We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mary Lee's by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Villa Parguera(Lajas)(Great Value!)
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cofresi Beach Hotel(Boqueron)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Combate Beach Resort(Cabo Rojo)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
61
45
14
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
45
14
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgilligan's islandwell equipped kitchenlounge chairsguest housewasher and dryertrip to puerto ricopacificaapartmentmangroveskayakingbedroomtranquiloloungingrentalprcloset
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico. My female companion's company had an event planned at a big hotel resort in Ponce complete with golf course, casino, and a big pool area. We wanted someplace nearby to decompress before we checked in to the resort. She found Mary Lee's By The Sea in Guanica. and we decided this was the place for us. When I called, Mary Lee answered and we reserved Encanto, the apartment closet to the ocean. The blue sky, blue water, temps in the 80's and a constant breeze were just what we needed. Sleeping to the sound of the ocean and little concern about time was our own little paradise. We shopped for food from a local fruit vendor, in the local supermarket, and bought great fish in the fish market. The beaches nearby were all but deserted on a Thursday and we enjoyed snorkleing in the mangroves on Guilligan's Island, a short boat ride away, early on Friday. We had great food and sangria at Moon's in La Parguera Friday afternoon before an evening boat ride to the bio-bay. Saturday and Sunday we just hung out and prepared tiger prawns and fresh fish. The reviewer describing Mary Lee's as tacky and comparing it to Motel 6 is totally missing the point. Mary Lee is 91 years young and has welcomed guests for 52 years. Imagine visiting your coolest female relative, who long ago gave up shoveling snow for bare feet in the sand, and wants to share her little spot of Caribbean paradise with you.

Room Tip: Encanto is at water level and quiet except when the weekenders show up for kayaks and boat trips. If you are not sure which room is right for you, just call and ask. Having a kitchen makes eating much simpler, especially in the mornings and on weekends.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Obviously this place has a good reputation, but staying in Serena is not where it got it. Tacky is the only way I could describe it. Too bad we spend #130 for a place that would not equal a Motel 6. Mary Lee is charming, but that was the only plus here. Perhaps the other rooms are nice, but this one isn't. I would not go there again!

Room Tip: Don't stay at Serena or the apartments away from the main lodging!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Its funny because this is location only has I think 9 units but literally everyone on the entire island has either stayed there or heard of Mary Lee's by the Sea. Our unit overlooked the water with a view of Gilligan's island about a half mile out. We were allowed use of the on-site kayaks to row across and spend the day on the island. This place is really gorgeous and tucked away. I went for a nice run on the street through groves of trees and by wild hills. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You don't really get a choice since its like renting a condo. All are waterfront. I would say get the upstairs unit for slightly better views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

There's nothing that can beat the amazing view from the Encanto Room. I've been visiting Mary Lee's for a while now and I definitely consider it a hidden gem. Located in a waterfront property, you get to chose from a wide varity of rooms depending on how big your party is. In one of our trips we booked Sirena 2, a detached unit on the second floor. We were able to fit 10 people very comfortably. On my other stays I've been lucky to get Encanto. It's a quirky decorated studio with everything you could possibly need. The bed is big (King size) and comfy. There's a seating area to read and chat, a full kitchen, small dining table, huge closets, a gigantic shower and a breakfast table and beach chairs right in front of the water in your own private terrace, bbq included. Oh, did I mention that you get a million dollar view of Gilligan's Island? Where you can go on one of the kayaks that Mary Lee's offer. Just $35.00 for the WHOLE DAY!
All this costs around $75.00-$120.00 per night depending on the season.
If you want peace and appreciate privacy, book your stay during weekdays leaving on saturday. It's the best way to enjoy Gilligan's Island without the craziness and dirt that usually happens during weekends and holidays. (It's really LOUD).
Bring your own food and enjoy breakfast while admiring the sunrise or bbq at night under the stars.
(Not a crazy variety of restaurants around, but there's an Econo Supermarket close by)
From the hotel you can easily go hiking to the Dry Forest or enjoy the amazing beaches around the area.
No tv on the rooms unless you request one, but you won't need it.
Bring your own toiletries and beach towels.
Free parking in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anitaloramejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We didn't stay at the rentals but we did rent a kayak from here to go to Gilligan's Island. The owner was very nice. She didn't know a lot of English but managed just fine to communicate. You can take a kayak for the whole day 9 am to 5 pm for only $45. Great deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews