We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something to say”
Review of Konoba Morgan

Konoba Morgan
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Brtonigla
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“something to say”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The restaurant is in a very interesting location. Lots of green, beautifully decorated and it's all ..
Very old-fashioned gastronomy is visible in all aspects, restaurant staff is not very professional and do not act interested in the job they are doing.
Upon arrival we were greeted, escorted to the table and menus are being offered, and of course we have asked for further wine list ; the waiter turned his eyes and deeply lamented by giving us know that he is in an extra effort. When we asked the waiter to clarify certain foods and items from the menu he was not been able to give the answers, and has further angered.
The menu itself was not interesting with very little choice and the wine list is not defined, finally we ordered wine and water, and after we were served the same waiter did not come back on the terrace. When our necks twisteda female waiting staff comes and receives our orders, the food was oversalted and cold, the wine was warm and the bread was normally charged.
We are very disappointed and will not recommend this restaurant as the guests are peeled as potatoes are in the army!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zigubigule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    43
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasent evening”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

A beautiful view, a warm atmosfere, a good food ..a little bit unprofessional service buuut they are young and trying !!
I would recomande it for a nice evening with your lovely ones !!!

Helpful?
Thank Tea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“False expectations”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The problem of this place is that it is too highly rated. 14 points on Gault Millau Austria and one of the best restaurants of Istria in a Croatian Guide? Definitely not. Decent food and good value? Definitely yes. Anyway, first things first. The ambience of the place is ok. Some outside tables have a nice view, but the overall atmosphere is more rustic than fine dining. The service is ok, but not refined. We got everything we needed, but sometimes had to ask for it. Nothing major though.

I had foie gras as appetizer, which was nice. The mushroom risotto of my son was uninspiring, the rice too 'al dente' and not salted enough. For mains, they were out of Fiorentina steak, but I had the beef cutlet instead. The portion was huge (over 500 g), the steak well seasoned and nicely grilled. The meat could have been a bit more tender, but for EUR 12.50 you can't complain. My son had the braised beef with polenta, which was very nice, but could have come with more sauce. My wife had grilled chicken which was also ok.

All in all a nice dinner with good value. We got what we paid for or even more. But due to the high ratings, we were expecting better. And this sums up the dilemma of this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good place, nice view, no sea food”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Very nice place, meat is very nice, try hunter soup, boskarin - istrian beef. It is expensive, but good to try. Outdoor sitting on a nice day will give you a perfect scenic wiev.
They do not prepare sea food

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ivanK436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What makes this restaurant unique, is it's scenary. You will think you are in France or Italy. But service, more than food, does not go with the expectations. Food is ok, reasonably priced but food is missing this "waiting to exhale" moment.
Service is really not good. I don't know is it the style or unexperienced waiters, but they simply did not know how to make us happy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank igazic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konoba Morgan also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing