We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, yet expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haparanda Stadshotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haparanda Stadshotell
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haparanda
Sweden
Level Contributor
313 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice, yet expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Not expensive by Swedish standards I suppose as Sweden is an EXPENSIVE country. Nice room, friendly staff and beautiful city. Sauna was clean and breakfast was very good as well as healthy with yogurts, fruit, breads and muesli.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    35
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
29
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

A very nice hotel. A bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. Good food, nice rooms, and very good with the free sauna. Wish we lived closer to the stairs/elevator, a bit far in the hallways to walk. Breakfast was ok, and wifi was great. Should have had some stores close by, but not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaletterLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

When we arrived the first time no one was at the reception! I rang the bell and waited for several minutes before i decided to go out and come back later.

-Came back a couple hours later and was met by a friendly older woman who gave us a double room. When entering the room the disappointment was huge, it was down right dirty! The bathroom was full of dark long hairs all over the place.. rather nasty! Since we arrived in the middle of the night we were too tired to complain and decided to go to bed. Laying in bed my friend felt a sharp pain, and we discovered the bed was full of broken glass!!!!!

We were both shocked, and after discussing it we came to the conclusion not to complain.. we just didn't have the energy to wait for our room to be cleaned or change the room!

The decision to never come back was already made!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Line K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haparanda hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

A friend and I arrived at the hotel at about 20:00, with no reservation. The hotel staff were very friendly and immidiately made a plan to offer us a room. The lady at reception even offered to keep the sauna on for an extra hour to allow us time so settle in before using it! The room was very nice, as was breakfast the next morning. Very nice finishing touches. Only reccommendation for the hotel would be an upgrade of their bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazziBunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

I had really good time in this hotel. The building is beautiful and most importantly staff is super friendly. We also enjoyed really good dinner there. Top quality. The breakfast was ok, but example bacon was quite burned etc. So a little focus to breakfast in the future. Also the rooms need a modernization. Showers are aweful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The building is beautiful, but the inside is in desperate need of some renovation. This could be so much better with a bit of redecorating. The room was small but functional, unfortuneatly also kind of dirty. Dust and spiderweb on the furniture, and as the top madrass came a little out of place we saw ALOT of dust on the bed. Disgusting! The corridor outside our room smelled like all the steam from the restaurant downstairs came out directly in it.

Breakfast is very good and check in/out quick.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troms
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is our second visit to this cozy hotel, and we will stay here at our next visit in Haparanda too.
We like the building very well, it is large and old. The furniture in our room was somewhat outdated, but we had what we needed there. A big plus for us is that there is a bathroom with tub. Coffee and tea facilities in the room was of good variety. The room was clean and large.

We got parking the whole weekend, it was no problem.
The hotel is very centrally located, close to both IKEA and Rajalla mall.
Good selection at breakfast buffet and a good restaurant. A tip is to try the steak, delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MP-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haparanda
0.9 mi away
Hotelli Olof
Hotelli Olof
#1 of 2 in Tornio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Tornio
Park Hotel Tornio
#2 of 2 in Tornio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cumulus Kemi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
SnowHotel in Kemi
SnowHotel in Kemi
#2 of 5 in Kemi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Merihovi
Hotel Merihovi
#3 of 5 in Kemi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotelli Palomestari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haparanda Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haparanda Stadshotell

Property: Haparanda Stadshotell
Address: 7 Torget, Haparanda 953 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Haparanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haparanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Haparanda Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haparanda Stadshotell Hotel Haparanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing