We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guanica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mary Lee's by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Guanica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Augustus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Very comfy...welcoming first impressions in the apartment with lights on for our arrival. Big space, bbq, sun lounges, good shower, all kitchen equipment worked.
Part of it's charm is the quirkiness with painted...everything! Lampshades painted, chairs, tables...even the fridge!
TV would have been good to chill out to after a long day travelling about.
Remote area but good to get away...
Hired kayaks from them which was fun
Would have been good to have info about the area...no host to help...Mary Lees is not as she is on the website as now using a zimmer frame...seemed sweet enough though
Snorkeling would have been good but couldn't find where to hire
All in all...an experience!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeGee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    42
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
41
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Just came back from another extraordinary stay at Mary Lee's... For years, Mary Lee has created a unique paradise for those who want to get away from it all... and still have the conforts of being at home. Second to none, the views, the rooms and the tranquility are unmatched. As usual, we stayed in Pacifica and it was spotless and fully equiped. Mary Lee's staff kindly provided us with requested "extras" as well as with their incredible professionalism. While in Puerto RIco, if you REALLY wish to taste a bit of our "enchantment", do NOT miss Mary Lee's. I was born and raised in Puerto Rico, and could not make it through a year without at least a week in this little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: My personal favorites are Pacifica, Alegre, Contenta and Encanto because of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAIBPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Mary Lee's is a very nice and affordable place to stay. I have no idea why there are some negative reviews here. We stayed at Mary Lee's for 5 nights. We were in Ruthie's for the first 4, then in Sirena 1 for the last night. Both apartments were lovely. Ruthie's is a studio but extremely spacious and we slept very well. Sirena 1 is bigger and just stunning with lovely views of the bay. I could see the sun rise from the bed in the morning. The kitchens have everything you need to cook decent meals. The bathrooms are also lovely. Everything was clean. No complaints. Although there isn't a beach at Mary Lee's you can still climb off the dock and swim. I recommend it at sun rise! (see picture)

Guanica is beautiful with a huge variety of beaches all very close to Mary Lee's. Highly recommend eating at the restaurant by the Gilligan's Island ferry (walkable from Mary Lee's). It's very relaxed with bench style seating but we had some of the best seafood we had all week. They don't serve alcohol but we brought our own wine which was fine with them. In terms of groceries, the Econo supermarket is 15 minutes drive away and has more than everything you need to eat well while you're staying at Mary Lee's.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I saw some bad reviews and had to say a few words here. We. my wife & I have stayed here 4-5 times and never had a bad exp or time. We usually stay in Ruthie but we were able to saty in contenda this time. Both are excellent! Never saw any bugs or oter problems as some have said. We love the workers there, all are very helpful! It's not the place to go for the party life, but to relax there's no better place we've been. There are some great places to eat within 30 min like La Pargeura and Sabana grande. Guanica is a great place to visit the forest there is great also.
Thanks Mary lee - Susie - Bay - Erma - Erick!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmyrmJerseycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The location and the outside of this property has very nice views........inside at first glance looks shabby and worn out....That is not the problem.

The problem is the filthy conditions of this unit..It looked like the place has not been cleaned for a while, filthy,dirty to say the least! and when I brought this to their attention nobody seem to give a hoot. First we had a reservation confirmed when we showed up the person the came to the door had no idea who we were or that we had reservation..when she finally found it she mention that we were lucky that she was still in the premises and that she was getting ready to leave since she is the owners health aide and she is not part of the HOTEL STAFF..bathrooms full of mildewy stuff all around the base of the toilets, shower floor was told looks moldy but is not!, kitchen, appliances, counters, utensils disgustingly dirty, bed sheets and pilow cases smelly, ANTS on the bed, ROACHES on the walls (all room was covered in some kind of bamboo or straw like stuff, FAULTY electrical wiring ( WE WERE TOLD THAT THEY WERE HAVING ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICITY LIGHTS WERE BLINKING) A/C too cold or too hot, told owner about dirty condition of the unit, she said that her staff was getting too complacent since she is an elderly person and cannot supervise them anymore.

Next day we had planned to go to Gilligan's island so we did ask them to clean the unit, the captain that took us there a very nice helpful person ( he doubles as a handyman there).
upon our return 3/4pm then they send him and the health aide to clean our room we said no too late, that we thank goodness were leaving next day..for the price we paid we expected a clean place.This place is old, shabby worn out but at least they could keep it clean.

This could be a decent place if they clean up their act, and properly train their staff...i don't wish this experience on anybody. the person that check us out was very rude and arrogant. and reading other reviews I am not the only one with this experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have been to Puerto Rico maybe 5-6 times, all over, including Culebra. But this is our favorite place as a family. It is quiet, and has much natural beauty around. You can take the boat or kayak to Gulligan Island or there is a nice beach nearby which is almost empty during the week. These beaches are MUCH busier during weekends. The units each have their own character but they are all furnished in a unique way that can be only described as "frayed island chic" - really charming. Our favorite unit is Tranquila because it is large and has another level above it, so it always reasonably cool. I have to say that staying in the units which are not part of the main complex makes the experience considerably worse. Tip: You absolutely have to visit the Cabo Rojo lighthouse, and the adjacent beach. This is what tropical paradise is all about. But again - avoid the weekends at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

That place was a nightmare!! roaches and who knows what other critters... A hodgepodge of wires,lights that don't work.. owner and staff could care less about the comfort of their guest!!
Except! Luis the boat captain.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maudi_0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
3.8 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
11.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Inn
Turtle Bay Inn
#1 of 3 in Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
22.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
7.7 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Lee's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Lee's by the Sea

Property: Mary Lee's by the Sea
Address: Rte 333, Km 6.7 | Guánica, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Guanica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small self catering resort located on the Bay just outside of Guanica, PR. We rent fully furnished units. The bedrooms of all our units have AC, and all have a BBQ area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mary Lee`s By The Sea Hotel Guanica
Mary Lee's By The Sea Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing