We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel Kalamota(Kolocep Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Guest House Oreb(Kolocep Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villa Sea Dream Kolocep(Kolocep Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
House Oliva(Kolocep Island)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Rooms Macus(Kolocep Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
750
486
141
41
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
486
141
41
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal frescoa la carte restaurantsbeautiful islandgames roompublic ferryother islandshotel ferryblue caverestocked dailysecurity guardbranded spiritssea viewplenty of sunbedslocal ferrythe main buffet restaurantentertainment teamrelaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in October towards the end of their season however this didn't stop the staff from being attentive, friendly and professional. We chose to do two excursions with thomson one to Montenegro and one to Bosnia, these were both incredible, long days but well worth it! We also used the public ferry to go over to Dubrovnik for a day. We loved the fact it was on an island and you weren't surrounded by hotels it made it feel really exclusive. The only downside is that if you wanted an early night you couldn't as the hotel entertainment could be heard throughout the resort. Would I recommend? DEFINITELY!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank amyowen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maro K, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear amyowen94,

Thank you for sharing your TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort experience.

I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay at TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort, and that we made your stay memorable.


Looking forward to welcome you again at TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort!

Warm regards,

Maro Kulaš
General Manager
TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I'm probably not giving much more information to that which has already been written about this hotel. However we want to add our comments as our holiday here was fantastic. This was our first visit to Croatia and I hope it won't be our last.

Flights and transfers with Tui were fine. Well organised welcome with drinks and cold towels and efficient check in. We had a lovely room (702), which had a strange smell for the first day but soon disappeared - we wondered if it was some type of cleaning product and it certainly didn't bother us. We had a couple of calls from reception during the course of our 2 week stay to make sure everything was ok. For us this summed up how attentive the hotel is to guests' needs.

Food - lots of fresh fruit and salad available at every meal. The quality and choice overall was good. Drinks service at the table was generally prompt and staff all cheery and helpful. We had one meal each at the Al Fresco and Cullunarium included with no additional charge - again standard was fine, not mind blowing but perfectly acceptable. We also paid for a meal at Villa Rose, which was outstanding. Unfortunately due to a number of weddings/private bookings during our second week we couldn't do a return visit, which was a shame.

Plenty of activities available - unfortunately during our stay there were no 'soft' activities i.e. Yoga/Pilates etc, which was a shame. I believe this was due to staff sickness. Plenty of sunbeds on terraces, around the pool and at the beach. We spent most afternoons walking round to the lovely bay past Villa Rose to have a swim in the crystal clear sea. Just to note that this is a designated nudist beach. Evening entertainment was good, we were happy to sit quietly at the lovely four elements bar for a cocktail.

We walked early every morning, following excellent walking tracks around the island. The pine woods were wonderful with hidden long deserted villages and cliff top views. The islanders were friendly and we loved seeing them go about their business - they grow the most fabulous range of fruit and veg. We also made our way to Dubrovnik, the day we picked to go was a little cloudy, which was lucky for us climbing the city walls!

To sum up, the island and hotel is a perfect retreat from a busy home life. We couldn't identify anything at all to find fault with - staff were fantastic, food and drinks great, hotel ambience and cleanliness were perfect. A little culture thrown in with a beautiful city close by. This picturesque island will nurture your soul bird, go and enjoy!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Juliebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maro K, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Juliebec,

It is absolutely nice to read that you had a fantastic holiday, and I am happy to hear that your experience in our resort was up to your expectations.

This motivates us to become even better.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort!

Kind regards,

Maro Kulaš
General Manager
TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Stayed 2 weeks in July 2017.
Had a superior double room with “garden view.” Booked last minute and got last available room through Thompson's. Room was basic , a bit small for a superior room, also bathroom was small and not well laid out . The balcony was ridiculously tiny.
There are many many steps unless you are on the ground floor of one of the villas.

TUI staff well organized, and very helpful.
Hotel staff very helpful and friendly.
Food quite good for an all inclusive, quite a good choice , you can always find something to your liking. The chef cooking fresh pasta dishes to your choice was always very good option.
We found that the house white wine was quite acceptable.
The a-la-carte restaurants were a bit of a disappointment, and we would not use them again.
Some of their cocktail mixes were a bit strange , but otherwise a good choice of drinks available.

Good to see dress code being enforced in the evening , but disappointed to see men in sleeveless vests at breakfast and lunch.

Nice clean pool and plenty of sun loungers. Not too many noisy organized activities .

This is an adults only hotel with its own small private beach and as such you would expect it to be fairly quiet and child free. What you do not expect is that the small public beach next to it becomes very crowded and noisy. With many tourists and their children arriving on the island by ferries and crowding onto the public beach and into the sea in front of hotel. With so many people invading the island and walking up and down looking for things to do it became a totally different place.
The lone hotel security guard really had a hard time running up and down trying to keep non hotel guests from using the hotel facilities , pool and showers.
In late afternoon when all the ferries had departed with the visitors the place became calm and tranquil again. It really is a beautiful place and the hotel is in a great location.
We were told that July and August are the busiest months, we would go back but not then.
Overall a good relaxing holiday .

Room Tip: Ground Floor, Suite ,804
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FUNWALKER_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maro K, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear FUNWALKER_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort. It is great to hear you had lovely holiday while staying with us.
I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is important to us in order to improve the service.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcome you back.

Maro Kulaš
General Manager
TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

In the summer that brought us Love Island, a visit to Kalamota is guaranteed to offer a slightly different experience. 'Melt' takes on a whole new meaning in this weather and the 'bantz' is drowned out by the silence, but there is a lot too and a lot of 'Love'. You will love arriving by boat, something quite special about leaving land behind and approaching your own Island. Buddha says it's better to travel well than arrive but he clearly hasn't been to Kolocep as arriving here is tantalising, you feel stresses literally seeping out of you. The rest of the time at the Kalamota is spent in awe of crystal clear waters, breathtaking scenery and well the sound of crickets. If you are looking to recharge your batteries Kalamota will turn you into the Duracell bunny. The food and drink is great, the people are lovely (both staff and guests) well ... that scenery.

Top tips:

Upgrade to a sea view junior suite in 6 or 8.
Go and see the blue cave.
Visit Dubrovnik
Stroll, eat sugared almonds
Take a snorkel and mask.

Tips for Hotel:

Employ 5 more staff, 3 in the restaurant and two round the pool (drink service round the pool would have such an impact).

Will definitely be back for an annual recharge.


Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maro K, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Ian P,

It is great to hear you had a lovely holiday at our TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. We appreciate your kind comments about facilities and especially the staff as they are committed to exceed our guests’ expectations and this is great motivation to become even better.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next year.

Kind regards,

Maro Kulaš
General Manager
TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

What an amazing place, we stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed every minute, the place is fantastic you never have to hunt for a sun bed with choices of by thr sea, the pool or the senses bar. The people are so friendly and helpful we met many couples who had been here before (one couple it was their fifth time) which speaks for itself. It's ideal for couples as no children so what better for a relaxing holiday you can do trips to other islands and Dubrovnik is only a half hour ferry ride away (a must see as it is beautiful) we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maro K, General Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Kalamota Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear kevanddon,

Thank you for taking time to share your holiday experience at TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort.

I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we made your stay memorable. This motivates us to become even better.

It would be an honour for us to host you again in the future.

Maro Kulaš
General Manager
TUI Sensimar Kalamota Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews