We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is great for the family or for honeymoon. You can relax in from of the ocean. You can buy the all inclusive package and you will enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner. My recommendation is to choose breakfast and dinner only because is a lot of food. If you are going to be traveling in the island then choose breakfast only so you can visit other restaurants in Ponce or Mayaguez city.

Room Tip: I like the room in the corner so you have the patio and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ''Great Place to relax''
Thanks for your stay, comments and recommendations to future guests!
Appreciated

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
rortiz@copamarina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    439
    152
    69
    36
See reviews for
456
527
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We traveled the whole island when we came to visit PR. I couldve stayed in this hotel for the entire 10 days. The location is stunning; blue waters and clean sand.
The cabanas were abundant and beautiful. The bar is fully stocked and the drinks are strong.
They have multiple pools which are clean and the water is cool.
Nightlife seemed vibrant but we indulged a bit much during the day that we weren't able to take full advantage.
The one deterrent was that the grounds are quite extensive and there is no assistance with luggage at check in. If they provided bell service I think it would be a wonderful upgrade to the already beautiful hotel

Room Tip: If you cant do stairs certainly ask for a room on the ground floor as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ''What a Dream''
Your comments and feedback are most appreciated! We have added two new bellman to our team to improve luggage service !
Looking forward to your next stay!
Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
rortiz@copamarina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This place was relaxing and comfortable. Most people were from Puerto Rico and the staff was nice and accommodating. The drive to the hotel is narrow with lots of turns- if you arrive at night just be aware.

When we arrived in San Juan - we stopped at a grocery store - picked up fruit, sandwich stuff and some alcohol. I am so happy we did as we could make drinks and not have to eat pricy hotel food the whole time.

We went out to Gilligans Island one day, a mangrove island. We brought a small cooler of water and snacks. Go early, drop your towels, hop in the water and talk to the locals - a lot of fun. You can drive up the road for a public beach - however the be prepared for people wanting to park wherever they like - the locals are crazy drivers!

The downside is the hotel is simple, not a 5 star hotel. However if you want to get away from it all - sit under a palm tree, read, relax and meet nice people - this is a place to go.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dbcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Saludos dbcg !

It was nice to read your review. Thank you !!! We want our guest to fully enjoy all of the great resort amenities we have to offer.
Should we be of assistance in any way please contact us directly at 1-800-981-4676 or by email at reservations@copamarina.com
Always at your service,
Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
Copamarina Beach Resort and Spa
rortiz@copamarina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayey, Puerto Rico, Caribbean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Called for maintenance service several times for over two hours, even doe Service Desk responded no one from maintenance show up to my room. I walked to the service desk and they said maintenance just leave, without taking in care of any of the calls. The closet in the room have moth everywhere. The room look like abandoned. It was my first time staying in this resort, if can called that way. The location is good but there is no value for the money. I stayed in better places in the island with same amenities for less.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingtheworl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabin O, General Manager at Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear ''Terrible service"'

Please receive my most sincere apologies for not being up to your expectations and fail to respond to your request on time. Your comments are appreciated and will give us an opportunity to review and improve our guest request / response program as well as our pest control program.

Hopefully we will have an opportunity to see you again and gain your trust in Copamarina

Sincerely

Rabin Ortiz
General Manager
rortiz@copamarina.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Copamarina towards the end of June 2014 and really enjoyed the resort and surrounding natural environment, the forest and ocean.

Having been to the area before, we felt generally secure in driving the dark, winding road at night along the ocean and then through the forest. We checked in a bit late around 9:00 pm and were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. They were efficient and helped us with our luggage to our room. While the room is not top star quality, it's comfortable and clean and provides easy access to the great surroundings and activities. Additionally, the room provided a comfortable bed, television, refrigerator, and a nice view overlooking the water. While at the Copamarina, we hiked the Guanica dry forest, had a drink at the outdoor bar to watch World Cup Soccer, and rented a 2-person kayak at the lodge and took it to Gillegan's Island. During the rental process, the instructors provided very basic instruction and sent us on our way. If you rent a kayak, know that there is some current and winds generally blowing from the east so be sure to calculate that into your trajectory in heading for the island; otherwise you could get caught in the greater current and miss your target and have to be picked up by the motorized boat. The trip going to the island took about 30 minutes or so and the return about half the time. Note that Gillegan's Island can be very crowded with people who take ferry boats from the nearby dock and spend a good portion of the day there, drinking, grilling, eating, playing music, etc. On the island and in the water, we found a significant amount of trash and dangerous objects if you are in your bare feet - broken glass, beer cans, tampons, condoms, etc.

If you are kayaking and want a better nature experience you may want to head to a different island or other part of the coast line which is less inhabited. Back to the Copamarino - we would definitely go back there and spend a few days. The Guanica area has many other natural places to visit and its a good place to lodge since it offers a descent room, onsite food and services, beach access, and even a spa with massage. The beaches were clean and the resort provides chairs, umbrellas, etc.

Room Tip: When you drive along coastal areas, such as Guanica, you will see Tsunami evacuation routes posted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolesvilletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This place has a lot of activities to do! It's got two large pools (which one of them is only 3'6" at it's deepest end), two jacuzzis and two smaller pools just for kids. The beach had a lot of algae, but it's fun if you like to snorkel with the kids... not so great for kids who find it "yucky". It has a little dock where they take you to Gilligan's Island (YES! Gilligan's Island), which is not really a private island like some people think. It's totally open to the public in general, just not through the resort's facilities. That island is really nice! The water is crystalline and there's a lot of fishes (which my little one enjoyed a lot). There's also different kinds of water activities like kayaking paddle boats, etc. You can rent these. There's also an area for kids to play in like a "jungle gym" (that's how we used to call it when I was a kid).

Oh! And if you want to eat at the hotel's restaurant, they have two: a formal dining room inside where you have to make reservations, and a more laid-back, open restaurant (the host seemed more like a waitress than a host because she wasn't at the entrance very often, leaving customers waiting for long periods of time) and they also have waiters at the beach with a reduced menu. AND they have a carry-out service where you can order from your room and they call you for pickup when the food's done. That was nice for when we came from a long day at the beach and didn't want to leave the room.

Housekeeping was not so great, though. They made our beds, took the trash out, and changed our towels, but that's basically it. Oh! And they brought the little bags of coffee every day (Side note to management: please change the coffee makers. They make NASTY coffee. Yaucono's a really good coffee... I drink it... so I know it wasn't that the coffee was bad.) The floor was dirty from the moment we arrived and they didn't seem to clean it that well during our stay either. Not very pleased with their service, even though they were friendly.

All in all, it was a great stay. I really enjoyed it, and want to go back and probably stay longer (maybe a week... we stayed 4 nights). I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I'd just like a better housekeeping service next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Migdalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Had everything we needed for a relaxing time at the beach. Only negative is the quality if good available at the resort restaurant. Prices are too high for the quality but there are a couple of gems on the menu. Homemade ice cream and the mofongo were worth it. Good room, great property too. Found a huge hermit crab and conch right on the beach first day.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
63.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
71.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
79.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
63.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing