We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of our best vacations yet!”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Bonita
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Bonita
Villa Bonita Captain\'s Quarters private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Villa Bonita
Villa Bonita
Captain\'s Quarters private terrace
Captain\'s Quarters fully equipped kitchen
floating
Dive Boat loading at marina
Playa Santa
Playa Santa Beach
Gilligan\'s Island
Angel says: See you at Villa Bonita
Perfect Sun Set
Island Scuba: dive shop & boat: just steps from Villa Bonita
Manglillos: Beautiful -snorkel,shore dive, swim, float, picnic, tan & so much fun in the SUN!!
Island Scuba (sanjuandiver)
Did I mention FISHING?  The Best!!
Sun Set at the Beach: Playa Santa
La Jungla ~ Just Relax . . .
Playa Santa Water Front~Beautiful Beach access
Marina~steps from Villa Bonita
Paddle Boats at PLAYA SANTA
Pino's Banana Boat Ride
PINO'S Boat & Water Fun
Having a Great DAY!
Great food right on the BEACH!!
bananas at the Villa Bonita!!
little beach - just a few steps
always lemons!!
catching some sunshine
Boat Tour with Pino's Boat & Water Fun!!
One of our favorite restaurants-watch the SUNSET!!
Just before Sunset
Morning Swim
Local fisherman bring in fresh fish/lobsters/octopus daily-just 2 houses from Villa Bonita
Little Beach
bedroom 2 of 3 at the CAPTAIN'S QUARTERS
fully equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Guanica, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OopsADayZ
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our best vacations yet!”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We traveled to Guanica with another couple and stayed in the captains quarters unit. We arrived in the evening as we flew into San Juan and rented a vehicle to head down. Boni was kind enough to suggest some places along our drive in to gather groceries as we mentioned that we had planned to do a little cooking while we were there (breakfast, picnic lunches for the beach). We stopped in Ponce and gathered our sundries. The drive was easy and beautiful as we passed through the mountains and watched the sunset.

We easily found the villa and quickly unloaded. Waiting upon our arrival was a gorgeous sunflower arrangement on the countertop! Boni was waiting for us and even assisted us in bringing items to our unit. The initial impression of our unit was excellent - a large terrace to relax and enjoy the beautiful breezes., not to mention the view of greenery and peeks of water. She welcomed us to check out the third level terrace as well, which was just as beautiful!

We stayed in and made some food, anxious to rest up for the next day. The bedrooms each have an air conditioner and we found the beds to be comfortable, with an additional blanket available as needed.

The following day, we walked to little beach(so very little! it's like a VIP area well hidden) and big beach! What a beautiful area big beach is, with clear bluish-green waters. The big beach was a favorite of ours, as during the week, it was quiet. The beach is clean and bottom sandy with no need for water shoes.

We found our way to some local places to eat... recommended by Boni. She was dead on as we decided to eat in Guayanilla and then walked next door to dance, drink, sing karaoke, and dance some more.. We had a blast!

Our next day took us to Guilligan's Island where we boarded a ferry for an 8 minute ride to the island. It was an easy place to hang out in the water, swim, snorkel and relax. If you sit in the water close to the mangroves, the tropical fish will come around you in schools!! We packed a lunch, but you can also order from the ferry folks and they'll deliver to the island.

We returned to the big beach on the weekend and enjoyed lots of music and people watching as it was busier. We decided to take a jetski tour with PinoBoats and got to see a little more of the waters and the island. We also did the banana boat with Pino's crew - what a riot!!! Stop by El Ancla Flotante and grab a lobster empanada or two.. they are the bomb!

A trip to La Parguera was our last night in the area and it offered a great meal and fun entertainment, as well as a trip to the winery (and a peek at the bioluminescent water!)

The villa is in an excellent location for diving (the dive shop is around the corner), snorkeling and heading to the beach. It was truly the perfect place to unplug, unwind and recharge. We spent our later nights playing a couple of board games and having drinks, or listening to music and stargazing. If you are a stargazer, this is the place to lay back and watch. With very little light noise, the starts seemed to just pop! We enjoyed seeing Boni and her dogs, Belle and Max, every day. She checked in on us frequently and offered the use of her cooler for our Guilligans Island trip. She also has floats you can bring to the beach if you just want to lounge in the water and catch an awesome tan.

We found the unit to be clean, with all the kitchenware we needed, as well as linens and towels. I thoroughly enjoyed the fact that she has no television in the unit (she can bring one by request if needed). Wifi is available and cell service was easily available with AT&T. We would highly recommend Boni's place for just a couple or an entire group - we're thinking of renting all three of her units and bringing more of our friends to enjoy next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
66Norbert
Gottmadingen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cosy appartment with friendly owner”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the appartment on the second floor (there is one on the third, too). Ours had three bedrooms, while we used one as a walking closet. Everything is available from air condition, over the fridge to a toaster - there is a second bathroom outside. The verandah is big and even with rain great to stay out.
Bonita, the owner, is super-friendly and really cares about her guests. The communication after the booking was extremely responsive. Later she helped us with a phone call and even sent a forgotten necklace to our German address! We were always in good hands with her and when we had to tell her that the coffee pot was broken, she shrugged and said, she will buy a new one...
The way to the nearby beautiful sand beaches is between 5 and 10 minutes depending, which one you choose. This village is remote, but worth to stay for a couple of days (or longer!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner and good location
Liked least: Air condition is installed only in bedrooms and has limited capacity
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you for chosing our part of paradise! A TRUE PLEASURE to have met you all & hoping to see you again in the future.
Bonita & Crew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPuell
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to dive Guanica”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were traveling as a group of five to go diving with Island Scuba, which is right next door of Bonita's. So convenient! We stayed in the Captain's Quarters, an apartment big enough for all of us, with a full kitchen, a terrace and a hose and space to clean our gear post-dive! And what a great host! Bonita was amazingly accommodating, letting us come back after checkout time to clean up before hitting the road and brought us delicious breakfast at 6:00am, even putting on the coffee for us! We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bonita
Liked least: The mattress was way too soft for my back, but that's me.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvmtravel...
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beaches galore”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great location for beach hopping--4 beautiful beaches in walking distance! Nice house, split into several " villas"; we stayed in the central "captains quarters " --3 bedrooms ( which can sleep up to 9), 1 bathroom,with an additional bathroom (fully enclosed) outside on the deck. The only downside was the shower--poor water pressure at best, and no hot water inside ( something was wrong with the system,so hopefully that improves). Nicely kept, spacious for us ( 3 ), but likely cramped if you actually have 9 people. The owner has the apartment downstairs, and she's a very nice and attentive hostess. The largest market is not too far away, and there's a small local bodega in walking distance, also a dockside fish market practically across the street ( you can't get any fresher fish). Big deck and outdoor area, with great bbq grill, makes outdoor dining & hanging out terrific. Really enjoyed it!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful off the beaten path relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Villa Bonita was a wonderful place to stay - very comfortable accommodations with a beautiful porch that had a constant breeze. Close to the beach, secure rental, great location. I would recommend this place for a couple or a family. The owners were more than helpful and made our stay a fantastic experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M
New York City, New York
1 review
“A tranquil paradise”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Ahh Villa Bonita, we had such a fantastic experience. Great accommodations, super friendly and hospitable owner, and many laid back and beautiful beach options within walking distance. As well as great local food near by. We felt like we were friends with Bonita and Jeff during the course of our stay, but also felt that if one wanted total privacy they could absolutely have that as well. It's great to feel like you are living there during your trip, as opposed to visiting in a hotel. Absolute serenity. Many thanks to Villa Bonita, highly recommended!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Just an absolute pleasure to meet you both~what great fun to talk with you & hoping to see your faces in the spotlight!! Thanks so much for stopping in with us along your life travels!
Bonita, Jeff, Max & Belle from the Villa Bonita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billm26
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very clean accommodations and attentive owner”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our party of 2 couples spent Thanksgiving week at Villa Bonita. We're were in Guanica to dive. The location, accommodations and owner were all excellent. Bonita made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Bill & friends !!! Max & I loved having you stay with us - Please come back any time & check out all you didn't see. I find another new "thing" to check out every day!! Thank you so much for choosing Villa Bonita!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing