it was the most relaxing holiday I have ever had and the Magnolia more than equals some of the five star accomodation I have experienced in places like Egypt and Mexico. All I can say is absolute heaven

Room Tip: We chose not to upgrade to a superior room and didn't regret the decision. The room was clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just got back from the lovely Magnolia Resort, a great family run hotel, the staff are all very friendly and gave great service, nothing was too much trouble.
As a ceoliac I am always concerned that I am not gong to be able to eat when I am away, but the staff here excelled in providing gluten free food for me, especially Helen at breakfast and Chris on the Greek night.
The Pool area is spotless, there was never a shortage of sun beds, the room very nice, the bed very comfortable.
Happy hour was great, and all the bar staff, daytime and evening were very friendly,
We had a great holiday, I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel has had fantastic reviews and rightly so. If you are looking for peace and quiet then this is the place to be; the hotel is serene and everything is done at a gentle pace, which puts its guests at ease and makes for a very relaxing holiday. The service, cleanliness and accommodation cannot be faulted, all being of an extremely high standard. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the beach where all of the bars and restaurants can be found although there are two tavernas closer to the hotel (Jerry's and Persa's) only 5 minutes walk. As long as you don't require a buzzing nightlife, then this is definitely a go to. Local transport is sparse so if you want shops and sightseeing you need to hire a car or book onto the many excursions on offer.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodluvva54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex,UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have never stayed in such a lovely hotel. Everything about it is top-notch, from the service, amenities, grounds and the fabulous staff. In a lovely setting, and only a 10 minute walk to tavernas etc. Have never seen such a well cared for and spotlessly clean hotel, nothing was too much for the family. Unlike a previous reviewer, I didn't find it soulless, nor restrictive. What do you want to do on holiday?? It was lovely to have no kids about, and to have a peaceful environment to relax. Would give it 11 / 10 for everything!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctietjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katelios
4.3 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
12.9 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
F Zeen Retreat
F Zeen Retreat
#1 of 2 in Lourdata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
18.9 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
28.8 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Resort

Property: The Magnolia Resort
Address: Katelios 28082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Katelios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Katelios
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magnolia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Hotel provides 4 star luxury and comfort at reasonable room rates. We have 50 rooms modern rooms, that have just recently been designed and built. Each and every room has air conditioned comfort, the security of a safe, the convenience of access to wifi internet, and television. Spacious bathrooms with many amenities, Large balconies to enjoy the glorious weather that is Greece. Clean rooms are not the option but are the norm. A beautiful pool awaits you in the center of the hotel, beyond simple beauty this pool is large and functional, as a kids pool is available. Easy access to a well stocked and stylish bar is just steps from the pool area; A few more steps and you will be enticed by the delicacies prepared at the rosebud bistro. The Rosebud Bistro is staffed by a trained Chef and his staff. The amenities, facilities, and aesthetics of Magnolia resort rival anything any other 4 star hotel may offer in the Mediterranean, what will set Magnolia apart for her guest is the attention given to customer care. The Stroutzas family has been in the boutique hotel business for over a decade, and has been in customer service for over 30 years. We want to make your stay pleasurable, and to leave you with great memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Magnolia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Hotel Katelios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing