We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great domestic istrian cuisine”
Review of Konoba Morgan

Konoba Morgan
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Brtonigla
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
croatia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great domestic istrian cuisine”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Really nice family reastaurant, about 10 km from Umag, and 3 km from Buje in a smal village Brtonigla.
Nice view to the sea, qiute location, nice garden, excellent food and vine, istrian specialitys, not expencive. Pasta with truffes, safran, steaks, soup, home made desserts...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    43
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Istria gastro tour 2013”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Country restaraunt in a beautiful location. Staff were very friendly and the service excellent

All food is sourced from within 4 km. try the sheep cheese and ham

No fish but plenty of other local restaurants for that

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LongnorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“something to say”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The restaurant is in a very interesting location. Lots of green, beautifully decorated and it's all ..
Very old-fashioned gastronomy is visible in all aspects, restaurant staff is not very professional and do not act interested in the job they are doing.
Upon arrival we were greeted, escorted to the table and menus are being offered, and of course we have asked for further wine list ; the waiter turned his eyes and deeply lamented by giving us know that he is in an extra effort. When we asked the waiter to clarify certain foods and items from the menu he was not been able to give the answers, and has further angered.
The menu itself was not interesting with very little choice and the wine list is not defined, finally we ordered wine and water, and after we were served the same waiter did not come back on the terrace. When our necks twisteda female waiting staff comes and receives our orders, the food was oversalted and cold, the wine was warm and the bread was normally charged.
We are very disappointed and will not recommend this restaurant as the guests are peeled as potatoes are in the army!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zigubigule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasent evening”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

A beautiful view, a warm atmosfere, a good food ..a little bit unprofessional service buuut they are young and trying !!
I would recomande it for a nice evening with your lovely ones !!!

Helpful?
Thank Tea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“False expectations”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The problem of this place is that it is too highly rated. 14 points on Gault Millau Austria and one of the best restaurants of Istria in a Croatian Guide? Definitely not. Decent food and good value? Definitely yes. Anyway, first things first. The ambience of the place is ok. Some outside tables have a nice view, but the overall atmosphere is more rustic than fine dining. The service is ok, but not refined. We got everything we needed, but sometimes had to ask for it. Nothing major though.

I had foie gras as appetizer, which was nice. The mushroom risotto of my son was uninspiring, the rice too 'al dente' and not salted enough. For mains, they were out of Fiorentina steak, but I had the beef cutlet instead. The portion was huge (over 500 g), the steak well seasoned and nicely grilled. The meat could have been a bit more tender, but for EUR 12.50 you can't complain. My son had the braised beef with polenta, which was very nice, but could have come with more sauce. My wife had grilled chicken which was also ok.

All in all a nice dinner with good value. We got what we paid for or even more. But due to the high ratings, we were expecting better. And this sums up the dilemma of this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konoba Morgan also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing